We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and worn out. Don't stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Old and worn out. Don't stay here.”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I've stayed at this hotel over the last several years and I'm done with it. I liked the location and the fact that most (if not all) all of the rooms have balconies. But after my most recent stay, I'm done with this property. I'm a loyal Starwood member but if I can't stay at a different affiliated property, I'll stay at the Marriott (see my review). While the actual room was OK, the bathroom was in disrepair. They should be embarrassed at charging $200+ a night for a room in that condition. I'll admit I'm terribly annoyed by resort fees, but at the very least I expect to be able to use the services provided for by the fee. I think it's "amusing" that as airlines unbundle fees and charge for those that passengers "want," hotels are bundling fees together that I do not want and make it a mandatory fee. The only "bundled" fee I cared about was the Internet access (which I can get for free because of my status at most every other Starwood property but not here). I had 3 wifi enabled devices with me, and was only able to access the Internet once in 5 days for about 30 minutes before it dropped off. But I know my devices worked (one excuse the hotel used for my inability to connect) was that I was always able to connect in the lower level public areas of the hotel. I asked the front desk for assistance at least 3 times for this and another service issue and was met with either enthusiastic offers of assistance to indifference, but it didn't matter, no service commitment was followed through on (and the one time I asked to speak to a manager he/she was not available). Literally they would promise assistance within 15 minutes and an hour later I would still be waiting in the room with no help (and no note or voicemail apologizing and offering assistance). I started my stay at the Courtyard by Marriott (because no Starwood property had availability) and wish I'd stayed there. Give this property a pass. Oh, and there are prostitutes at the southeast corner of the property in the evening near Kalakau Avenue, annoying for guests that don't want to be bothered with that attention.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, but if you do, ask for a view of Diamond Head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cadence8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Aloha cadence8 and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We regret to learn that you're most recent stay with us was less than satisfying. We apologize for the challenges you experienced with the wifi service in your room. Please know that our Starwood Waikiki Director of Technology has resolved challenges with the wifi routers in our resort. Thank you for your honest feedback regarding responsiveness and follow-through by our associates, as this allows our team to ensure proper coaching takes place to improve this area. We understand the frustration involved with the pedestrians in the surrounding area. Our hotel and our neighboring hotels unfortunately do not have jurisdiction over the public sidewalks, however our security teams work hard to ensure unregistered guests do not loiter on our properties. Again, we apologize for the less than satisfying experience. Mahalo for your time and honest feedback. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    1,446
    801
    309
    181
See reviews for
1,038
1,203
214
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Check in was very friendly and efficient. Was sent to the wrong room first but this was rectified quickly. Our room was very clean and serviced beautifully. Food at the hotel was lovely, however there were 1 or 2 not very friendly dining room staff. Actually, the service around the pool area in general was not as good as I would expect. Marsha at the Travel desk was awesome. Booked our day trips efficiently and was lovely to my children. She even took the time to give them a talk about Pearl Harbour. Thanks Marsha! You really prepared them well for that day trip! Had no problem at all getting poolside chairs and never experienced queues for the lift. Would never, ever again go to the medical centre attached to the hotel. My daughter had a throat infection and they tried to sell me antibiotics for $250!!! After a lecture from me, they returned 10 minutes later with $30 antibiotics. Disgraceful!! Bathrooms need renovating and paying a resort fee is a joke. It's in a great central location and we were very happy staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Aloha Helen E and thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us. We're happy to hear that many aspects of your vacation with us were pleasurable and we thank you for your kind notes regarding Marsha at our Tour Desk; we always enjoy hearing about our associates providing wonderful experiences. We apologize for the challenge you experienced with Straub Doctor's on Call, as we know this type of situation is not ideal. We unfortunately do not have input on their fee structure as they're a separately operating business from our hotel. Please know however that we appreciate your feedback and have shared it with the team. Mahalo and thank you for choosing the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Staff were pleasant that is it. The facilities such as the gym were a joke and the room probably resembled what I could only imagine to be a back packers retreat. Thin walls where you could hear the hair dryer from next door at 11 pm, dreaming that your wife had woken to dole her self but to realize it was coming from next door. We were that distressed we started searching for accommodation that night even though we had pre- paid for the accommodation, so our holiday was not ruined any further.

Thank God the Moana Surfrider had accommodation available.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Aloha Harry L and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We regret to learn that your stay was less than satisfactory and we apologize for the inconveniences experienced due to noise levels of neighboring rooms. We appreciate your note regarding our pleasant staff. Again, we apologize for these inconveniences and we thank you for your honest feedback. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed three nights, bedroom spacious, clean and bedding most comfortable with two king size beds. Good location for the shops, restaurants and Waikiki beach.
Excellent room service, helpful staff.
Down side being hotel very busy, queues for lift and difficulty finding empty poolside chairs.
Cost of breakfast quite high but plenty of alternative breakfast venues close to the hotel.
Good central location for exploring Honolulu,

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms on higher floors the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vuepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Aloha vuepoint and thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed your time here and we appreciate your honest feedback regarding your experience. Thank you again for sharing. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Positive feedback: Bed linen, matress and pillows were great. Room was serviced to a high standard. Location is great. Hotel lobby very inviting. View is great.
Negative feedback: Rooms look shabby, outdated and 'tired'. Unfriendly dining room staff. Pool in need of some urgent cosmetic work. WIFI did not work in rooms. Several computers in the computer lounge did not operate correctly. Breakfast is very 'ordinary'. Plumbing is poor (overflowing toilet, no water for several hours). Large amounts of mould in bathroom. Paying a 'Daily Resort Fee' is a definite rip off.
Wouldn't stay here again or recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Aloha Denise R and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We appreciate your honest and kind feedback regarding your bedding and room service, however we're quite disappointed that other aspects of our stay were less than satisfying. We truly regret to learn that you did not receive the service your deserve and expect from our dining room staff, as this is uncharacteristic of our associates who are trained to serve all of our guests with utmost aloha. We'd like our team to follow-up immediately on the Internet, computer and restroom concerns and we will send you a private message shortly requesting for your room number. Again, we apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We value your feedback, as we've shared this with our team to ensure proper follow-up and resolutions are made. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here one night at the end our 2 weeks in Hawaii. It's a decent hotel without the modern decor of competitors. You get what you pay for.
We were quite content given the zip code and proximity to the beach, restaurants and shops. We were high up which was windy but gave us a nice view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing the ocean. Hotel is perpendicular to the water so you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HermesParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Aloha HermesParis and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and after looking at the photos on the website we were greatly disappointed. We booked and confirmed online for a room with 2 double beds as we were travelling with our teenage son. Upon arriving at the hotel we checked in with no problems. We opened the door to our room to find that we had only one bed. After then returning to reception we informed them we had booked a room with 2 beds and were told there was none available. A manager was called with no solution other than to take the room or go to another hotel. We were too tired to look for another hotel (after flying in after an exhausting flight) so we accepted this room. They brought up a portable bed. The upside was the manager offered us a free dinner voucher. Overall the bed was comfortable and the view good, but this hotel is very dated and really in need of a total renovation including the lifts...very scary on occasions!
It is expensive for what you get. I don't understand why these hotels charge a "Daily Resort Fee", these items should be included in the room charge anyway.
As we are SPG members we were very disappointed with this whole experience and having stayed in many SPG hotels around the world, it changes what our expectations are of the SPG hotels in the future.

Room Tip: We would suggest you only get a room that faces Waikiki beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buzydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Aloha buzydi and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We regret to learn that your vacation with us did not meet your expectations and we are disappointed that our team did not fulfill our service delivery promise, especially to an SPG member. On occasions, the often full or nearly full capacity of our hotel can make it challenging our our rooms team to fulfill the particular requests and we truly apologize that this unfortunately occurred with your request. Thank you for sharing that the bed and room were to to your liking despite the initial challenge, which we regret not having been able to resolve immediately. We've shared your concerns with our entire management team, as review such as this one allows our managers to work with their respective teams in order to ensure excellent service is delivered. Thank you again for your time and for your continued loyalty to Starwood as an SPG member. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,820 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#49 of 84 in Honolulu
3,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Property: Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing