We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, even better price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Location, even better price”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

No, it's not as fancy as the Moana across the street...but you can use all of the Moana's facilities. I have stayed at the Sheraton PK six times and of all the hotels I have stayed at in Waikiki (7 hotels), in provides the most consistant value. Where else can you stay in Waikiki within two minutes of the beach for less than $150 per night.

No the facilities in this hotel are not four or five stars, but it's price and proximity to the beach make it a better value than any of the beach hotels. Most hotels in it's price class are several blocks from the beach, not one block.

Great bang for the buck here. I highly reccomend the PK to those wanting the proximity to the beach for half or even a third the price. Plus, you can always dine at the Royal Hawaiian, Moana, or Sheraton Waikiki and charge it to your room.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyMaysHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Aloha BillyMaysHere! Thank you for posting your feedback from your visit with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Stay At One, Dine At All option for guests staying at any of our Starwood properties here in Waikiki. Our Stay At One, Dine At All option allows are guest to enjoy the dining outlets of our sister properties and sign the charges back to their room. This option applies to restaurants only; other facilities like pool usage are not applicable. Thank you very much for your recommendation and we certainly look forward to your return. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    1,436
    794
    308
    179
See reviews for
1,027
1,196
213
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed at the Sheraton PK for four days on o stop over on our way to New Zealand....The locations was fantastic!!!! Close to everything...Stores close by and Restraunts galore to choose from.
Our room on the 26 th floor had a view of Waikiki to die for...watching the surfers on the beach at six every morning was surreal and I would recommend it to anyone.
Our room was very good and the bed and linens were top notch....okay the hall ways are stuck in the seventies ..but you only use them to get to your room....really people if that's all you have to complain about ...you really need to get out more!!!!! After all you are in Waikiki.
We had no complaints!!!!Give it a try!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnec4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Mahalo Lynnec4 for your gracious comments. We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments – it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed here for the first two nights of a ten night trip to Hawaii. Looking at the website we kind of knew what to expect - touristy, a little tacky, but in the middle of it all. Having read Tripadvisor we knew it'd be a bit tired but would do the trick. We found reasonable rates on the Sheraton website and bit the bullet - we really just needed somewhere to stay for two nights so weren't too fussed.

Upon arrival we knew it was going to live up to expectations. I guess that if you don't travel a lot then you could love this place. It was a bit garish and when we checked in we didn't really get the level of attention you'd expect at a better hotel - there's a little bit of a tourist conveyor-belt approach to things.

Our room was tiny - absolutely miniscule. We were on a low floor, in the shorter tower, and faced a car park. I think our special rate got us one of the worst rooms available. The rooms in the main tower could have been better - they all seemed larger from the outside and had balconies. In the end room size didn't matter much - the first night we were there we were very jetlagged, the second we were a bit drunk. The hotel and rooms are incredibly tired and in desperate need of a makeover. They are definitely "nineties in Nagoya" themed and the beige overload still gives me nightmares. The room was a bit grubby too and in need of a major spring cleaning.

The bed was great - a decent Sheraton bed. I did sleep well. The bathroom was tiny and the shower head could only be attached at two levels - one too low and one really high - it was very odd. The bathroom was tiny too and reminded me of Japan.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as I think it was $25 per person for the buffet - which was far too expensive, even for Waikiki. You can get similar buffets at some of the 5 star hotels nearby for the same price.

The gym was pretty good. It was large, well-equpped and very clean. This is one of the hotel's best features in the end. The pool area was alright but nothing you'd want to go to more than once. The resort's pool towel policy was a bit strict too - a little bit Butlins from what I can imagine - but I suppose it is necessary.

The hotel is in a very good location though - very close to the beach and all activities.

When we returned to Waikiki for the last 4 days we got a great deal at the Trump which ended up not costing much more than the Sheraton. If you have standards and want a good quality hotel I'd recommend shopping around or waiting a while until you find something a little fancier.

Room Tip: The Princess Wing is old and grotty. Try to get a room in the new, larger tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moaksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you moaksey for taking the time to review our hotel. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. We are pleased that you enjoyed our Sheraton Sweet Sleepers; which we just upgraded our bed linens. Our Olakino Fitness Center also has been recently renovated and offers new exercise equipment. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

aloha we stayed at the princess from 2-9 nov 2011, and we had a fab time.we did read some of the reviews before we travelled,and was worried about some!but we need not have.we stayed in room 950,which had a,pool,road,&sea view.the entertainment finished at 22.00,so was not a problem,as we were out most nights. our room was kept clean by elydia,who changed our sheets every day, who was very friendly,as were all the staff.YES,the rooms,and the hotel is dated,but was kept clean and tidy,and need some t.l.c,but saw no mold,no roaches,and no fleas!!!!!its our second time in hawaii,and it wont be our last.mahola.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cas j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Markeing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you cas j for the great feedback you have provided. We are so happy to hear that you had a fabulous time and appreciate you recognizing our staff. I am happy to hear that this past trip will not be your last to Hawaii; and look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani hotel. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

very fast check in polite staff location is in the middle of Waikiki

communication great had to change booking all completed correctly via twitter no need for me to call from Australia at great cost

small gift at check in very nice touch

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRT K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Aloha bretkero! We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments and for the mention of our social media response via Twitter. We love engaging with our guests and hearing their feedback. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We checked in on day one of our five night stay and we are given probably the most disgusting hotel room I have ever entered. There was a strong putrid mold smell coming from the air conditioning vents. We call maintenance and it takes them 30 min to come to the room to confirm the existence of the mold. They show us a couple other rooms that had the same smell we saw the mold growing in one of the closets. Meanwhile my wife was having a terrible reaction to the mold. I told Greg (sic) that there is no way we can stay in this hotel and that it is unsafe and not fit for habitability. He said that if we left he was going to charge us for the 5 nights regardless. I was dealing with hotel management from about 6pm until midnight trying to resolve this issue. It was apparent that hotel management had no care for its guests health and was only concerned about their bottom line. When I told Greg that I have to take my wife to the emergency room because she had a reaction to the mold, his attitude was indifferent and kept repeating that he's going to charge the 5 nights. This was the worst hotel experience I have encountered. I was left with no choice but to book a last minute stay at another hotel and had to pay the difference.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you Edakh for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear of your experience and apologize for the challenges you have faced. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly and assist. Please email me at randi.okuhara@sheraton.com so we may discuss this further. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Wonderful Friendly staff. Big busy place. Great location for walking to Waikiki beach, shops & dozens of great eating places. Rooms were clean.AC works great. King bed was VERY comfy. A nice surprise..a very well appointed Gym on 2nd floor open 24/7. Only disappointment here...the Sheraton PK's dining / buffet menues ...were out of this world expensive...we chose to eat at other places much more reasonable.(judging from the small crowds for dinner etc. so did most of the other hotel guests). Drop your prices & fill the place... a no brainer to me. Other than that...highly recommend this hotel. Good value in the heart of Waikiki.

Room Tip: great ocean view from the South East rooms. The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sizzlerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Aloha sizzler and thank you for your comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our new bed lines for our Sheraton Sweet Sleepers, and the new equipment in our Olakino Fitness Center. We do regret to hear your concerns with our buffet, and appreciate your honesty. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
275 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,805 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Property: Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing