We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare on Kaiulani”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nightmare on Kaiulani”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton Princess K. during her birthday and our anniversary. Five days of sun, surf, and guided tours was severely tarnished by our poor choice of hotel. While the Princess K. still looks grand when you enter the lobby, the rooms were anything but. The tiniest room we ever saw awaited us. The room looked ancient, from circa 1960. No renovation has yet been done. But the worst part of the room was that it faced a dumpster. Being on the third floor we were awakened everyday at 5am. as the they removed/replaced the dumpster. The 18 dollar surcharge was a ripoff. Just pure profit for the hotel. If you value your vacation, stay away from the Princess!!!

Room Tip: If the hotel is old, like the Princess K, it is more likely that you will encounter issues with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicferrari7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you vicferrari7 for taking the time to provide us with the feedback about your stay with us. I want to apologize for the inconveniences you went through at our hotel. A great advantage of online reviews is we are able to connect with our guests and review our areas for improvements. I have shared your concerns with our management team. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    1,446
    801
    309
    181
See reviews for
1,038
1,203
214
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012 via mobile

I cannot understand the negative reviews of the hotel. For the price, it is a good choice near beach and Waikiki activities. One cannot expect luxury hotel amenities at low rates. The hotel is older, but clean and updated. Front desk staff are very professional and helpful. We had no issues with the wireless and TV, as complained about on this site.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Weeniedog51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Aloha Weeniedog51 and thank you for your gracious comments. We truly value your feedback and are so happy that you found us to be a great value, and also enjoyed our amenities. We hope to welcome you back soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I was in town on business. Typically, I stay at Hilton properties by thought I'd stray to the Sheraton, having had a positive experience with a Sheraton in Maui. Big mistake....I will never again stay at the Sheraton Princess. The rooms were old and musty....the service was miserable...everything about the hotel felt cheap. Whether on my dime or the company's, I won't return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarrior9791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
I am sorry RoadWarrior9791 to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your honest feedback as this will help to improve our services. Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed just one night. Simple, clean, good hotel. It's not on the beach, but twice a day pool attendants bring fruit and water to hotel guests who are in a nearby area on the beach.

Room Tip: On a south-facing high floor you have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you ChicagoM for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy that you enjoyed our Big Kahuna Beach Service, which is included in our daily resort charge. This allows are guests to be serviced twice a day with fresh towels, bottled water, fresh fruit, and oshibori towels. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This was our second visit in the last two years to the Kaiulani and I wasn't dissappointed the second time. We had requested the same room as last year and were pleasantly surprised to find that we got it, thanks Randi! The room was clean thanks to Nely who wrote us a nice little letter, as was the lobby and pool. The weather was not cooperating but the staff kept all the water mopped up. Uncle Nate made leis and bracelets with the kids while the rain and wind blew. When the sun finally came out we really enjoyed sitting around the pool and walking the short walk to the beach. My youngest really enjoyed feeding the beautiful fish in the ponds around the hotel with Art. All in all we all had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank famlee-travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Aloha famlee-travler and thank you for your great comments. I am so pleased to hear that I could offer you a great surprise with the same room from last year. You are most welcome. Thank you for mentioning Nely, as she has been recognized for her great customer service. Uncle Nate is amazing at his Hawaiian crafts, and we are so happy that you got to see him. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel and we hope to see you again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

well i have read the reviews of some people and I cannot believe that one review was all about how they had a problem with the tv channels. If that was all there problem was then they should have stayed at home!!! we had an absolutely awesome time!!!! the room service was very good the waitresses were lovely and the bar people (herb and rick and the girls!!) were absolutely wonderful. I had the best time ever!!! I am coming back in 2014 as long as the hotel is still there in its present form. I am really missing u guys

Room Tip: corner room is cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank frith t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you frith t for your great review. We are so pleased to hear that you had an absolutely awesome time! We value our guests feedback and really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We will see you soon! Mahalo nui loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Comfy beds, pillows too soft though. Good modern TV. Great to get front view looking at pool however need doors closed for the noise. $12.00 resort fee gives you access to internet if you take lap top. Free parking for a car (most charge 25.00 a day) Car rental across the road at hyatt regency. Pool towels given with a courtesy card. Favorite with Japanese tourists.close to most things.

Room Tip: all rooms facing pool/ocean are sunnier but noisy. others are colder but quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank timetravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Aloha timetravel_12. Thank you for your comments and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Sheraton Sweet Sleepers and flat screen TV’s. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,820 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#49 of 84 in Honolulu
3,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Property: Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing