We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Waikiki Warning Don't Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Terrigal, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Waikiki Warning Don't Stay Here”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed 2 weeks on March 8th reported to security our bags had been gone through and items missing, heard nothing so by March 12th contacted duty manager, she was aware of concerns on the 8th but had done nothing, we left on March 17 no word from hotel. on leaving discovered my daughters swaroski earrings were also gone. Pool shuts at 6pm even though its light for another 2 hours so if you have children and have been out all day then they can't swim. Staff are basically rude or indifferent, internet can only be accessed in your room by cable so no wi fi not any good for iPads or iPhones, internet in foyer keeps dropping out. Wallpaper in room lifting off and powerpoint cracked and broken. we were told staff were not questioned about items missing as they were on days off. Asked front desk for an email address for Sheraton and was told "I have no idea how you can email a complaint" Hopeless, Sheraton you should be embarrassed. Do yourself a favour just don't stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Aloha James M and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your response to our private message sent earlier this week in regards to following up on the issues you brought to our attention in your review. We can confirm that the outlet plate you reported broken was replaced by our electrician and we thank you for notifying our maintenance regarding this. In regards to your other concerns of the adaptor and earrings, our Director of Security should have emailed you directly to follow up and to provide you with the information for our insurance adjuster. We sincerely apologize for the less than satisfactory experience you had with us; we always strive to treat our guests with the utmost aloha and regret to learn that you felt you were not treated this way. Please know that we value your comments and have shared them with our entire management team for improvements. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    1,465
    806
    315
    182
See reviews for
1,055
1,214
216
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

No Wifi in your rooms, old hotel. We're a starwood member so we used points to book here. We shouldve paid cash for a room and saved our point. If you have an option stay at the Sheraton Waiki- much nicer. Much friendlier staff. Ironically it cost up us more to stay at the Sheraton Princess than the sheraton Waikiki. Unfortunately sheraton waikiki was sold out. If we go back were going to stay over by the Aulani- not at the Aulani but somewhere near it. Waikiki is a mess, traffic is so bad and beaches are crowded- its not a vacation if you have to stay down there. Sorry to be so negative, just got back from five days at the Sheraton Princess and everyday we went to the Aulani beaches to escape the Waikiki. Lastly i met a couple at the computer lab who had housekeeping enter their room at 8:30pm while they were sleeping- they thought someone was breaking in.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jassdsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Aloha jassdsu and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We regret to learn that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the wired internet connection. We do have mifi wireless devices available upon request for those staying in our Ainahau Tower who need wifi connectivitiy, as these rooms have wired connections only. Please know that we will be updating the wifi internet throughout our entire hotel in the coming months and the project should be completed by the beginning of June. We do appreciate your bringing this challenge with wifi to our attention. We also apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced with Waikiki in general, including room availabilty at our sister property. All of your comments are valuable to us and we appreciate your honest feedback. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Our second time here & love it, across street from beach, walk to everything in Waikiki including great beach strolls, generally very good care of patrons but pool staff need to clean bird poop off of pool chairs themselves instead of handing a wet cloth to patrons to do it (yes, this happened, while they watched, but they did say "thank you," with a smile, but ... not my job), family friendly, really enjoy the pool area - lots of sun but can also find shade, rooms older but very nice, really enjoyed upgraded room, very nice pool side Hawaiian music 6:30 - 9:00 nightly, really appreciated the hospitality room and towels after we checked out in advance of a 1130 pm departure flight, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan_Carla_604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Aloha Dan_Carla_604 and mahalo for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding your experience at our pool deck and have shared it with our management team for follow-up. We're pleased to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location, nightly entertainment and hospitality room. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stayed there on a girls trip where i took my mother, daughter and cousin for my mums 70th Birthday. We stayed there from 26 January 2013 for 7 nights. The hotel is in a great location central to everything. The reception area was spacious and the staff were very helpful and always polite.
The pool area was good with plenty on lounge chairs and tables and chairs around so if you came back from shopping with takeaway you could sit around the pool area and eat and relax without having to go up to your room.
The splash bar was great because you could get a snack or a main meal without having to wait an hour at some of the popular restaurants nearby.
We had interconnecting rooms. The rooms lookec tired and were very clean and not very spacious as the furniture was bulky.
The rooms definitely need to be refurbished. We stayed in level 27 in the tall tower that was beside the international market. When there was a band playing at a bar in the international market we could hear it and would be playing till very late at night.

We had been to Waikiki 18 months previous and stayed at the Beachcomber Holiday Inn.
Comparing the two. The Holiday in rooms were more spacious and modern compared to the Sheraton. However the Sheration had the nicer pool area, reception, guest lounge and you could even get buffet breakfast or dinner every night which the Holiday Inn doesn't have.

We also hired a car on our stay and had free parking which a lot of the other hotels do not have.

If we went back to Waikiki we would stay at the Sheraton over the Holiday Inn as It offered a lot more outside of your room.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Aloha Karen L and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed your girls' time here with us and that you also enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding our rooms. We appreciate all of your comments and hope to see you again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, PA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed for a week, loved it. We had a pool view which I would get again. Room is a little dated but very clean. Room did smell a little musty, but I had a small air freshener which I used the first day that took care of it. Close to everything.

Room Tip: Pool view, good for watching the entertainment at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreyfuss45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Aloha Dreyfuss45 and thank you very much for taking a moment to review our hotel. We apologize for the musty smell you experienced while visiting with us and are pleased to learn that you still enjoyed your time here. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. I highly recommend that you get a pool view room. It is a bit noisy, but if you bring an electric white noise "sound machine" it is not noisy at all. There is beautiful Hawaiian music from young men singing with guitars starting at 6:30 p.m. until 10:30 p.m. at night and you can sit on your balcony, your "lanai," and listen to the beautiful music. The musicians also have a "hula girl" with them performing the hula.

The room is a bit basic, but it is nice and clean.

The location is the best thing about the hotel. It is right in the middle of Waikiiki with many shopping areas and restaurants nearby. If you are on a tight budget, there is a Kentucky Fried Chicken across the street, and also an ABC Store across the street where you can purchase "lunchables" and sandwiches. There is also a Subway within walking distance.

There IS an elevator to the parking garage, but only if you park on one of the top two floors.

The breakfast buffet is wonderful.

I highly recommend that you rent a car and drive to the North Shore of Oahu on your visit; the waves and the surfers are awesome! Also, rent a car and drive to the Pali Lookout-the view is terrific.

I would give this hotel 5 out of 5 for everything. The staff are also wonderfully efficient and kind.

From-Minnesota Girl

Room Tip: Choose a pool view room; they are the best and from our room you could even see a bit of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Aloha Ann R and mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) taking the time to review our hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed your experience with us as well as our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki. We appreciate the information you shared regarding your use of a white noise machine and do apologize however for the initial need for such a device. We also appreciate your kind words regarding our friendly staff. Thank you again for you honest feedback. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I stayed in this hotel 23 years ago when in Hawaii with my parents and have come back to stay at late notice with my husband. We booked online and flew out that afternoon. The price was great considering we were on a high floor with ocean views towards Diamond Head however did not include breakfast which wasn't a drama as each morning we went to the ABC store, bought a yogurt and banana then walked across to Kona coffee and bought our cappuccino which was alot cheaper not to mention healthier! I do however remember the same furniture in the room from the first visit all those years ago!! The room was sufficient though a little small and decorations a little tired however clean and tidy and in an awesome location just across the road from the sand! I'd recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the heart of waikiki who enjoys evening entertainment around the pool and an amazing view!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzimacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Aloha lizzimac and mahalo for taking a moment to review our hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you returned to our hotel even 23 years later. We're currently completing a furniture update in our rooms and apologize that your room had not yet been udpated, but we thank you for your honest comments. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#51 of 84 in Honolulu
3,368 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,836 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Property: Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing