We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and after looking at the photos on the website we were greatly disappointed. We booked and confirmed online for a room with 2 double beds as we were travelling with our teenage son. Upon arriving at the hotel we checked in with no problems. We opened the door to our room to find that we had only one bed. After then returning to reception we informed them we had booked a room with 2 beds and were told there was none available. A manager was called with no solution other than to take the room or go to another hotel. We were too tired to look for another hotel (after flying in after an exhausting flight) so we accepted this room. They brought up a portable bed. The upside was the manager offered us a free dinner voucher. Overall the bed was comfortable and the view good, but this hotel is very dated and really in need of a total renovation including the lifts...very scary on occasions!
It is expensive for what you get. I don't understand why these hotels charge a "Daily Resort Fee", these items should be included in the room charge anyway.
As we are SPG members we were very disappointed with this whole experience and having stayed in many SPG hotels around the world, it changes what our expectations are of the SPG hotels in the future.

Room Tip: We would suggest you only get a room that faces Waikiki beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buzydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Aloha buzydi and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We regret to learn that your vacation with us did not meet your expectations and we are disappointed that our team did not fulfill our service delivery promise, especially to an SPG member. On occasions, the often full or nearly full capacity of our hotel can make it challenging our our rooms team to fulfill the particular requests and we truly apologize that this unfortunately occurred with your request. Thank you for sharing that the bed and room were to to your liking despite the initial challenge, which we regret not having been able to resolve immediately. We've shared your concerns with our entire management team, as review such as this one allows our managers to work with their respective teams in order to ensure excellent service is delivered. Thank you again for your time and for your continued loyalty to Starwood as an SPG member. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    1,465
    806
    315
    182
See reviews for
1,055
1,214
216
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

After a week stay in Maui, we stopped over in Oahu and stayed 2 nights here in August. Everything was perfect. Check in was easy. The parking structure was just around the corner. Waikiki Beach was across the street. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Room was clean & bed was comfy. Slept like a baby. Had a street view/pool view. Had the buffet in the restaurant and spent a lot of money in the bar. They have the best Lava Flow!!! My husband and I are not real picky travelers, but as long time SPG members we do have specific expectations when we stay at Starwood properties or at any other hotels: outstanding service (it is easy to smile and be courteous and helpful), a safe environment, comfortable accommodations, and value for our hard earned money. Sheraton PK did not disappoint. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckcluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Aloha mckcluv2travel and thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're very happy to learn that you had a lovely vacation with us here at the PK and we truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our friendly associates. Thank you for your continued loyalty and enthusiasm for Starwood as an SPG member. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Recently spent 7 nights here. Thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations and amenities. The room (27th floor) w/balcony - was spacious and had a fantastic view of Waikiki Beach and the ocean (even from the bed when drapes were opened). The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of storage space (large closet & large dresser). Having a small fridge, in-room coffee, and in-room safe were pluses. The check-in was slow (only one front-desk agent!) but we found staff to be friendly & courteous - especially our housekeeper "Gloria" - who was fantastic (genuinely happy, friendly & accommodating). There is a resort fee...however it includes parking, free wi-fi & use of beach towels & the nicest Tommy Bahama beach chairs...
(Note: this property is not on the beach - and you will have to carry your chairs over - but just cross the street, walk 1/2 block and your there). The pool area is the hub of the hotel and almost seems like the lobby...there were plenty of lounge chairs...much of the dining and entertainment is done around the pool also (food is pricey). The internet lounge was very comfortable with plenty of desk-top stations for guests use. As other reviews have mentioned - the Sheraton Princess is a little "dated" and could use some sprucing up but it is a great value, in a fantastic location, with all the amenities you could want. If you're looking for luxury - you might be dissappointed. This was my 6th trip to Hawaii and I honestly don't spend much time in the room - so the money spent for "luxury" would be wasted. I am "picky" though when it comes to hotels - reputable, clean, safe, good location, etc, - Princess Kaiulani fit the bill and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to rooms in the higher tower for balconies & views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gogoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Aloha gogoddess and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed your vacation with us and we really appreciate your kind comments regarding our friendly associates, particularly Gloria your housekeeper. Thank you for sharing your thorough review, as we know it takes quite some time to share your experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Checked in tonight-- a 3 hour ordeal-- I have never written a review before but my experience has been so horrible I feel the need to save someone from my experience-- if there was not a cancellation fee I would be gone by now.

The hotel is dated-- I was put in the most horrible room on the other side of the elevator-- it was like train tracks were in the room with me-- when I went out of my way to request a quiet room. The room they moved me to has furniture that is completely beat up and damaged and the air conditioner does not work-- but the RUDE hotel manager thought she was doing me a favor by taking me away from the room that shared a wall with the elevator-- when I said I wanted a room with a working air conditioner she told me "this is Hawaii after all-- it will be warm and noisy."

I am paying $200 a night-- for that I expect air conditioning and furniture that isn't completely damaged-- do not stay here-- it is so dated, the staff is rude (I asked the hotel operator if there was a charge for the bottled water-- she said look for a tag and hung up on me.

Room Tip: Do not stay in 1648 which shares a wall with the elevator. Just do not stay here at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mia425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Aloha mia425 and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly regret to learn that your experience with us is less than satisfactory and we're quite disappointed that the service you received was not to our Sheraton standard. Please know that all of our associates are trained to treat all of our guests with utmost aloha and we're truly disappointed that this was not delivered to you during your stay. We truly apologize for this less than satisfying experience. We've shared your concerns with our management team who is committed to using reviews such as this one to train and coach their associates in order to ensure our guests have excellent experiences with us. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on the 6th floor with water views. The room was big with all the amenities and was clean, it looked a bit dated though, but that wasn't a big deal. The bed was comfy and we had a balcony that opened to the view of the pool area and the ocean, the live music by the pool bar was also entertaining. They have parking facilities, beach towel & deck chair service. Every morning I would look forward to the yummy buffet breakfast.
Nice staff and good customer service, a perfect location and reasonably priced. What more can you ask for.

If I had the chance to go back to Waikiki, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammySyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Aloha SammySyd and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and we appreciate your kind comments regarding your room as well as your liking for our buffet and nightly entertainment. We know you have many choices when selecting a hotel here in Waikiki and we thank you for selecting the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Most reviews here are fairly accurate. Great staff and customer service keeps this hotel running. That and the less expensive rates and convenient location keeps the hotel occupied. Alas the facilities and rooms are in bad need of a renovation. The pool is very small for a hotel of this size. The lobby is pretty and well kept. The buffet area right by the pool/lobby area often sends not the best seafood odor throughout the floor. The nightly music entertainment is okay and food is so so at best. There are better hotels nearby and on the beach, but you'll pay more.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Aloha Colin N and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback as well as your kind comments regarding our friendly associates and convenient location. We know you have many choices when selecting a hotel in Waikiki and truly appreciate your choice to stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MELBOURNE
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Checked in October 8,2013. The computer system was down which caused check in to take about 10 minutes. They were unable to issue a key so a manager escorted us to the room on the seventh floor to let us in. Everyone was very polite and helpful. The room was large and clean. The view was of the tiny pool,nice but not special. The beach was a short walk across the street to one of the best beaches on planet earth. The building is old and needs work but for what it is and where it is it's great.Property is really in the heart of downtown Honolulu. A short walk to resturants, attractions,beaches. Public transportation is nearby and easy to figure out.We had a plumbing problem that was repaired right away and the television repair was tried one day and the set was switched out the next call. Had a great time and would recommend it highly

Room Tip: Higher you go the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Aloha gcaver and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're happy to learn that your overall stay was enjoyable. We'd like to apologize for the inconveniences caused due to the down systems during check-in as well as the plumbing and television issues; thank you for sharing that these were quickly responded to and resolved by our associates. We know you have many choices when selecting a hotel in Waikiki and we truly thank you for choosing to stay with us. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#50 of 84 in Honolulu
3,368 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,836 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Property: Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing