We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Check in was very friendly and efficient. Was sent to the wrong room first but this was rectified quickly. Our room was very clean and serviced beautifully. Food at the hotel was lovely, however there were 1 or 2 not very friendly dining room staff. Actually, the service around the pool area in general was not as good as I would expect. Marsha at the Travel desk was awesome. Booked our day trips efficiently and was lovely to my children. She even took the time to give them a talk about Pearl Harbour. Thanks Marsha! You really prepared them well for that day trip! Had no problem at all getting poolside chairs and never experienced queues for the lift. Would never, ever again go to the medical centre attached to the hotel. My daughter had a throat infection and they tried to sell me antibiotics for $250!!! After a lecture from me, they returned 10 minutes later with $30 antibiotics. Disgraceful!! Bathrooms need renovating and paying a resort fee is a joke. It's in a great central location and we were very happy staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Aloha Helen E and thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us. We're happy to hear that many aspects of your vacation with us were pleasurable and we thank you for your kind notes regarding Marsha at our Tour Desk; we always enjoy hearing about our associates providing wonderful experiences. We apologize for the challenge you experienced with Straub Doctor's on Call, as we know this type of situation is not ideal. We unfortunately do not have input on their fee structure as they're a separately operating business from our hotel. Please know however that we appreciate your feedback and have shared it with the team. Mahalo and thank you for choosing the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,158 - 1,164 of 3,667 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Staff were pleasant that is it. The facilities such as the gym were a joke and the room probably resembled what I could only imagine to be a back packers retreat. Thin walls where you could hear the hair dryer from next door at 11 pm, dreaming that your wife had woken to dole her self but to realize it was coming from next door. We were that distressed we started searching for accommodation that night even though we had pre- paid for the accommodation, so our holiday was not ruined any further.

Thank God the Moana Surfrider had accommodation available.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Aloha Harry L and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We regret to learn that your stay was less than satisfactory and we apologize for the inconveniences experienced due to noise levels of neighboring rooms. We appreciate your note regarding our pleasant staff. Again, we apologize for these inconveniences and we thank you for your honest feedback. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed three nights, bedroom spacious, clean and bedding most comfortable with two king size beds. Good location for the shops, restaurants and Waikiki beach.
Excellent room service, helpful staff.
Down side being hotel very busy, queues for lift and difficulty finding empty poolside chairs.
Cost of breakfast quite high but plenty of alternative breakfast venues close to the hotel.
Good central location for exploring Honolulu,

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms on higher floors the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vuepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Aloha vuepoint and thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed your time here and we appreciate your honest feedback regarding your experience. Thank you again for sharing. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Positive feedback: Bed linen, matress and pillows were great. Room was serviced to a high standard. Location is great. Hotel lobby very inviting. View is great.
Negative feedback: Rooms look shabby, outdated and 'tired'. Unfriendly dining room staff. Pool in need of some urgent cosmetic work. WIFI did not work in rooms. Several computers in the computer lounge did not operate correctly. Breakfast is very 'ordinary'. Plumbing is poor (overflowing toilet, no water for several hours). Large amounts of mould in bathroom. Paying a 'Daily Resort Fee' is a definite rip off.
Wouldn't stay here again or recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Aloha Denise R and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We appreciate your honest and kind feedback regarding your bedding and room service, however we're quite disappointed that other aspects of our stay were less than satisfying. We truly regret to learn that you did not receive the service your deserve and expect from our dining room staff, as this is uncharacteristic of our associates who are trained to serve all of our guests with utmost aloha. We'd like our team to follow-up immediately on the Internet, computer and restroom concerns and we will send you a private message shortly requesting for your room number. Again, we apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We value your feedback, as we've shared this with our team to ensure proper follow-up and resolutions are made. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here one night at the end our 2 weeks in Hawaii. It's a decent hotel without the modern decor of competitors. You get what you pay for.
We were quite content given the zip code and proximity to the beach, restaurants and shops. We were high up which was windy but gave us a nice view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing the ocean. Hotel is perpendicular to the water so you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HermesParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Aloha HermesParis and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and after looking at the photos on the website we were greatly disappointed. We booked and confirmed online for a room with 2 double beds as we were travelling with our teenage son. Upon arriving at the hotel we checked in with no problems. We opened the door to our room to find that we had only one bed. After then returning to reception we informed them we had booked a room with 2 beds and were told there was none available. A manager was called with no solution other than to take the room or go to another hotel. We were too tired to look for another hotel (after flying in after an exhausting flight) so we accepted this room. They brought up a portable bed. The upside was the manager offered us a free dinner voucher. Overall the bed was comfortable and the view good, but this hotel is very dated and really in need of a total renovation including the lifts...very scary on occasions!
It is expensive for what you get. I don't understand why these hotels charge a "Daily Resort Fee", these items should be included in the room charge anyway.
As we are SPG members we were very disappointed with this whole experience and having stayed in many SPG hotels around the world, it changes what our expectations are of the SPG hotels in the future.

Room Tip: We would suggest you only get a room that faces Waikiki beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buzydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Aloha buzydi and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We regret to learn that your vacation with us did not meet your expectations and we are disappointed that our team did not fulfill our service delivery promise, especially to an SPG member. On occasions, the often full or nearly full capacity of our hotel can make it challenging our our rooms team to fulfill the particular requests and we truly apologize that this unfortunately occurred with your request. Thank you for sharing that the bed and room were to to your liking despite the initial challenge, which we regret not having been able to resolve immediately. We've shared your concerns with our entire management team, as review such as this one allows our managers to work with their respective teams in order to ensure excellent service is delivered. Thank you again for your time and for your continued loyalty to Starwood as an SPG member. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

After a week stay in Maui, we stopped over in Oahu and stayed 2 nights here in August. Everything was perfect. Check in was easy. The parking structure was just around the corner. Waikiki Beach was across the street. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Room was clean & bed was comfy. Slept like a baby. Had a street view/pool view. Had the buffet in the restaurant and spent a lot of money in the bar. They have the best Lava Flow!!! My husband and I are not real picky travelers, but as long time SPG members we do have specific expectations when we stay at Starwood properties or at any other hotels: outstanding service (it is easy to smile and be courteous and helpful), a safe environment, comfortable accommodations, and value for our hard earned money. Sheraton PK did not disappoint. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckcluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Aloha mckcluv2travel and thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're very happy to learn that you had a lovely vacation with us here at the PK and we truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our friendly associates. Thank you for your continued loyalty and enthusiasm for Starwood as an SPG member. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,688 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,753 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £153 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing