We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Of Both Worlds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Whitestone,New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Best Of Both Worlds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I highly recommend the Moana Surfrider Resort.....I recommend it
because it has so much to offer...the classic old world & historic feel of the
resort( the first in this area)blended with the modern touches....its attractive to
look at...stay at...and be at....the food is good,,,the service better....the sunsets
are amazing & the rooms are tasteful & well maintained...you can escape to a
"Carribean style" getaway on the resort grounds & then step outside & be at the
heart of lively Honolulu...if I had to make one complaint it would be that there is
seemingly a dozen weddings going on every single day & you are bound to run
into a photo session or two but this is a minor gripe....the Banyan side doesn't
have a/c because that is the classic old world side but the tower rooms are fairly
modern & well maintained....there is a charge for beach chairs( $50 per day)but
we never paid a dime & always found one...I would stay here again,,,it was perfect
for my first time in Hawaii.

Room Tip: ask for a tower room as its more on the modern side with air conditioning...also book a Luau & a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandStruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Moana. We are happy that your first visit to Hawaii with us was perfect. Your comments describe the Moana’s unique location perfectly as well – the “First Lady of Waikiki” is located right on Waikiki Beach and amidst the shopping and dining venues of bustling Waikiki. The historic Banyan Wing is well-preserved to the original 1901 style, however modern amenities such as air conditioning, mini refrigerators, and televisions are provided in all guestrooms throughout the resort. We highly recommend dining on the Veranda for afternoon tea service on your next visit. It is a unique experience that will surely create Moana Memories to fondly remember. We await your next arrival to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,374
    1,424
    559
    250
    228
See reviews for
1,341
2,151
192
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at the moana for two weeks in March , we had a city banyan room in the front of the hotel which was very clean and spacious , the only fault I can say is that there was band music in the street every night right outside , the food in this hotel is amazing , the pool staff were really lovely friendly people , the staff in the restaurant made my birthday feel very special with a birthday candle in my desert and a perfect view of the sunset , we enjoyed watching the turtles every afternoon at 4 o clock swimming by the shore . Would highly recommend this hotel it is just simply amazing x

Room Tip: Try and get ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Aloha Gail,
Mahalo for your review. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Moana. We hope that your time spent dining in the Banyan Courtyard and enjoying the breathtaking sunset views over the Pacific Ocean, created wonderful Moana Memories of your special birthday celebration in Hawaii. On your next visit, we highly recommend spending the day under one of our beach umbrellas. Beach umbrellas are available for full or half day rentals, and provide the perfect spot to turtle watch and enjoy the warm Hawaiian sun and gentle island breeze. We look forward to making your next stay at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, just as amazing as the last.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Sure, the rooms and bathrooms are smaller than you'd find in a newer hotel, but the Surfrider has a great beach location and, for you runners, is within walking distance to the marathon's starting and finishing areas. The street below can be noisy with partiers, but chances are you'll be too jet-lagged to notice.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BayouRnnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for your comments. The Moana’s location in Waikiki is one of her most unique features – our guests love that just a few steps out of the hotel lobby lead to the sands of beautiful Waikiki Beach and excellent shopping and dining outlets. In your case, the “First Lady of Waikiki” is also in the perfect location for special events like the Honolulu Marathon. As part of Westin’s MOVE WELL Pillar of Well-Being, we also proudly feature RunWESTIN, a collection of running maps and routes so you can combine your workout routine with fresh air and local scenery. Please visit the Concierge on your next visit for a pocket-sized RunWESTIN map. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great historical hotel with nice scenic beach....Lots of weddings from Japan. It is a fine hotel but bit crowded....If you want tranquility and peace, go elsewhere like other island or even Mexico....The staff was friendly and responsive....The downside is the bathroom is bit small compared to the rooms, the pool is absolutely pathetic in that it is too small...Its more like a big tub....The dining at the hotel is overpriced. With my wife and two kids under 10, I paid $140 for a breakfast...They could have suggested a kids meal to save money....Also lack of chairs outside, and if you want beach chairs with umbrella another 50 dollars plus automatic tip added on for 18%.....So just to sit on the beach it costed us 80 dollars...Doesn't seem like much of a fringe benefit to being a guest....And lastly, we complained that there were some mosquitos in the room...But no one addressed the issue.....I believe we spent nearly 500 dollars plus per day in this hotel and simple request was unanswered...... Being a loyal SPG member, I don't know I would stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shidler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that we were unable to exceed your expectations on your recent stay with us. We apologize for the challenges encountered with mosquitoes in your guestroom. For your convenience, housekeeping may be reached through the telephone in your guestroom. Please contact us at 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com if we can assist you further with this matter. On a brighter note, we are happy to hear that you were pleased with the service provided by our associates and enjoyed the Moana’s historical charm and ambiance. We appreciate your loyalty as an SPG member and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa to experience the true meaning of our motto, “First Lady, First Class.”
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed at the Moana Surfider for a few days, following a few days in Maui. This hotel has been in this location for over 100 years, and one of the original buildings forms the core of the resort complex, with reception, concierge, restaurants etc based there. It is in beautiful condition. Our arrival was handled well, with the checkin staff friendly and the room available as requested. There are several connecting towers of various ages where the accommodation is located and we stayed in one of the Tower Premier Ocean rooms, which had an uninterrupted view of the beach down to Diamond Head. The room was excellent - freshly modernised, very roomy, with good bathroom facilities and a good bed. The balcony was also excellent and functional, and we had lunch served there on one of the days, enjoying the views. The hotel is right in the beach, so no walking is required to get there, and is of course connected via the beach to other properties. The pool bar, sitting under an ancient banyan tree, is a great place to enjoy lunch, or dinner, or just a drink, with views out the ocean, and live music. It can, however, get very busy! There is a good main restaurant, and a coffee shop is attached to the property, where you can sit down and enjoy really good coffee and a snack (pastries, muffins, light meals; we used this for breakfast a couple of times). Takeaway is also available. The facilities in the resort overall are very good - spa, large gym, pool - and the staff always friendly.

Room Tip: The online booking site is very clear with regard to room with beach and Diamond Head views. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Aloha Bradley,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is so nice to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with your accommodations in a Tower Premier Ocean guestroom and had the chance to relax with an intimate lunch on your balcony. We are also glad that you were able to experience so many of the Moana’s unique features, such as dining under the iconic Banyan Tree and indulging in a restorative spa treatment at the Moana Lani Spa, and hope that they created wonderful Moana Memories of your stay with us. On your next visit, we recommend visiting the new Beach Club lounge, which offers enhanced guest services and SuperFood inspired cuisine in a soothing oceanfront setting. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay at the “First Lady of Waikiki.”
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dixon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I had previously stayed at the Sheraton Waikiki, Royal Hawaiian, and the Outrigger--all fabulous hotels. My stay at the Moana Surfrider surpassed every other experience. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful, our room was amazing, and our view was breathtaking. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkcarrasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations on your stay at the Moana last June. For many of our guests, the spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and Diamond Head from the Moana’s guestrooms are highlights of a holiday in Waikiki. It is also nice to hear that you were pleased with the service provided by our associates – we take great pride in sharing the aloha spirit with our guests. On your next visit, we highly recommend indulging in afternoon tea service on the veranda for a truly unique Moana experience. Refresh your senses while ensconced in the elegance of classic Victorian architecture, shaded under the canopy of a historic banyan tree with the sound of ocean waves lapping aside you on the shores of Waikiki. We await your next arrival to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Overall a great experience at the Moana and the staff are excellent. But please tell me you can't spend some money to upgrade and expand your pool and build a hot tub near the pool. The pool is much too small for the size of the hotel. If the Moana had a pool anywhere near suitable then I would rank the hotel a 5.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burnabycanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Aloha,
Mahalo for your review. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Moana and were pleased with the service provided by our associates. At the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, we strive to exceed guest expectations by providing exceptional service with aloha. In addition to the Moana Pool, guests may utilize the facilities of our oceanfront Moana Lani Spa by purchasing a day pass. Imagine retreating to the whirlpool, sauna, and steam room for a relaxing afternoon, while enjoying the beautiful views overlooking Waikiki Beach – simply amazing! We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing stay at the “First Lady of Waikiki.”
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Property: Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing