We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel equivalent of grandma's house.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The best description of this hotel would be something like grandma's house. Grandma's house is definitely not a trendy place, and could use a serious remodel. We actually were upgraded to a room with a great view since I am a Starwood Gold member. The bed was nice, and this was up to typical Sheraton standards. The hotel room itself was definitely dated, and there were some stains on the carpet and overall it was Well worn. It was clean. Despite some of the negatives, much like grandma's house is a place that I felt very comfortable and it was fairly welcoming. I appreciated things like the delicious pineapple samples provided 3 days a week. Some of the bell staff were quite good and helpful, too. Location is fantastic, really can't complaint at all there. Overall, we all love grandmom so we can't really hate her house.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Youngbear L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Aloha Youngbear L and thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel. We appreciate your honest comments and we're happy to learn that you enjoyed our lovely lobby activities such as the pineapple carving demonstration and tasting. We'd also like to thank you for your loyalty to Starwood as an SPG Gold. Wishing you and your family a happy holiday season. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,121 - 1,127 of 3,617 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed at the princess two nights. Old and in need of upgrade. Location is perfect. There was a strange smell in the bathroom sink. View is to die for. Central to everything. Breakfast was good as was the pool bar.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Aloha Phil A and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki. We appreciate your honest feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I always like the PK because of its location to everything. Across the street from the Moana Hotel where we always have drinks in the evening under the Banyon Tree on the Beach. Great place for 'people-watching'.

Room Tip: Best locaton is 'aft' on a floor above the 14th in the Tower because the street noise can ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billanddoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Aloha billanddoyle and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. Thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel as well as Starwood Hotels and Resorts. We're always happy to welcome you to the PK and we appreciate the time you've taken to share your many reviews of our hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I have no idea where all these " moaning minnies" have stayed , but it wasn't at the fabulous SPK Hotel we have been to FOUR times now. Never any problem at check in or check out, too busy having a shower ( to be nice and clean for the fabulous bar & wait people ) to worry about a bit of mould or a cracked tile in the bathroom. We have spent many happy hours at the pool & bar with all the staff making us feel welcome and at home. Hope we can save to come back before it gets pulled apart.

Room Tip: room 562 , corner room , great views of Waikiki nite life and the daily wedding across the street !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OPO13OPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Aloha OPO13OPO and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in February. We're very happy to learn that you enjoyed your vacation here at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani and we appreciate your kind comments about your experience with our friendly associates. We know you have many choices when choosing a hotel in Waikiki and we thank you for selecting the PK. We also hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed for 8 nights and enjoyed it! Was recommended to stay in this hotel by a friend as the location was great! We booked 3 months in advance and stayed over the valentines and Presidents' Day week.
We arrived early and we were told that we had been upgraded to a room which a ocean view, because we arrived early we were allowed to leave our bags at the luggage hold facility.
The room was pretty good and the view from the room was amazing!! (So glad we got upgraded).
We got complimentary bottles of water everyday and a gift basket on arrival which was really great as we went on day tours and didn't have to worry about buying water to take with us.
The bed was really comfy and we were able to sleep really well in it each night. The bathroom looked a bit out dated but it was clean.
The hotel does look a bit out dated and it was a bit pricey for a three star hotel but for the location we didn't mind it. It was close to the beach, buses to Ala Monana shopping centre and Honolulu, the markets and lots of eateries.
The staff were professional and always greeted you when you entered and left the premises.
Most tour buses leave from the hotel opposite (Hyatt) so it was confusing sometimes as to where we were suppose to meet but other than that it was a very enjoyable stay.
Would recommend others to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 184Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Aloha 184Emma and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're happy to learn that your vacation with us was enjoyable and that you would recommend our hotel to others. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our professional and friendly associates. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel was part of a package. The location is great because you in the middle of Waikiki Beach area. There is plenty to do outsideof hotel. Most of the common areas are open and no A/C. The restaurant on the first floor is good for breakfast but expensive. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Consearge has great suggestion for eating places outside of the hotel. Room wasclean and comfortable. The entire place was not as nice as othe Sheraton facilities that I have stayed at.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bidman1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Aloha Bidman1944 and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're happy to learn that our hotel met your expectations and we appreciate your honest feedback regarding your experience. Mahalo for chosing the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

I have written only one other review and that was to praise a great hotel in Seattle. This hotel on the other hand is well deserving of a poor review. This hotel is tired and beat up and needs a makeover. This alone is bad enough but to add insult to injury I found several of the staff to be down right rude. The only positive thing about this place is the location but there are plenty of hotels in the area and you I would advise anyone to look elsewhere. If it weren't for the fact that we spent only two nights there before heading to kona, I would have changed hotels to avoid a totally disappointing vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggiemay0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Aloha Maggiemay0407, we regret to learn about your less than satisfying experience with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We are disappointed to learn about your unpleasant experience with our associates, as our team is trained to deliver excellent service to all of our guests. Please know that we take these reviews very seriously and utilize the feedback when coaching our associates. We've sent you a private message requesting for further information regarding the unpleasant encounters. We apologize for the less than satisfying experience and we appreciate your honest feedback. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,580 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
639 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,698 reviews
Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £142 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing