We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recently stayed and not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Garden Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Recently stayed and not worth the money”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We just returned from 2 weeks in Hawaii. One week spent on Oahu and the other spent on Maui. The Princess Kaiulani is in a good location but everything in the room is dated, the carpets, the wallpaper, the elevators.

Room Tip: The hotel entrance, lobby and restaurant all look first class but the rooms are very dated. Old carp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gail2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Aloha gail2425 and thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. We regret to learn that you were unsatisfied with some of our hotel's decor, but appreciate your honest feedback. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki. Mahalo again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    1,432
    788
    307
    179
See reviews for
1,020
1,183
213
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Mr wife and I stayed in Honolulu Hawaii (my first time, her 3rd) and overall we had a great time! I will preface this review by saying that we stayed at the Sheraton Waikiki which was a different level of hotel...and we were spoiled by the accommodations there. We moved after one day to the Princess to save some money and because the Waikiki was sold out, and having seen some reviews, we were ready for the property to be a slight step down, and in some areas it was. The location is really great, blocks from a main tour pickup and drop off point, the beach is a short walk, and there are tons of restaurants and name brand and boutique stores. The lobby, while dated, was clean (and very busy with arrivals and departures). We did not use the restaurant or bar except for a welcome drink when we walked in, but both were also clean and appeared well staffed. The pool area was nice, and oddly enough there was never anyone swimming, just sun bathing. We checked in after 3 because the room was not ready when we first arrived in the morning, but I understood this as the hotel was full the night before and checkout is at 11 am, so I was unfazed by it. Our check in was made warm and friendly by Kathy, who was great and made up feel welcome.

Getting to our room in the tower, it was again clean, but also dated. The view from the 26th floor, however, was amazing! The ups and downs were unfortunately a recurring theme with this hotel.

A really nice touch was the fresh flower arrangement that was provided for us as a honeymoon gift. Then 10 minutes later, a complimentary bottle of champagne was sent up. Awesome! Up again! Then the downer came at 11 pm when we could hear a performing band from across the street. The sound echoed through the natural canyon formed by the tall buildings. Not the hotel's fault, but my wife simply couldn't sleep. In the morning we asked to move to a different room, and once again, Kathy came to the rescue! Luckily, she was able to find us a room in the much-newer feeling wing in the building by the pool. No noise, fresher room, and the views were actually just as nice! lastly, the housekeepers were very friendly, making eye contact and saying hello very day we saw them.

We continued on with our week of beach, swimming, shopping and touring, and had no more problems. So while the Sheraton Princess could use a facelift, it was truly the face of the caring staff, and Kathy in particular, that made our stay great and just as importantly would entice us to return. Didn't love the resort fee, but we tried to get our money's worth out of it by getting beach chairs and towels, and using the internet which was wireless in the 2nd room we moved to. Also, become an SPG member if you have a moment. This gets you points, upgrades, and other bonuses like discounts at local restaurants applied at check out.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher up room in the lower tower, above the pool facing the street. Sounds counter intuit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookend2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing and PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Aloha Bookend2505 and mahalo for taking the time to review our hotel. Congratulations on your recent marriage! On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for providing your honest and helpful feedback regarding your experience with us. We apologize that we were unable to accommodate you with an earlier check-in time than 3pm and appreciate your understanding. We also apologize for the noise levels you experienced in your first room, and we thank you for noting that our front desk associate Kathy was able to move you to a room to accommodate your requests. We're happy to learn that you took advantage of the various amenities included in our resort fee and that you became an SPG member. Your kind words about Kathy are greatly appreciated and have been shared with our entire management team as well as Kathy. Mahalo again for providing your review. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The hotel lobby was beautiful. The room was very worn and dated. The bed was like a rock. The 27th foor also led to some loud winds and furniture movement on the balcony. It was supposedly an upgrade room but I can't imagine what the next level down looked like. The dinner and breakfast buffets offered a wide variety but was not maintained and some of the food offerings ran out before being replensihed. The location was perfect for getting to the beach, international market, and day excursions.

Room Tip: keep to the lower floors as the wind is very strong and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kstoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Aloha kstoll and mahalo for taking the time to review our hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed our lobby as well as our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced because of the high winds. We appreciate your feedback regarding the buffet and have shared this with our management team. Mahalo again for your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Decided to stay at the Sheraton Princes Kaiulani from 26 Feb - 6 March 2013 due to the fact that my mother had stayed at this hotel for the last 2 years in a row and loved it. This trip I travelled with my mother (3rd visit to PK) and my 3 year old daughter. Upon arrival at 8am we were made to wait till 3pm for a room after flying from Sydney, Australia. The hotel was not full, but that was too bad. In the meantime we had lunch by the pool and was served a stale club sandwich with black avocado (not fresh). We returned the sandwich and gave lunch a miss. By the time 3pm, we were very tired and checked into our standard room which was tiny, original bathroom (very old) with a view of the carpark and down below dumpster bins. By this stage I was starting to feel like we were anywhere but Hawaii. My mother complained to the bell boy about the room. About an hour later the hotel sent up a fresh basket of fruit apologising for the room. Only to open the fresh basket of fruit and discover the fruit to be green and mouldy. I went downstairs to the reception to thanked them for the fresh fruit, but in Australia the Sheraton is of a high standard and when we give fresh fruit, it isn't covered in mould and that they were welcome to eat the fruit themselves. With that we were upgraded immediately to the Ocean Deluxe Room which was a nicer & bigger room with a lovely view of Waikiki Beach and I started to feel like I had in fact arrived in Hawaii - finally. The only further problem was that the room stunk of "MOULD". This hotel is old and is in need of renovations with all bathrooms. The service is a little slow. My mother was very disappointed with her 3rd visit to PK and won't be returning next year. Such a shame to have a regular visitor have such a disappointing experience. Other than the hotel, our trip to Hawaii was lovely. The Waikele Outlet is a shopping heaven. Travel with PJ Plover, they have coach's pick up and drop off from Dukes Statue on Waikee Beach for $10 return. Pearl Harbour was interesting. Alo Moana Shopping Centre was over rated. Once you have been to the outlets, further shopping isn't necessary. The outlet covers everything. The Ross Store has great/cheap clothing for children. Will definately return to Hawaii again for a shopping holiday, other than that, there isn't much to do in Hawaii. The beach is lovely, but it's a long way to travel for a beach when Australia's beaches are just as nice.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 1030 - Mouldy Smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KJJJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Aloha KJJJB and mahalo for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We regret to learn that your time with us did not meet your expectations. We truly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced due to our being unable to provide an early check-in room as well as the unsatisfactory fruit basket sent to the room and the unpleasent smell of excess moisture in your room. Please know that we take these comments very seriously and currently have our maintenance and housekeeping teams following up on the room in which you stayed, as we fully intend on resolving this issue as soon as possible. Thank you again for your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

From the hotel entrance, the lobby, & restaurant, the hotel looks first class. Once you get out of the elevator or get to your room, a Motel 6 could look better. The rooms were small & very dated. The lanai could be scary being this is a high rise hotel. Not much space out there to relax. The bathrooms are worn out and fixtures are rusty. The swimming pool is small too. Housekeeping was very nice, but the woman who checked us in was rude & unfriendly. The restaurant downstairs is pricey, but there's plenty of restaurants around. The hotel is a short walk to the International Market, Waikiki Beach, & tons of shopping. Overall I enjoyed my visit to Oahu, but the accommodations could've been better.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfprincessjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Aloha jvalicious and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We regret to learn that our room did not meet your expectations, but do appreciate your honest feedback. We'd like to have our maintenance team follow up directly on the reported rust on the bathroom fixtures and have messaged you directly regarding this. We strive to treat all our guests with aloha and sincerely apologize that you did not experience this upon check-in; thank you, however for your kind words regarding our housekeeping staff. Please know that we appreciate all of your honest feedback and have shared it with our management team for future improvement. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

we stayed here from jan 6 till jan18 2013 and we had a great time we are looking at comming back in november for 2 weeks again and will definateley stay here yes the room was small but it was very nice for 2 people and yes the bathrooms could be updated but all in all i would rate this hotel about 4/5 the pool was excellent the food at the buffet was 2nd too none and we ate at all the normal places i have reccomended his hotel too numerous people and will in the future

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyle1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Aloha Lyle1985 and mahalo for taking a moment to review our hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you visit again in November. Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for recommending our hotel to your friends - we truly appreciate this! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Princess in Feb this year. Yes, it is perfectly located but I'm not sure that this is so much of an issue in Waikiki, as it is so small and so well serviced by buses and taxis galore. The noise factor was a real problem, even on the 26th floor! After 2 weeks there, lack of sleep was becoming a problem. Also, as a Starwood guest and user of Sheraton hotels, we were astonished to discover that there wasn't even a shaver point in our bathroom. The provision of toiletries was a hit and miss affair too - another potential problem as there were three of us in the room. We know that we only had to ask and the staff would have provided, but my point is that we shouldn't have needed to ask, it should have been provided on a daily basis. Totally agree with the others that the staff were great. The show was great too. We did have a laugh at the lady on the tourism desk though, we wanted to ask about getting ourselves around the island using public transport and no matter how many times we re-phrased the question she kept telling us that she could only talk about the tours she sold. We gave up and let her talk. It would have been nice to be able to get general tourist info from someone. The room was tired in the extreme, tiles needed regrouting, decor very outdated, the door to the balcony kept getting stuck so my husband had to open it for us on occasion. The wardrobe door was equally iffy. No minibar even. The daily resort charge was an affront considering we did not use the pool, car park or restaurants. Too many Japanese for our liking and more lifts needed as the wait at busy times of the day was silly. So, all in all, thumbs up for the hotel staff (not tourism) and thumbs down for the hotel. Would I stay there again - No. Was it that bad - No, but not what I expect of a Sheraton Hotel at that price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSCLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Aloha JSCLP and thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel. We regret to learn that your expectations were not met in regards to your room, bathroom and toiletry offerings. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the street level noise as well as the lack of information to provided to you by our tour desk. We also apologize for your dissatisfaction with our daily resort fee. Please know that we truly appreciate your honest comments and have shared them with our management team for future improvements. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Property: Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing