We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hotel with Old World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A stunning hotel (though at times somewhat over run with Japanese weddings which blocked access to the Diamond Wing Terrace) We recently stayed 3 nights in a Diamond Wing Front room which I would highly recommend. At check-in we were given an upgrade to what we were told was an Ocean view room in the Tower Wing - the room was on the 3rd floor located very close to the lift and looked out over the very long roof of the building below. I would have called it a partial ocean view at best - with the ocean visible if you leaned out over the balcony. We promptly exited the room and returned to reception to ask to be moved to the original room type we have booked. While the room in the Diamond Wing was smaller it was beautifully furnished with two white rocking chairs looking out over the beachfront. There are probably not many rooms where you are closer to the waters edge in Waikiki.

The bathroom was tiny - but you have to expect to compromise when staying in an early 1900's built building and while the room was small it was fine for two people - any children and you might want to consider a larger room. Compared to other hotels of this category it lacked a few extra touches such as a turn down service and extra amenities. While we had no issues with noise I think this is very dependent on who you have staying immediately next door as we did hear of people being kept awake all night by screaming children in the room next door.

I would not call this a "resort" style hotel and would not recommend booking if you are wanting to use the pool facilities day in day out - it has a small rectangular pool with a very limited number of sun lounges which you have to be very lucky to secure.

We chose not to include breakfast in our room rate but enjoyed breakfast each morning in Honolulu Coffee Company which was within the hotel building a provided a good choice of fresh fruit, pastries, waffles, granola and coffees for probably a third of the restaurant breakfast cost.

Overall I would definitely recommend the hotel for a short stay in Waikiki if you are looking for somewhere with atmosphere, a great location and stunning views.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend the Diamond wing Ocean View rooms - while they are smaller than the tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Aloha Brooke,
Mahalo for your review. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with the accommodations and ocean views from your guestroom in the Diamond Wing. We are delighted that you enjoyed the unique feature of this room, the two white rocking chairs that look out to the shores of Waikiki Beach – gently rocking to the soothing sound of the waves is such a relaxing way to spend an afternoon at the Moana. On your next visit, we recommend picking up a quick breakfast from the Surfrider Café in the Banyan Courtyard, which features fresh pastries, specialty coffees, and fruit bowls to supercharge your day. We appreciate your review and look forward to your next visit to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,088 - 2,094 of 5,230 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a wonderful time at the beachfront hotel. The quality of the rooms and the grounds are stunning. We had a terrible experience at the Sheraton across the street and were pleased as this Westin was what we expected.

I was disappointed as there was never room at the pool. It seemed that no one was in the pool, yet all of the chairs were empty and taken with towels... also I didn't think we should have to pay to use an umbrella or the beach area in front of the hotel... isn't that why we chose to stay there?

Room Tip: We chose partial view in the tower. We requested higher floor closer to ocean and they accommodated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Aloha Deborah,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with your room accommodations and enjoyed the historical ambiance of the “First Lady of Waikiki.” However, it is unfortunate that you and your family were not able to enjoy the Moana Pool during your stay with us. In addition to the popular pool chairs, guests may lounge under beach umbrellas on private Moana Beach. Beach umbrellas are available for full or half day rentals. Guests may also utilize the facilities of our oceanfront Moana Lani Spa by purchasing a day pass. Imagine retreating to the whirlpool, sauna, and steam room for a relaxing afternoon, while enjoying the beautiful views overlooking Waikiki Beach – simply amazing! We hope to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa on your next visit to Honolulu.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have just left the MSR and loved the room we stayed in. (Ocean front suite)
Paid over $1K Aus per night, staying 5 nights. Expensive vacation stay.
Were roped into the whole "suite with club room access" sell they had on there hotel internet site.
We loved the room, hated the club lounge. We have travelled the world, staying in numerous rooms/ suites with hotel club access and have never come across such a poorly stocked, unserviced club lounge.
If they try and sell you the club access for $100 US per day, don't buy it. It's not worth it.
For breakfast you will see on the particularly small buffet, cold scrambled eggs, old cut up cheese and weak porridge. EVERY DAY.
Don't even ask me about there 5pm set up.
And during the day- when you are supposed to be able to access this club? You will get carton juice from a dispenser and coffee which they NEVER refill the sugar.
Waste of money.
The room though was good, Except broken tiles on the large lanai. Need to be addressed quickly but by now I don't think they bother to check the rooms properly and have already had it occupied.
On a plus we also stayed the same time BRUNO MARS was occupying the hotel for his world tour. My daughter was very excited.

Would have given it 5 stars except for the poorly set up Club lounge. Which nobody uses. It's mostly empty. I can see why.

Room Tip: Suites are very good but don't expect the Club Lounge access to be good too. Lousy food and serv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 1travel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad that you were pleased with your room accommodations, but it is unfortunate to hear that that you did not find the offerings of the Beach Club lounge to be of value to you. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with our management team so that we can improve upon the Westin experience for all of our guests. We would also like to further explore the concerns mentioned in your review regarding the broken tiles on your guestroom lanai. If you would kindly send your name and dates of stay to 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com, we will follow up on the condition of the guestroom. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for a more relaxing and inspiring experience. Please contact us directly at the above email so that we may personally assist you in arranging your next stay.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here in March 2014 for five nights. Beautiful hotel..........nice rooms, too many weddings. We stayed in an ocean front room in the Diamond Wing, they were lovely. But compared to other Westin hotels there were no amenities in the rooms other than shampoo, conditioner and body wash. In all other hotels there are cotton buds, shower caps etc. Sometimes the little things matter. The view from our room was breathtaking over looking the beach and diamond head. We had breakfast a couple of times at the hotel, it was a real hit and miss. The choices just are not being explained by waiters especially when you get the buffet. We return to the main restaurant for dinner, it was pricey but beautiful. One thing that is disappointing is the bar on the beach, they serve all drinks with plastic cups, i don't really enjoy drinking a glass of wine out of a plastic wine glass. This needs to be changed, maybe change to glassware after 6pm. The spa was nice but pricey again, $150 for a 50 minute massage is disappointing. Overall we would return as it is such as central location but the little things need to be changed to improve the place.

Room Tip: Ocean front is the only way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 09carly09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Aloha Carly,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the view from your oceanfront guestroom in the Diamond Wing, but are disappointed to hear that the amenities provided in the guestroom did not exceed your expectations. Guests may request additional amenities through the housekeeping department, which can be reached through the telephone in the guestroom. It is also unfortunate that your dining experiences at the Veranda for breakfast and the Beach Bar were less than perfect. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with our management team and the respective departments to improve the services and amenities available to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for a more refreshing stay on your next visit to Honolulu.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Moana Surfrider is without doubt the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Literally the queen of Waikiki, this beautifully designed an immaculately clean hotel exceed my expectations. You couldn't pick a better location, the staff are super friendly and the amenities are abundant. The bar under the beautiful tree is just paradise and you are a stones throw away from the beach. This place is a family favourite of mine and my partner and I willing be staying again in May 2014. I am very much looking forward to it!

Room Tip: I recommend staying in the new ocean wing or the Bayan rooms, the diamond head rooms are a little da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Aloha Georgiess,
Mahalo for your wonderful review. We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations on your last visit to the Moana and are eager to welcome you back in May. On your upcoming stay, we highly recommend a visit to the Moana Lani Spa for a restorative spa treatment. A transforming experience awaits you at this place where massage nourishes the soul, melodies of the ocean inspire renewal and senses are your guide. The Renewal for Two spa service also features an oceanfront couples’ suite personalized with whirlpool tubs and breathtaking views of Waikiki Beach. We look forward to your upcoming arrival to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I have had the pleasure of staying at the Moana numerous times through the years.
Sadly each time we arrive we discover they have discontinued many of the amenities and now have become more aware of the bottom line. I was shocked a few years ago when they started charging 35.00 to sit on the beach. I told the cabana boy "I didn't want to buy the beach, I just
wanted to sit on it". The staff around the pool area are generally robots & non-friendly. There
was one woman in charge of the lounge chaises and towels that I refer to as the "Pool Nazi". I
put down a towel and a book on a chair to reserve it for a few minutes and waited in line for their over priced breakfast. Just as I pay the bill I look over and the pool nazi is removing my possessions and gives the chair away. I confronted her and she just blew me off. In general I believe the morale at the once great institution has gone down the tubes from what I have observed in the last 20 years. P.S. It is still a nice place to walk over to and check out, have a m
ai tai at the Banyan Tree Bar but don't expect quality just because you are paying for it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mrblahblah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Aloha,
Mahalo for your comments. It is unfortunate that we were unable to exceed your expectations on your last stay at the Moana. Our beach and pool attendants do their best to accommodate guests throughout the day and may collect belongings unattended for more than one hour to allow additional guests to enjoy the popular chairs around Moana Pool. Personal items are securely stored at the pool desk. All of our associates take pride in providing service with aloha, so we apologize that your personal experience did not leave you feeling refreshed and well. Your feedback is appreciated and will be shared with our management team as it allows us to improve our services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for a more relaxing and inspiring experience. Please contact us at 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com so we can assist you in planning your next stay.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in one of the renovated rooms in the Tower wing, we were upgraded to a premium suite on arrival which was a nice touch. The rooms were beautiful and spacious, the premium suite had sweeping views down Waikiki beach and a large balcony. What we liked most about Moana is the character in the architecture, the rocking chairs out front, the live music, the large tree in the courtyard.... there is something really special about Moana. My advice would be stay here for a few nights when you land, soak up Waikiki, then get take off to one of the more secluded islands like Maui or Kauai.

Room Tip: Renovated tower wing is recommended. We upgraded to a premium suite with more room and better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hurley77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Aloha Hurley,
Mahalo for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to experience so many of the Moana’s unique features. We hope that your time spent lounging in the rocking chairs on the veranda and enjoying the live local entertainment in the Banyan Courtyard created fond Moana Memories of your holiday in Hawaii. We also take great pride in upholding the timeless beauty and charm of the “First Lady of Waikiki,” so it is great to hear that you enjoyed her historical ambiance and features. On your next visit, we recommend taking our popular historical tour which starts every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday at 11 am. The tour ends just in time for lunch – indulge in afternoon tea at the veranda or pick up an energizing snack from the Surfrider Café to power you through the rest of the day. We appreciate your review and await your next arrival to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £244 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travelbag, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing