We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“May at the Moana.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fenton, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“May at the Moana.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the Moana for 5 nights the week before memorial day weekend. Still an excellent place to stay. But they no longer greet you while waiting in line to check in with a damp cloth to refresh yourself with. Housekeeping took 2 days to figure out that for 2 people we needed 2 washcloths and 2 handtowels. Kind of sloppy for a Westin. We would call down to the front desk and they would send up somebody with the towels we needed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new tower are nice. You do get some noise from the beach bar. Not enough to bother...
See more room tips
Green Features: They had a bin for recycling in the room in addition to a trash can.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Aloha,
Mahalo for your review. It is unfortunate that we were unable to exceed your expectations on your last stay with us. As a Westin, our mission is to be a partner in our guests’ well-being before, during and after their stay while ensuring that they leave feeling better than when they arrived. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to experience the true meaning of our motto, “First Lady, First Class.” On your next visit, we highly recommend a rejuvenating treatment at the Moana Lani Spa to recharge the body and refresh the mind and spirit. We appreciate your review of the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa and hope to greet you on your next visit to Honolulu.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,412
    1,447
    565
    251
    229
See reviews for
1,367
2,184
193
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife & stayed from 4/20-4/26/2014. My wife was really impressed w/ the ocean and sceanery from our balcony. We will definitely stay on our next trip to Oahu. The hotel made our 20 yr anniv. more enjoyable knowing we could sleep & cool off in a clean suite with just the amenities we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aharanwa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Aloha Aharanwa,
Thank you for staying with us at the Moana to celebrate your 20 year anniversary. We are delighted to have been a part of such a special occasion. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially the breathtaking views from your guestroom lanai. Watching the sunrise or sunset over the pristine Pacific Ocean is truly an inspiring and exhilarating experience. We hope that your time spent with us created fond Moana Memories of your special celebration in paradise. On your return, we recommend dining at our signature restaurant, beachhouse at the moana. Featuring the finest quality steaks and fresh seafood, beachhouse is the perfect place for you and your wife to enjoy an intimate, elegant dining experience. We await your next arrival to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is an incredibly beautiful and charming hotel with great history. The hotel has certainly the best location on Waikiki Beach. I consider this hotel to be the focal point of this busy strip, it certainly has that wow effect when you see it. We wanted to experience the best of Hawaii for us this was perfect location to see it all. The greatest spot for people watching, dining, shopping, and of course a picture perfect beach all literally just steps of the resort. It was a great experience in the big city of Honolulu.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fidogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Aloha,
We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your last stay at the Moana. It is so nice to hear that you were “wowed” by the sight of the “First Lady of Waikiki” and consider her to be a focal point of Kalakaua Avenue. Like you, many of our guests love the Moana’s unique location – walk a few steps out of the lobby onto the sands of Waikiki Beach or take a stroll out to Kalakaua Avenue to experience bustling Waikiki. We also take great pride in maintaining her original structure and features, so it is great to hear that you enjoyed her historical ambiance and charm. We would love to welcome you back to the Moana soon. Please visit the Featured Offers page on our website or like us on Facebook for special rates and promotions. We look forward to your return to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I loved this hotel, the location is perfect. One step outside and you are in the center of the city.
Rooms are clean and updated
friendly and amazing staff
Right on the beach, had a balcony view where we could see the beach and the streets loved that i could see both
would come again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Aloha Melinda,
Mahalo for your kind review. It is wonderful to hear that your last stay at the Moana was enjoyable and that you are already looking forward to returning. The views from the Moana’s guestrooms and lanais are truly awe-inspiring and breathtaking – we are so glad that you were able to enjoy views of the Pacific Ocean, as well as bustling Kalakaua Avenue and surrounding Waikiki. It is also great to hear that you were pleased with the friendly, personalized service provided by our associates. When you return, we recommend spending the day on Moana Beach under one of our private beach umbrellas. This is the perfect spot to enjoy the warm sun and cool breeze of Hawaiian paradise! We look forward to making your next stay at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, just as special as the last.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a great hotel with a much more "old world" vibe than most of what you see in Waikiki. The beach bar is, by itself, enough reason to stay here. Right on the sand with amazing Mai Tais. Service was universally good.

The partial ocean view tower room was just that--you have to be on the right place on the balcony to see anything--but was a nice, standard Westin room. It is worth noting that as of June 2014, there was a large construction project directly across the street from the partial ocean view tower rooms. Certainly not the hotel's fault, but the construction was so noisy that it made spending time on the balcony unpleasant. Think about booking another part of the hotel if you will be there in Spring/Summer 2014.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoachZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Aloha Coach,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Moana, especially your dining experience at the Beach Bar. The Beach Bar in the Banyan Courtyard is quintessential Hawaiian paradise – refreshing cocktails, picturesque views of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach, and live Hawaiian music and hula dancers make any day relaxing and enjoyable. It is also nice to hear that our associates provided exceptional service with aloha and made you feel welcome and at home at the Moana. We hope you return for another visit, so that you can experience the transforming, healing traditions of the Moana Lani Spa. A traditional lomi lomi massage or facial is sure to leave your mind, body, and spirit feeling renewed and well. We await your next arrival to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here at the end of a cruise and it couldn't have been a better way to end the holiday. The staff were extremely friendly. We renewed our wedding vows whilst here for our silver wedding anniversary coming up, and the hotel surprised us with balloons in the room for our return. The rooms are very spacious and modern, and a large ensuite shower room with bath robes for guests to use. Our balcony overlooked the sea and the sunsets were spectacular. The breakfast is served outside by the Baobab tree at the rear of the hotel, where there is also a bar and a small swimming pool next to Waikiki beach. Chairs can be hired for the beach, and towels are supplied. We didn't dine here in the evening as the hotel is situated close to many bars and restaurants to choose from. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnyard166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Moana. We are delighted to have a played a part in celebrating your special silver wedding anniversary and vow renewal. It is wonderful to hear that you were pleased with your room accommodations and enjoyed the breathtaking Hawaiian sunsets from your private lanai. On your next visit, we highly recommend evening dining at beachhouse at the moana, our signature restaurant. At beachhouse, the elegant oceanfront setting, award-winning wines and handcrafted cocktails, and finest steaks and fresh seafood, are sure to set the mood for the perfect intimate evening in paradise. We appreciate your review and look forward to making your next stay at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, just as lovely as the last.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is top class!! This was the first of our hotels in our Hawaii experience. We absolutely loved it! The room was fantastic, comfy huge bed, champers & chocolates when we arrived. The food is also lovely and reasonably priced. The beach outside the hotel is wonderful, the pool although a little small was lovely and warm. Great location for exploring this area and into Honolulu. Worth getting a bus and having a travel around as its a beautiful area with great coral reefs within a 20 min drive. The hotel is done as a replica plantation house with big comfy rocking chairs on the veranda! All in all a great hotel with top notch facilities...

Room Tip: We had a room that didn't have a sea view but was still a lovely room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Aloha Rachel,
Mahalo for staying at the Moana to celebrate your recent nuptials! We are delighted to have been a part of such a special occasion. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with your guestroom and enjoyed restful sleep in our Westin Heavenly Bed. It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed your visits to both Moana Pool and the stretch of beautiful Waikiki Beach fronting the resort. Warm sand, cool water, a sunny day – what more could we ask for in paradise? When you return for another stay, we highly recommend the Renewal for Two spa service. Our private oceanfront couples' suites are personalized with whirlpool tubs, private restrooms and breathtaking views of Waikiki Beach. We hope that your experience with us created fond Moana Memories of your special honeymoon in Hawaii. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,784 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Property: Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing