We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It's Hawaii” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It's Hawaii”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Checked in October 8,2013. The computer system was down which caused check in to take about 10 minutes. They were unable to issue a key so a manager escorted us to the room on the seventh floor to let us in. Everyone was very polite and helpful. The room was large and clean. The view was of the tiny pool,nice but not special. The beach was a short walk across the street to one of the best beaches on planet earth. The building is old and needs work but for what it is and where it is it's great.Property is really in the heart of downtown Honolulu. A short walk to resturants, attractions,beaches. Public transportation is nearby and easy to figure out.We had a plumbing problem that was repaired right away and the television repair was tried one day and the set was switched out the next call. Had a great time and would recommend it highly

Room Tip: Higher you go the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Aloha gcaver and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're happy to learn that your overall stay was enjoyable. We'd like to apologize for the inconveniences caused due to the down systems during check-in as well as the plumbing and television issues; thank you for sharing that these were quickly responded to and resolved by our associates. We know you have many choices when selecting a hotel in Waikiki and we truly thank you for choosing to stay with us. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    1,389
    765
    303
    172
See reviews for
965
1,149
208
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

The only good thing to note about this hotel is its location.
Aside from that, I was not inspired to come back. The entire hotel is in desperate need of a serious makeover. The room, whilst clean, showed several signs of wear and tear, and the fitout needs modernising. First time in many years that I came across non-adjustable aircon - all you can do is turn the fan on or off, but the temperature is pre-set and cannot be changed. As a result I found the room to be uncomfortably warm during the das and somewhat chilly at night.

As for the staff, they were generally quite friendly , however an experience at the end of my stay significantly brought down the overall impression.
Having realised that I had left a power converter and phone charger in my room I called the hotel 20 minutes after checking out, at 6 in the morning. I explained the situation and was assured that security would immediately go up to the room to retrieve the items. My friend, who was staying in Waikiki for another couple of days, could then pick them up later in the day.
When he asked at reception in the afternoon, there was no record of the incident, and staff were indifferent and quite rude. I then called the hotel - from overseas, as I had travelled home - and also received sub-standard service. After being passed back and forth between Reception and Security, it culminated with the hotel's customer service manager telling me that 'there is nothing else we can do' and 'oh well, that's just the way it is...'.
Thankfully the items weren't particularly valuable, but the inconvenience combined with the arrogant attitude of some hotel staff means that I for one won't be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Aloha Alex B and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We truly regret to learn that your time with us did not meet your expectations, as our mission is to deliver great service with the utmost aloha spirit. We are very disappointed to learn about the experience at the end of your stay and have shared this review with our managers and security team, as this type of report is not something we take lightly. We've sent you a private message requesting for further information regarding your date of stay and room number so that our housekeeping and guest service managers can review their logs for this incident. Please know that we are truly sorry that this incident tainted your experience here with us. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding your interactions with our associates. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

just home this week from hawaii and 11 nights at the pk after reading some reviews before travelling I did wonder if I had made a mistake with my choice of hotel,however from the word go we had great stay.Kathy who checked us in made us feel relaxed after our long trip from England via San Francisco. Our room was exactly what we had asked for superb views and high floor. bed was heavenly and Anastasia looked after our needs very well.Pool guys were great too, in fact we didn't see anyone without a smile which makes you feel happy yourself.I work in a large hotel myself and know how hard it is to please people but looking at the reviews i just couldn't see what else people needed to complain about. well done pk we loved our stay and thank you .ps the use of beach chairs and towels was a bonus.

Room Tip: we stayed on 23 rd floor away from lift and had sea diamond head and park canal view , room was quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Aloha Keith K and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We're very happy to learn that you enjoyed your vacation at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel and we hope have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Thank you for your kind notes regarding Kathy and Anastasia, as it's always wonderful to share these praises with our team. Earning such rave reviews from a fellow hotelier is truly rewarding and we truly appreciate it. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

One street away from the Beach! and on the main drag of all the excitement of Waikiki!!!... We stayed here as part of a group and were on the far wing side. My room was on the 26th floor with awesome views. My room was very well equipt, nothing too flash yet had everything we needed. There are many eatery's in the hotel and even more around it, it is a very centrally located hotel. We were able to use the bell rooms scales to weigh our bags before we hit the airport. The pool is open, only thing I wasnt too keen on was that it was open and it felt like random people could have rocked up to the pool but I guess you need to have a pool card (from reception for guests only) to get a towel. There was WIFI for a cost $14.95 per day cause we didnt need the other deals that came with the $25 combo tht is mostly suited for families with children. and th laundry room was below deck and frikkn hot...but we got through it lol. I didnt like that we had to park 15min away 'cause we didnt have parking in our combo but didnt realise this until we arrived so we paid another holtel around the corner to hold our van for a fraction of the cost that the Sheraton PK was going to charge us-Major downfall for what we were paying and there were always parks available. Apart from that, we had a good stay and were here for two nights and three days. If I can afford it next time around I would like to stay at the other Sheraton on the beach x

Room Tip: Go to the far wing and above the 20th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aroha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Aloha L0V3LY and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we appreciate your kind notes regarding our convenient location and our helpful bellmen. We apologize for any inconvenience our laundry room caused and we appreciate your honest feedback. We hope to welcome you back again. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Nice hotel in a great location. Very convenient to get to everything in Honolulu from here. Very clean room and we were upgraded to an ocean view from our honeymoon. They also brought us a free bottle of champagne for our honeymoon which was very nice. For the price it was great for us.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FriendVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Aloha FriendVermont and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're honored to have played a small role in this special time in your life and we hope to welcome you back again. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you want to be in the middle of everything, to be close to the most beautiful places on earth, to have exceptional service, this is the place to stay. No, this place does not boast the Ritz, posh and glamour, it boasts, convenience, and great service. The place is still a very nice place to stay. If you are there to critique the hotel room and not what it has to offer, then you should really stay at a more expensive place, then expect what you paid for. This place exceeded my expectations, and I am very sad that this place is closing next year. Sheraton Princess gave my family and I a lifetime of wonderful memories. Thank you for the great customer service!

Room Tip: I stayed on the ocean view room, where I faced the ocean and the swimming pool, that had live entert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melremo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Aloha melremo and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're so happy to have been able to provide your family with a terrific vacation and a lifetime of wonderful memories; this truly means so much to us and we greatly appreciate it. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton Pricess Kaiulani for one night (one night too long) early October. It is well known that none of the hotels in Hawaii have AC in the corridors, but this Sheraton has practically no AC in the rooms as well. There is one knob in the room for AC with 3 levels: off, low, and High. Even at High, there is practically no movement of air in the room, leading to a muggy, suffocating, dirty room. I tried everything from opening the balcony door, sleeping on the floor right under the vent, adjusting the vent blades, etc, but could not sleep a wink.
This, coupled with a pool that shuts down at 6pm, no lounge, and terrible views were reasons enough for me to pack up and leave for another hotel. Your options will be limited if you are traveling as part of a big group, restricted dates, or budget restrictions.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Aloha Giri H and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We regret to learn that your experience was less than satisfactory and we apologize for the inconveniences experienced due to our air conditioner unit. We also apologize that our pool bar and restaurant did not meet your dining needs. We do appreciate your honest feedback, as it allows our team to make improvements to our products and service. Thank you again for your time. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#32 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Property: Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is near Waikiki Beach and downtown Honolulu. Our hotel has Creation, a dinner show; cultural activities; and 11,500 sq ft of event space for weddings or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing