We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

A great location with a short walk to beach, dining and shopping. Room was clean and adequately furnished. Nice pool area. Staff was friendly and helpful. Easy access to island transportation. Enjoyed our stay at this hotel which fit our budget and met our needs for convenience, safety and comfort.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Aloha Joyce S and thank you for your amazing review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our great location which offers an array of restaurant and shopping options. Many of our guests love our great value and I’m pleased you found our value to fit your needs. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    1,411
    776
    305
    175
See reviews for
990
1,169
212
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I've been staying every year at the Princess Kaiulani hotel in Waikiki for quite a few year's now. It's a great central location, nice pool and across the street from the beach!

The rooms are nice, but depends up which tower you are assigned to, as they can very in quality, but all the rooms are nice. I would say the highest tower closest to the International Marketplace are the best. The tower along Kaiulani Street can be the noisiest from street traffic, but all in all a nice hotel with great service and amenities.

Room Tip: Choose the tall tower next to the International Marketplace, or the tower running parallel to Kauaka...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrekker728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Mahalo nui loa globetrekker728 for your loyalty to the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We truly appreciate you choosing to be our guest each year you are in Waikiki. We are happy that you enjoy our centralized location and great services. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patterson, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Princess Kaiulani was a perfect location right across from The Moana Surf Rider and right next to The International Market Place. This hotel is older, but a nice stay. The service from the cleaning ladies was wonderful, they were all so very, very nice! Loved the balcony, although we had a city view it was nice to be able to get some fresh air and check out the city. Probably the only complaint I have is the cost of the breakfast buffet, $35-, my sister and I thought that was a little steep. We then became hip to doing take out for $15-, which means you fill up a plastic container. We would get an omlet, bagel, 2 pasty muffins and a fruit and we would share that and it was plenty! The only thing with take out is you can't sit in the dinning area, which was fine bec we just ate out by the pool! Overall nice older place with great location!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonicaD03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you MonicaD03 for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our centralized location in the heart of Waikiki. We appreciate your honest feedback as this will help us to improve and we love to hear what makes our guests happy. We hope to welcome you and your sister back soon. Mahalo nui loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

My family of 6 stayed at the PK for 17 days last December. We had previously stayed twice at the Sheraton Waikiki but due to its makeover and extreme price rise we looked for a cheaper alternative and came across the PK which stood out due to its combination of location and reasonable pricing. Upon arrival at the hotel we lined up in the lane which stated for 'gold SPG members' which my father was we were ushered to the desk however shortly after we're rudely asked to join the end of the line asaff our membership was not as per that express lane demanded. We then re-entered the line.up with it consisting of only one other person and after a short wait were ushered again to the front desk via the same lady. Her rudeness and short temper originally were unnecessary and UNderstandable if the line were long.. however in this situation were silly and weren't needed. We were apprehensive of staying here due to the fact we never had and had read reviews of its inferiority to such hotels we had stayed at before and After this first incident our fears appeared to be confirmed. However, we took a deep breathe and continued Onto our room which were 2 High ocean view rooms. Which I believe we're rooms 28.26 connecting. Upon arrival they were extremley clean and light and had a magnificent view comparable. Even better than that of the Sheraton beachfront WaikikI. Over the almost three weeks we stayed there we came across beautiful and caring staff which made our holiday feel more like being at home. Being there for Christmas the Christmas dining was lovely and the entertainment enjoyable. We had a few rude staff experiences during the time. However the staff which were accommodating and brilliant overturned such bad experiences for example our wonderful maid and terrific bar and pool staff. The location is ultimitley a winner... a small leisurely walk to the beach and close to all the shopping Waikiki has to offer which was convieniant as myself and my three younger sisters(13-17 years old) would go by ourselves and shop whilst our parents relxed
It is safe for teenagers to be by themselves'
, contrary to some comments
I recommend you rent a car and explore the island yourselves, visiting for our fifth time having a car allows us each time to discover something new and wonderful from this island and with free parking included in the resort fee this saves a lot of money. As you are not needed to tip a staff member to valet park.
Overall happy experience. We are returning the 4th of December this year 2012 for three weeks. So obviously a testiment to this hotel.
Only 5 weeks to go! Feels like we're coming home.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jahme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Aloha JahmeM and thank you for taking the time to share you experience with us. We appreciate your loyalty to the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. I have sent you a private message so that I may follow up on your concerns. We want to ensure you have a enjoyable stay with us next month. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

I have been to Hawaii 4 times now, staying at the PK for 3 of those trips. I have always found the staff to be helpful in every way,location is the best, that is one of the main reasons i choose to stay at the PK, Marsha Southwood from the Tours & activities desk is awesome, and is one of the friendliest people in Waikiki, she alone is worth the stay, thats why i do. when checking in, we were upgraded to a room overlooking the pool, a big thank you to Darlette from reservations, you made my daughters 30th birthday even more special..on arrival to our room there was a basket of goodies, birthday cake and fresh Leis for both of us(thank you Marsha). also to hosekeeping lady Belinda, she looked after our room beautifully, she has a special touch. i am returning next year to the PK and looking forward to catching up with Marsha, Darlette and Belinda, 3 such valuable assets to your Hotel....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CC10519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Aloha CC10519! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel and for sharing your wonderful comments. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and are happy that our helpful staff was able to make your stay with us most enjoyable. Thank you for highlighting our staff members by name so that we can commend them on their great service. We hope to welcome you back to the PK soon. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Great location and staff were brilliant. However, the rooms need a lot of maintenance. My airconditioner was blocked and I had to stand and lean against it to keep cool. Water leaked on the floor below it. The bath drain blocked all the time and only needed a good plunger to fix it. One side of my bed was very lumpy, so I could only sleep on right hand side. They need new mattresses. Aside from this,everything else was good.

Room Tip: Check out the room thoroughly before unpacking your suitcase. Always ask for an upgrade. Diamond He...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thank you Anne W for your sharing your honest feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our centralized location and knowledgeable staff. It is regrettable to hear of your concerns with your accommodations and offer our sincerest apologies. I have shared this with our management team so that we can prevent something like this from happening again. Mahalo again for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Just wanted to say a big Mahalo for another wonderful week. I come to Hawaii about 2 to 3 times a year to visit all of my family (who all live in Mililani, Wahiawa, and Manoa) but rather than crash with relatives, i always stay at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani to make sure i still have a "vacation" and can easily walk across the street to the beach etc. Love this hotel so much, love the location, love the staff -- it really is my home away from home. A few people i want to single out to recognize for their kindness, aloha spirit and making our stay THAT much better by going above & beyond....Angie our amazing waitress at Splash Bar, Chase & Bob at the Big Kahuna towel check-out, Eddy in security, and last but certainly not least Calvin Taomae. Calvin might be the kindest man i've ever met and someone i consider part of my ohana "family" now. Thanks again Princess Kaiulani!!! See you soon, probably in the Spring!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieNoelani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Aloha JamieNoelani and Mahalo nui loa for your amazing review! Thank you for always choosing to stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani hotel. We truly appreciate your loyalty and for recognizing our staff by name for their great service. They will receive commendations for their service. Mahalo again and hopefully see you in Spring. Me Ke Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Property: Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing