We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The Hotel was nice, well located and had good amenities. To much complaining on this site! It is what it is! Great rate, great location, nice pool, beach service, free parking alone is worth the extra "resort fee", and you get other things as well for only $18 bucks PER ROOM. Sure the room is just average, like a nice value hotel, but the new beds are great, and the linens are very nice, AC works well, and the views were good in most of the rooms. Staff service was great, and the tour desk was very helpful! They even remembered our names and sent my daughter birthday cake to her room during our stay! Very nice guys, thanks! Link was nice, pool was very nice, everything was close by. May not be the best Starwood property in HNL, and it is old, but the price and value make up for everything else. If you want the Ritz, pay the price, otherwise the Princess is a great option.

Room Tip: Rooms in the far towers opposite the beach have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bahutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Mahalo bahutch for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great value, location, amenities and services. I’m glad that we were able to make your stay with us special and hope your daughter had a wonderful birthday. We hope to see you and your family here again. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,556 - 1,562 of 3,667 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

I also agree, the Princess is showing signs of her age. This my third stay in 10 years.
We checked into a miniature room, but following a quick call to the desk were immediately swapped to a slightly larger room by the duty Manager. Thank you Eric.

The shower mount head is not adjustable, the lower mount is missing and the room itself is very dated. it was reported at 9 am this morning and at 7pm it hasn't been fixed. No handy man on a Sunday? Not good enough for $160 per day.

Despite the mandatory resort fee we had to rely on the 4G SIM cards of our iPads to get onto the Internet.

The erratic nature of the I house Internet and the difficulty experienced trying to just log in made it too hard to persist in trying to log in.

Similar to other users, we paid a lot for our two free water bottles a day.

In today's competitive business environment, do yourself a favor and find a newer, cheaper, non resort fee venue. I won't be staying here next time. The deciding factor being the responses from the owners to other comments, but yet the same issues keep coming up.

Room Tip: Ensure you specify a large room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mirgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thank you Mirgy for your recent review and for your loyalty to the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations of your previous visits. We value our guests’ feedback and have shared this with our management team. We did have some recent upgrades to our property such as upgraded all our Sheraton Sweet Sleepers linens, installed new equipment in our Olakino Fitness Center, and we now offer the Link@Sheraton. We are sorry to hear of your experience and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Thank you again for your honest comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

It is almost 2 years to the day since my last stay here.
My how things have changed.
The usual facilities continue in place. The standard of servicing the rooms has slipped. It is not as speedy or complete as it used to be. The bedside table lamps did not work. The power cables lead behind the bed so it is impossible to see if they are plugged in or even whether there is a socket. Water flow in the shower is very slow and it was impossible to get water any hotter than warm.The biggest change however is the imposition of a COMPULSORY daily 'resort charge'.

This $18 + tax per day charge covers a range of items from friendly/frustrating self parking to children eating free at the buffets as well as free bottled water at a specific location at the beach. Each of the various services has its own qualifications and limitations. These things might be fine for a family on a resort holiday but they are inappropriate for an older single traveller looking for a couple of nights rest & relaxation. When presented with the list of 'services' by the receptionist I went through it item by item and found not one of them could be used by me during my brief stay.

"Do you mean that even although I cannot use any of these 'services' I still have to pay for them?"
"Yes."

At this point I felt the possible presence of the Mad Hatter perhaps lurking behind a potted palm. I looked around and there he was, directing guests to & from taxis and busses. As I walked across to the lift lobby I am sure I glimpsed a white rabbit disappearing behind a sofa.

The receptionist had no discretion and suggested I speak to the Hotel Manager who happened to be present in the reception area.
After a brief conversation & review of the electronic records, authorised I be excused from the charge.

My conclusion is that this hotel is mostly interested in accommodating family groups on week long or longer resort holidays. The compulsory 'resort charge' is another financial punishment to the solo traveller, of any age. As hotel check in time does not commence until 3.00pm, many guests would not receive much benefit from the first days charge.

Room Tip: Unless you are a family group, stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LesS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you LesS_10 for sharing your recent review. I am sorry to hear that your recent stay did not meet your expectations of your previous visits with us. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and with your feedback we are able to. I am happy that our management team was able to assist you. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The hotel is a block from the beach and overlooks the International Market. Shopping and farmer's markets were right there. We had rooms on the 22 and 28th floors and they had great views. Staff was great (even got fruit and water from the hotel on the beach) from housekeeping, counter people, concierage, wait staff, bell people and tour people. All our questions were answered, suggestions were given and our tours picked up in front of the hotel or across the street. Our flight out wasn't until 5:00 p.m. so when we checked out in the a.m. we could leave our bags at the bell desk and spend the rest of the day at the beach before we had to leave. Food and drinks at the hotel were good.
Only complaints, we had reserved all 3 rooms close to each other and 2 rooms with king beds and 1 room with 2 doubles. Got 2 rooms on the 22nd floor and 1 room on the 28th and 1 king bed and 2 rooms with 2 doubles. Two of the couples were celebrating anniversaries so 2 rooms with king beds would have been nice.
Also, the resort fee of $19/night/room showed on some sites and some books as optional. It is not optional so we paid an extra $400.00 (3 rooms x 7 days) for 2 bottles of water/day. The resort fee includes free parking (we did not have cars), free internet in rooms (we did not bring laptop and there is internet in the lobby) 2 free bottles of water/day and free towels for beach (we had own towels). To be honest, since the resort fee is required the hotel should just include it when room prices are quoted.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherinearm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Mahalo Catherinearm for sharing your amazing review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our great views of Waikiki and friendly staff. We love to connect with our guests and ensure they have a great experience while staying with us. Thank you for your great feedback as this will help us to improve. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

THis is a property 1 block away from Waikiki beach. You will not want to stay in other locations but here. There are some other Oahu chains that can be cheaper but can be a bit of a risk in cleaness. This Sheraton location has very comfortable beds, clean showers, clean linen and a nice swimming pool. The best part is that theuy have hawaiian shows every night . Great selection of music. The bar is open for your to have a drink out and enjoy the location. Very relaxing and affordable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 880imvip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 June 2012

Mahalo nui loa 880imvip for sharing your amazing comments. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, which is just a crosswalk away from the famous Waikiki Beach. We recently upgraded our Sheraton Sweet Sleepers with new line, so we are happy to hear that you found our beds to be comfortable. We hope to welcome you back soon. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel is right on Waikiki. That is the best bit . The majority of guests are Japanese and tour guests.

The main reception is smart, but the towers rooms are old and delapidated. The rooms smelt old and musty and the room furniture appeared to have been over painted off white and from a jumble sale.

The bathroom was circa 1950 or 1960's . The bathroom had chips on the door and tiles. The sink plug holes smelt off human waste or stagnant waste .

Needs a total revamp and in my opinion the rooms are not 4 or 5 star . More 2 (or 3 at a push!)

Didn't eat here due to price and various better restaurants on Waikiki so can't comment . Stayed at this hotel as a tour of the islands package with our tour company. Would not stay again at this hotel .

Due to state of the rooms, the bathroom - shower and sink smelt.( NB we stayed in two seperate rooms, one on arrival and seperate one on return to Waikiki and this hotel - ie both next to each other and seperate rooms and both had same problems as described).

Conclusion- would not stay here again . Rooms need ugent 100% makeover .

It was part of a tour we were on, hotel selected by tour provider- otherwise I would recommend other tourists stay at other Waikiki hotels that have been revamped ie Outrigger, Hilton or Hyatt

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A.MACCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you A.MACCA for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I found my stay at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani to be very relaxing and enjoyable. The hotel is very decent. The rooms aren’t exactly luxurious, but they’re very comfortable. My only complaints were that the pool opened late and closed early, and the shower didn't run as well as it could have. Other than that, this hotel was well worth it. Although my room wasn't facing the ocean, it had a nice view of the city and the International Market. It was nice relaxing on the balcony and listening to the music during the 9th Annual Waikiki Spam Jam.
Pikake Terrace, the restaurant inside the hotel, served excellent food. I especially enjoyed the breakfast, and watching a cook preparing the omelets. The warm weather and view of the pool made breakfast and dinner feel very serene.
The hotel's location is very ideal. It's surrounded by restaurants, shops, and the beach is a short walk away. The International Market is right next door, King's Village is across the street, and ABC Stores are EVERYWHERE.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odyssey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Aloha Odyssey27! Mahalo for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you found our accommodations to be very comfortable and location to be ideal. I’m happy that you got to experience this year’s Waikiki Spam Jam. It is such a fun event with great food and entertainment. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,688 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,753 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £153 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing