We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, but in need of a refurb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had stayed here twelve years ago,but sadly it seemed to have hit the slide. We arrived at 1pm but our room was not ready and indeed it was gone 3pm before we finally got the key. It took three trips to reception to finally make the breakthrough.The room was clean but not particulalry large and it would appear that the door lock had been replaced on a couple of occasions - the final replacement not fitting particularly well. The whole place appeared tired and badly in need of a refurb.Our three night stay was probably about right.
On the plus side the staff were friendly and helpful, and any bills incurred in the other 3 Sheratons in Waikiki can be charged straight to your room bill at the PK. Did appreciate our small town in Fife Scotland (Anstruther) getting a mention in Kaiulani's travels in the hotel foyer. But gone was the welcoming letter, and the vase of tropical flowers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearair52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Aloha Bearair52 and thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience caused due to your room not being ready until 3pm. Due to our high occupancy, we're unable to guarantee a room prior to the standard 3pm check-in. We understand this can be frustrating for guests who arrive earlier than 3pm and we apologize for this. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our friendly associates, as it's very nice to share this with our team. Again, thank you for your time and for choosing the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 3,551 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Yes it’s a bit tired but you can’t beat the location and the view from a deluxe high ocean view room (check out the photos) but make sure you get an even numbered room overlooking the pool. The odd numbered rooms don’t actually look at the ocean they face the city. It’s clean and comfortable and the staff are very friendly and obliging but it certainly needs a reno and the soundproofing is practically non existent. We were woken on our first morning about 6am by some ‘moron’ yelling – and I mean yelling – “I need coffee”. Thankfully they were up early to check out and we weren’t disturbed again. We did find a few tiny ants in our room but maybe only a dozen over the twelve days so more of a curiosity than anything else. The ‘Pikake Terrace’ buffet is overpriced – about US$40 a head for any meal – and we never ate there - it seemed to be only frequented by the Japanese who presumably get it as part of a package deal. Would I stay there again? Well it’s the second time I’ve stayed there in 3 years so yes I would but I’d look at other options first.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe high ocean view room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hadcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Aloha hadcock and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki. We apologize for the noise annoyance caused by a neighboring room. We also apologize that our dining options did not meet your needs. Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

So far, I went to Hawaii four times and stayed at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani hotel. This is the best hotel in Oahu, its clean, walking distance to restaurants, shopping and to the Waikiki beach. This hotel have complementary pineapples in the afternoon for their customers. If you stay at this hotel don't forget to visit the International Market just behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Aloha William L and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We'd also like to thank you for choosing the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel for your last four visits to Waikiki; we truly appreciate this! We're very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We booked a tour of Hawaii through an agent. She set us up with Aloha Tours making all the arrangements for hotels and tours. As a contributor to Trip Advisor I looked up our hotels. After reading some of the negative reviews I wondered what type of hotel she booked us in. She told me she has sent many people there and she hadn't have any negative reports.
When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly and well informed staff. Our checking was very smooth and efficient. Knowing that the hotel is an older one it didn't show it in the lobby or pool or other public areas. The rooms were well maintained and clean. The air conditioning keep the room cool to our liking. Our room was on the 10 floor overlooking the International Market Place. It was enjoyable to sit on the balcony and listen to the music. When we closed our patio doors you could not hear it so sleeping was good.
While the street people can be a little bothersome at times not only in the area of the hotel but in all of downtown Honolulu. It appeared to us that the business owners and merchants try to control them on their property the city has little control over them on the sidewalks..
We were there to celebrate our 40th anniversary. It was a surprise to find upon our return to our room a bottle of champagne from the manager. His thoughtfulness was touching. We offered our thanks to Mr. Orr kindness.
If we found ourselves in Honolulu again we would strongly consider stay at this hotel. We would recommend it to our friends as a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Our rooms faced the International Market Place. I would suggest rooms on that side of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Aloha Steven E and thank you so much for taking the time to share your thorough review of our hotel. We're quite honored to have helped you celebrate your 40th anniversary, so thank you for letting us play a small part in your celebration! We appreciate your honest and fair comments regarding your stay with us and we're happy to learn that you enjoyed your time here at the Princess Kaiulani Hotel. Mr. Orr also extends his warmest mahalo to you for your kind notes here. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here just over a week ago and was very sad to leave. The hotel is a beautiful building located only a short walk from the beach. The rooms were comfortable, clean and tidy. The front desk staff and the bell guys were very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere at night was lovely with the sound of the music from the entertainment by the pool drifting all over the hotel. My only bug bear was the smell of fish as you walk through the hotel at dinnertime, but that's only because I don't eat fish. The restaurants all around this hotel do fantastic food & fresh melon and pineapple to die for. Great restaurant to try is Cheesecake Factory. Word of warning tho, don't leave it too late or the waiting time is unreal (even though it's worth it) and also make sure you go there hungry!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jowalker165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Aloha jowalker165 and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our bell and front desk associates, as it's always great to share these remarks with our team. Thank you again and a hui hou (until we meet again). Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The property is old. That picture of the pool? -- don't know how they took it because it is tiny. If you are looking for convenience: in the center of shopping, and across the street from beach, then stop here and book. Bathrooms -- old but very clean. Rooms clean and smelled fresh. We prepaid a 1 night stay for two rooms on same floor and got just that! Plus we each had nice views of the ocean looking over the roof line of the Surfrider. Decent sized lanais. Ate at the Surfrider, and had outdoor drinks there, too. Check in was a bit slow, as was checkout. Bonus: Parking Garage -- for your rental car!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelPrincess69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Aloha TravelPrincess69 and thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. We appreciate your honest comments and we're happy that you were pleased with your accommodations. We apologize for any inconvenience caused due to wait times at check-in and check-out and we appreciate your honest feedback regarding this, as it allows us to make improvements to our service delivery. We appreciate your time and we hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here a week ago. The room was on the 7th floor and faced the pool. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The drawer and closet space was plentiful. The bathroom, though clean was very old and the drain in the tub didn't work well. I have stayed here many times over the last 12 years and it's always been a good stay. I especially like the downstairs area by the pool and restaurants. Everynight they have good Hawaiian music and hula dancing. You can't beat the location! The entire staff is always ready to help. I especially appreciate the chairs you can take to the beach. Even though this place needs some TLC, i would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms are noisier by the International Marketplace. That's why I like the main building facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hawaiiturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Aloha hawaiiturtle and thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. More importantly, thank you for your 12 years of continued loyalty to the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel - we truly appreciate this as we know you have many choices in Waikiki. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us and we apologize for the inconvenience caused by the tub drain. We're happy that you enjoy our nightly live entertainment and Big Kahuna Beach Service. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,894 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £142 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing