We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
220
Reviewed 18 October 2005

What can I say but fantastic! We went for our honeymoon, got an amazing upgrade on our room with a stunning view. Bottle of champagne on arrival and the friendliest staff you could ever wish to meet. I can see why people stay at this hotel! Everything about it made our honeymoon an unforgettable experience, we are longing to return. We had breakfast on the veranda, which was stunning, very traditional.

Thank you to everyone at the hotel we loved it. Keep up the good work, you will long be in our hearts.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,839 - 3,845 of 5,228 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2005

We are repeat guests at the hotel and always get a tower room...it is lovely, but do not try and request anything of the front desk...the front desk manager Rolando is disrespectful, rude, will not accomadate any simple request, and does not back up any of his front desk personal ...he does not reguard his guests as such. He is argumentative and one leaves with a feeling of frustration. this is not what you expect of a "decent" hotel. The beach is the best and that is the only reason we return....if service is not important than The Moana is for you.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2005

I should have listened, to the reviews, but noooo, booked a room, requested a tower room, received a room on the 2nd floor facing the street of the old main building. Complimented by trucks, cars, buses, musicians, and to be pleasantly waken up by the garbage trucks. Complain, sure, but front desk "Sorry we are booked" there is nothing we can do. Sure there is, pitch a tent for us on the beach it would have been nicer and much more quiet. Oh, well live and learn. The hotel is very nice, just pay the extra bucks for a guaranteed tower room, better than that, don't even go to Oahu, go to Kauai and stay at the Grand Hyatt. You will appreciate the advice, trust me.

Sheraton Moana Surfrider, you will not see us again. Yours truly, the unhappy honeymooners.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mulrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2005

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend for my birthday in April 2005. We had stayed here previously in 2004 as well. This hotel is beautiful, a little pricey, but none the less, it was great. It is one of the oldest hotels in Waikiki, but very well up kept. I would not recommend this hotel for families, it's more for couples honeymooning or a weekend get away. There is a great bar under the banyan tree that had live music and great pupus, we enjoyed that! Waikiki is always busy and loud, so unless you have a ocean front room, you won't escape that unless you close the doors. Great place to stay!!!! Staff and room service was great too!!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nalani65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2005

My husband and I checked into the Moana on August 29th for eight nights. We booked our vacation through Pleasant Hawaiian Holidays and paid a premium to stay at the Moana.

We had booked a city view room and upon check-in were given room #506. I assumed our room would be of the same caliber as the other rooms, just not with an ocean view. Plain and simple, our room was filthy and rundown. The smell was not the smell of a first class hotel on the beach. After three days of phone calls to housekeeping, someone finally came on the 3rd day to change out the shower curtain, which smelled of mildew. There were stains all over the bathroom wallpaper. There were stains on the carpet. There was so much grime buildup on the shower curtain rod that it was hard to move the curtain open and close. There was mold and grime on the bathroom sink. This room was sorely in need of a makeover.

I would expect this had we chosen a discount hotel located many blocks from the beach, however, this being a Sheraton property, I was a little taken aback.

On a different note, I was surprised there was no closet. The armoire that holds the TV is hardly adequate for two people for a week.

We loved the location and chose to overlook the many, many negatives on the room. We loved the Banyon Beach Bar and had cocktails there each evening. Unfortunately, we had to go back to our room each night.

These rooms definitely need to be upgraded and should not be occupied until they are.

I waited until now to submit this report, as I wrote the General Manager of the hotel to voice my concern, however, I have yet to hear back from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank PDGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Miami, FL
517
Reviewed 6 October 2005

From the moment we pulled up, we received excellent service. Upon check in we were greeted with a moist towell and some pineapple juice. Conceirge was very helpful with directions and information. Very comfortable beds and excellent room. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2005

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon for 2 nights. We were upgraded to an oceanview tower room. Our room was located at the back of the hotel so we had two balconies. One looking out toward diamond head and the beach and the other down onto Kalakaua Avenue which we loved. Check in is nice with a cold towel, juice and lei greeting. Our room was spacious. We renewed our vows at the Promise Me Again program. This is a nice hotel in a good central location in Waikiki.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £245 - £464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing