We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so much old, but tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Princess in Feb this year. Yes, it is perfectly located but I'm not sure that this is so much of an issue in Waikiki, as it is so small and so well serviced by buses and taxis galore. The noise factor was a real problem, even on the 26th floor! After 2 weeks there, lack of sleep was becoming a problem. Also, as a Starwood guest and user of Sheraton hotels, we were astonished to discover that there wasn't even a shaver point in our bathroom. The provision of toiletries was a hit and miss affair too - another potential problem as there were three of us in the room. We know that we only had to ask and the staff would have provided, but my point is that we shouldn't have needed to ask, it should have been provided on a daily basis. Totally agree with the others that the staff were great. The show was great too. We did have a laugh at the lady on the tourism desk though, we wanted to ask about getting ourselves around the island using public transport and no matter how many times we re-phrased the question she kept telling us that she could only talk about the tours she sold. We gave up and let her talk. It would have been nice to be able to get general tourist info from someone. The room was tired in the extreme, tiles needed regrouting, decor very outdated, the door to the balcony kept getting stuck so my husband had to open it for us on occasion. The wardrobe door was equally iffy. No minibar even. The daily resort charge was an affront considering we did not use the pool, car park or restaurants. Too many Japanese for our liking and more lifts needed as the wait at busy times of the day was silly. So, all in all, thumbs up for the hotel staff (not tourism) and thumbs down for the hotel. Would I stay there again - No. Was it that bad - No, but not what I expect of a Sheraton Hotel at that price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSCLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Aloha JSCLP and thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel. We regret to learn that your expectations were not met in regards to your room, bathroom and toiletry offerings. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the street level noise as well as the lack of information to provided to you by our tour desk. We also apologize for your dissatisfaction with our daily resort fee. Please know that we truly appreciate your honest comments and have shared them with our management team for future improvements. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,347 - 1,353 of 3,655 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

After a mammoth flight to get to Honolulu SPK was just the thing to unwind. As with the other reviews, this place is bustling with people however it was an easy, fast check in.
The rooms were rather good for the price and the bathrooms were well stocked with toiletries.
The poolside bar was great however the pool itself seemed rather strangely empty for the hundred people and children sunning themselves next to it.
Location is great. Only a block or 2 from the ocean and in the heart of Waikiki for shopping and eating.
The breakfast buffet was kinda OK, most of the fruit was gone however besides battling the birds for breakfast, you can have a hearty breakfast quite easily.
I had a room on the 5th floor of the main tower overlooking the pool and this was quiet with a nice view.
I would return to this hotel due to convenience to localities.
I cannot comment about parking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bandageman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Aloha Bandageman and mahalo for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments and have shared them with our management team. We're happy to learn that you were pleased with you room and our Splash Bar and Bento. Mahalo again for your comments. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel on the first part of our tour of the islands of Hawaii in Feb 2013, I'm sure there are were more modern hotels on the sea front in Honolulu but this was only 2 minutes from the beach and central to shops, buses etc. We found it fine, very relaxed, clean and staff were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again and would recomend to others to stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Aloha Stephanie186336 and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us took advantage of our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki. We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff as well as your recommendation to others. We hope to see you again in the near future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, or SPK as they say (not to be confused with the more upscale Sheraton Waikiki Hotel), has a good location in the center of Waikiki. To be fair, it's hard to find a bad location in Waikiki. It's small and entirely walkable and every bustling street corner has it's ABC store, plenty of restaurants, and wherever you are, you are never far from the beach. But the SPK is really in the center of it all. You are a couple of blocks from the beach, which is perfect. Waikiki beach is a public beach area anyhow, so for me it wasn't worth paying the pricy room rates to get closer access.

Check-in was fine. The lobby area was extremely busy - lots of people running around (I actually felt like I was in Tokyo because a huge percentage of the guests are Japanese), but no wait for the front desk. There's a $24.50 per day resort fee that's charged - this is a pet peeve of mine. Resort fees should either be optional or included in the stated price of the room and if you're not using some of what it includes (wireless, parking), then you are subsidizing it for other guests. Anyway, at least it included some free drinks at the bar.

Pool area is nothing to speak of. There was some live entertainment at night, which was nice to listen to. But do not go here thinking you'll be spending much time at the pool. I hardly saw anyone in it. And it's definitely not for kids -- only a tiny area is sectioned off as the shallow end; the rest is 6-8' deep.

The rooms have had their better day...maybe about 30 years ago. They are now dingy, stained, and loud. Uncomfortable beds and paper thin walls makes for a poor night's sleep. Toiletries in the bathroom were OK. Hallways look dingy as well. Really needs a major overhaul.

But at the end of the day, I think it doesn't really matter where you stay in Waikiki that much - because you probably won't be spending a ton of time in the room or in the pool area. The greatness of the area is really the beach, trying out some great restaurants (Marukame Udon around the corner is worth the wait), and walking/people-watching on the main streets. Enjoy Waikiki for what it is. It's not the quiet paradise many have in mind when traveling to Hawaii, but it's still scenic, cultural, and a lot of fun. My advice - don't spend a lot of money on your hotel here, it's just not worth it. Definitely go to Waikiki and check out the main sights of Oahu (Circle Island Tour, Pearl Harbor, Polynesian Cultural Center), but save the majority of your money and your time for one or more of the other islands.

I'd stay at the SPK again for cost and convenience, but the rooms are just not up to the standards of the places I would normally stay in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Aloha Sunny77777 and thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback and have shared it with our management team. We regret to learn that our rooms and Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds did not meet your expectations and apologize for any inconvenience this caused during your stay. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki and appreciate your recommendations for others vacationing in Hawaii. Thank you again for your honest and valuable feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I recently stayed at the Sheraton Princess and was quite happy with my stay. The hotel was decent, not exactly luxury, but in the location of Waikiki, it was perfect. My check-in time was less than 3 minutes which was a nice surprise after reading some of the other reviews. The hotel was older, but clean and I had a beautiful view of the ocean. The hotel did try and make the stay nice. The free drink they give you at check-in was not good, and I would recommend dinning off-site. SPG members get 35% off of food purchased at any of the hotels on the beach (Moana Surfrider, Sheraton Waikiki and Royal Hawaian) I did have a couple of nice lunches on the breach front at some of those hotels. Overall, the stay was nice and I really didn't have any issues. For the price, it was great. The beds were very comfy and that was VERY good after long days on the beach! Waikiki beach is pretty crowded with a lot of culture in the area which was interesting. You really have to try the ice cream at the Market place which is only a block or so away.

Room Tip: I stayed in a standard room and had a partial view of the ocean. For me that was fine as now I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Aloha Lisa Z and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki. We regret to learn that you we're pleased with our dining options, however we're happy to learn that you did enjoy meals at our sister properties. Again, we really appreciate your honest comments and look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Great value, fantastic location. We were upgraded which was really nice. The view from our ocean view room was amazing. The room was clean, a little old, but it we didn't spend too much time in the room anyway.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Aloha Penny B and mahalo nui loa for taking a moment to review our hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki as well as the ocean view from your room. We hope to see you again in the near future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed for 4 nts Feb 16th in room 1094. Remnants of previous guest/housekeeper in the bathroom and on the bed (completely unacceptable) upon check in. My first impression was yuck! Room, bathroom and hallway is old and tired as mentioned many times in reviews which reflects the lower price in this prime location.

After reading all the reviews I knew what to expect, didn't plan to spend too much time in the room so the hotel served its purpose,this is 3 star at most.

Booked a city view room. Other than the expected city traffic noises I found the noise level acceptable. Maybe being on the Kaiulani St side on the 10th floor corner helped avoid the loading area of the hotel.

Wifi in room was reliable. Staff friendly. Resort fee is expensive if you don't need parking.

Room Tip: Only Princess and Kaiulani tower rooms have wireless connection. City view high floor to avoid loa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lindy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Aloha lindy001 and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We regret to learn that you found remnants from previous guests/housekeepers in your room upon arrival. This is not our standard and has been shared with our management team. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location and friendly staff. Please know that we value your feedback and will continue to make efforts to enhance the experience for future guests, including yourself. Mahalo again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,650 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,722 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
651 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £141 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing