We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would rate higher if......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Would rate higher if......”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

....if the rooms were of a higher maintained standard, if the pool were suitable for the number of rooms in the hotel and if the prices were slightly more reasonable.

Don't get me wrong, this is a classy place. Or should that be "classic" ?
The lobby is beautiful and maintained to what I would call a luxury colonial style. One of the most photographed hotel entrances I would guess, especially as there were around 20 newly married japanese/Korean couples there to be professionally photographed each of the 5 days we were there.

We were "upgraded" room wise. Bed comfy? (Tick). Bathroom facilities good?(tick). Room and bathroom clean?(tick). However if this was an upgrade, the previous room must have been pretty small. This had no balcony and not much of a view. The windows also needed replacing as we could hear almost everything outside (almost like they were open).

Lobby, pool and cleaning staff were always very friendly to us. Bar staff take notice (you were poor).
We never ate in the place as it was too expensive. Plenty of cheaper alternatives within a 10 minute walk (see my other reviews). So hardly a one stop shop for a vacation, which is what a 5 star hotel should be.

Pool was probably unchanged from when it first opened. I know it's probably supposed to be maintained "in the style....", but then don't expect a 5 star review guys. That being said, it is right on the beach and the beach is wonderful. But not everyone wants to pay a fortune on a daily basis to sit on the beach and swim in sea water.

If you want old and classy, great place to stay.
If you want luxury, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Only stayed in the one room so cannot compare, but the original building need their rooms upgrading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Aloha,
Mahalo for your review. It is unfortunate that we were unable to exceed your expectations on your last stay at the Moana. As the first hotel built on Waikiki Beach in 1901, the Moana is a historic landmark steeped in timeless beauty and elegance. We take great pride in preserving the original structure and features of the “First Lady of Waikiki,” including the size and layout of our guestrooms in the historic Banyan Wing, so it is disappointing to hear that your experience was less than perfect. On a brighter note, we are glad to hear that you were pleased with the amenities of your guestroom, including our Westin Heavenly Bed, and felt welcome at the Moana with the service provided by our Guest Service Agents, pool, and housekeeping associates. We hope you will return to the Moana to witness more of the inspiring views of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head that can be seen from our Banyan Courtyard. Sit back in a rocking chair, listen to the tunes of our local entertainers, and get a front row seat to an exhilarating Hawaiian sunset. We await your return to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,408
    1,444
    564
    251
    229
See reviews for
1,364
2,180
193
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Moana Surfrider is a beautiful old hotel right on Waikiki beach that has the potential to be an absolute luxury gem, but it falls well short due to a stand-offish staff, expensive yet very average food, and poorly designed, small rooms.

First the pluses: honestly if you want to be right on the beach it is a great location. Walk down, grab a towel from the pool area, and you are on the beach in 2 minutes or less. Also, the activities staff is awesome. They helped us book four different activities during our stay and they all were top notch--highly recommend them. The ocean view from our room was fantastic. And the beds / pillows were quite nice, comfortable.

The minuses: For an tower ocean-view "premier" room, it was small and poorly laid out. Why is the closet in the bathroom? The one chair was extraordinarily outdated and uncomfortable. And the noise in the rooms from the halls is horrible. Even regular noises from the halls seems to be amplified. Add to that we were next to one of the larger end-suites that seemed to party rooms...2AM music, people running/yelling in the halls. We called a couple times and eventually asked to be moved--sorry, no dice (unless we paid an additional $400 per night). In terms of the service, I'd call it average at best, and definitely stuffy. Outside of the above mentioned activities staff, I never once felt like they were happy I was there. this was especially true of the front desk staff. In terms of food, we only ate one dinner at the beach-side lounge as well, and the food was average, the service painfully slow, and the bill for 3 burgers with potato chips and one drink topped $75. We went offsite for the rest of our meals. If you are more a pool person than beach, know that the pool is tiny for the size of the hotel. And lastly a $35 per day resort fee seemed pretty extravagant as the covered services really seem like table stakes.

Verdict: If we stay on Waikiki again, it won't be here. For the premium you'd pay to be at this hotel, you likely can spend the same or less elsewhere and get a better room and friendlier service, and not suffer too much in terms of location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ramblin_Dan_1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Aloha Dan,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is unfortunate that we were unable to exceed your expectations on your last stay at the Moana. We are disappointed to hear that your dining experiences and personal encounters with our associates were less than perfect. At the Moana, all of our associates take pride in providing exceptional personalized service and sharing the aloha spirit with our guests. It is also unfortunate that the conditions made it difficult for you to enjoy the accommodations of your Tower Premier Ocean guestroom – on a brighter note, we are glad that you enjoyed the exhilarating views of the Pacific Ocean as well as the comforts of our Westin Heavenly Bed. It is also nice to hear that you were pleased with the service provided by our Tours & Activities agents, who were able to suggest activities perfect for exploring our beautiful island. We hope to have the opportunity to regain your confidence and welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for a more refreshing experience.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great place to stay with fantastic views Waikiki Beach 2 mins away, clean, comfortable, convenient, housekeeping very good 8 nights beds / pillows very comfortable, breakfast buffet yummy & lunch delicious. You do need to get used to a lot of weddings taking place on a daily basis starting at 7.30am and continuing all day, but you get used to seeing them and hearing them all day and it was a bit of a challenge to get into their photos lol. If you can splurge a bit then this is a great place to stay

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and stay in Diamond wing with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandjr2444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Aloha,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your 8 night stay at the Moana, especially the accommodations of your guestroom and dining experiences for breakfast and lunch on the veranda. Our housekeeping associates do their best to maintain the comforts and cleanliness of our guestrooms, so it is great to hear that this was reflected in your personal experience. We also agree that the comforts of our signature Westin Heavenly Bed are just that – heavenly! On your next visit, we recommend dining at beachhouse at the moana for an unforgettable evening in paradise. The intimate ambiance of the veranda and Banyan Courtyard, paired with the freshest seafood, finest steaks, and exquisite wine offerings, will surely make for a night full of Moana Memories. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It was nice stay in the hotel
All thing was good
Except the hotel take resort fee 30 dollars
And your web site do not tell me about this fee. !!
And the room was very very small !!
The smallest room that I took it in my live !

Over all the hotel was perfect and the reception guys too

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
2 Thank Bander2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Aloha Bander,
Mahalo for your review. It is unfortunate to learn that we were unable to exceed your expectations on your last stay at the Moana. We take great pride in preserving the original structure and features of the “First Lady of Waikiki,” including the size of the guestrooms in the historic Banyan Wing, so it is disappointing to hear that your experience was less than perfect. In regards to the daily resort fee, we regret that you were not informed of this prior to your arrival. When booking reservations through our website, a complete description and details of the offerings included in the daily resort fee are listed. This all-inclusive daily fee offers our guests an array of generous amenities and services, which includes wireless internet access in guestrooms and lobby areas, welcome beverage, professional photo keepsake, and daily activities such as yoga, lei making, and ukulele lessons. We hope to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa on your next visit to Honolulu.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
603 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We made it back to the Moana Surfrider beach bar after ten years and had a great afternoon. We walked in off the beach and found a nice table in the shade overlooking the ocean.
We were greeted promptly by our server, Richard, who was an excellent server and very friendly.
We had drinks and shared the pupu steak and fries. The meal was excellent!!!
My Mai Tai was perfect, as compared to some of the other ones I have had in Hawaii. And I know Mai Tai's.
There was a two person band playing with a Hula dancer. The performers were great. Great guitar and vocals.
This is what you expect in Hawaii.
Mahalo.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BAHuston3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Aloha Bryan,
Thank you for spending the afternoon with us at the Moana. We are so glad that you were able to return to the Beach Bar in the Banyan Courtyard after 10 years. The Banyan Courtyard is such a special place to be in Hawaii – the natural beauty of the iconic Banyan Tree, picturesque backdrop of the Pacific Ocean, ono (delicious) appetizers and refreshing cocktails, and of course, the wonderful live entertainment all make for an unforgettable day spent in paradise. It is also great to hear of the exceptional service you received from your waiter, Richard. Richard, like all of our associates, takes pride in sharing the aloha spirit with our guests. We hope that your time with us created fond Moana Memories of your special stay in Hawaii. We look forward to your next visit to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. Your refreshing Mai Tai will be waiting for you!
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here in the Diamond Wing with my daughters in 2008 and absolutely loved it. Promised my husband that we would return and did so for our 30th Wedding Anniversary. We stayed 8 nights (which extended to 9 due to a hurricane) and splurged on a Tower Premier Ocean View Room as I felt a view of Diamond Head was a must! Really disappointed in the room. It was a good size but very basic in furnishing. One king bed, one cane chair (uncomfortable), one footstool and one small coffee table in addition to the desk and drawers with TV. Really needed an extra chair at least.
The bathroom was tiny with a shower over the bath. The wardrobe was situated within it and didn't have doors. Our clothes were "steamed" every time we had a shower. The balcony was a nice size but had a solid rendered barrier about a metre tall with a railing above it which severly hampered the view (noticed that every alternate balcony had just a railing which would have been much better).
On the other hand The Beach Bar and The Beachhouse restaurant were excellent. Service and staff exceptional.
We did feel that the cost to "rent" an umbrella and chairs on the beach was exorbitant ($50 a day or $35 a morning - plus tax & a gratuity was expected!) This was a major change from my previous stay where reservations were taken the day beforehand.
The location right on the beach was excellent as was the proximity to restaurants and shops on Kalakaua Avenue.
We were disappointed that our anniversary was not really acknowledged by the hotel. The lovely Concierge who booked the restaurant for our anniversary dinner made note of it and told us there would be a "little gift" in acknowledgement but this was not forthcoming.

Room Tip: We spent one night in a Tower Partial Ocean View which looked straight into the hotel next door. Dia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VScott88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Aloha,
Mahalo for your review. We are disappointed to hear that your return to the Moana to celebrate your wedding anniversary did not exceed your expectations and regret that the accommodations and amenities of our Tower Premier Ocean guestroom did not suit your preferences. For future stays, you may request for additional amenities or furnishings to be brought to your guestroom. You may conveniently reach our housekeeping department by using the telephone in your guestroom. We also apologize that an amenity acknowledging your anniversary was not delivered to you, as this was a very special occasion to celebrate. On a brighter note, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experiences at the Beach Bar and beachhouse at the moana restaurant, and found the service provided by our associates to be exceptional. We hope to have the opportunity to regain your confidence and welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa to experience the true meaning of our motto, “First Lady, First Class.”
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was my first time in Waikiki and if I went back I'd stay here again. I stayed there for the location and history, but also enjoyed the aqua-aerobics, yoga by the sea, plus the ukulele teacher was great - as were the evening entertainers in the outdoor bar area. The concierge staff were very helpful when I arrived. My room was big and comfortable, with a good view of the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Aloha Lynley,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Moana on your first visit to Waikiki. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed so many of the unique features and services offered at the resort, including the Aquacize and morning yoga classes, ukulele lessons, and live entertainment in the Banyan Courtyard. It is also great to hear that you were pleased with your personal experiences with our associates and enjoyed the comforts and views from your guestroom. Enliven your next visit to Oahu with the best of the local area. Visit the Moana’s Westin Finds from AFAR website to discover new activities and places to shop, eat, and drink, just like our locals. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa when you return to Honolulu.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
3,779 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Property: Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing