We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location and facilities”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This hotel is in a great location right in the thick of things in Waikiki, near shops, restaurants, supermarket/ABC stores, buses and of course the beach. It has great facilities, we had a pool view room so could sit on the balcony with a cold drink watching the view and listening to the nightly music before going out to dinner. The pool bar is a very pleasant place to pass some time as well. The restaurant is an outside terrace, again very pleasant, meals are buffets and the service for coffee/drinks etc can be a little uneven, they always seem to be very rushed and not have quite enough staff on. The food is fine, nothing out of the box. The pool is quite large and the hotel supplies towels and beach chairs. The rooms are very comfortable, we had a twin room each bed was a double, and the room was a good size, bright and airy with good airconditioning and a reasonable size bathroom. Room has a fridge and coffee maker, TV, hairdryer, safe, iron and ironing board, so pretty much all that you need. The hotel overall is showing its age and is a little frayed around the edges, but great location and facilities make it a good stay. Been there before and with luck will be back again!

Room Tip: Personally prefer a pool view room, make sure you at least have a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diannemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Aloha diannemaven, we're happy to learn that you enjoyed a lovely vacation with us here at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel and we appreciate your kind comments regarding our location, restaurant / bar and room. We know you have many choices when selecting a hotel in Waikiki and we thank you for selecting the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    1,436
    794
    308
    179
See reviews for
1,028
1,196
213
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (723)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We are here now over the Christmas holiday. Just an ok room. The whole place is in need of a makeover which I hear ishappening next year. The breakfast buffet is completely a joke at $24.95 for basically a continental breakfast with eggs. There are a lot of other places to eat breakfast for a quarter of the price, skip the restaurant here. Also the bartender and wait staff are rude. Lots of places to spend my money in Waikiki without the attitude. (and cheaper drinks elsewhere)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Aloha Tina E and thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us. We apologize for the unpleasant encounter with our Splash Bar associates and we thank you for your honest feedback. We value your comments and we've shared this with our management team to ensure proper coaching takes place with the associates responsible for the bar / restaurant service area. Thank you again for your honest feedback. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This hotel is quite old, needs some serious renovation. A lot of things require attention, including dirty AC filters, etc. The location is good but not great; the beach is across the street, not on the beach. I would recommend this hotel only for low rates but not for quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flydrha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Aloha flydrha and thank you for taking the time so share your honest comments regarding our resort. We regret to learn that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations, and we apologize for any inconvenience this caused during your time here. Thank you again for your honest feedback. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the PK over the Christmas holiday period and were more than satisfied with everything. Yes, the hotel is in need of a refit, but that doesn't mean that the way it is now is unacceptable. Our room on the 11th floor of the tower was spacious with 2 double beds, the mattresses were comfortable and the pillows and linen of good quality. The room was clean and the airconditioner was just fine. Staff were always helpful and very willing to accommodate our requests. We first stayed at the PK 25 years ago and look forward to returning the hotel when the renovations are complete.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpio1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Aloha scorpio1955 and thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed your time here and we appreciate your kind comments regarding our helpful associates. We look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband and I are currently staying here during Christmas week while he has a short break before being deployed overseas again. This time together is very special, so we requested a partial ocean view. Our peekaboo room also happened to be above the pool and another roof (not a pretty view at all) and there is entertainment each night at the pool area ... Not mentioned to us, in which we figured out doesn't stop until 10pm! I couldn't even hear our own tv and forget about getting up in the morning for any excursions because you won't fall asleep before 10pm in our room! There are also no screen doors. You want a cool breeze..? Open the door completely. This HOTEL mimics a motel 6 but charges like a resort. You are charged a $23-25 a day... "Resort fee" which includes incredibly slow internet and 2 bottles of water. Seriously? I can get a huge bottle of water for $.99 at ABC store. It has ONE outlet in the "bed" area. We had to charge a cell phone in the bathroom. Come on!
I think there is even mold in the upper rim of the bathroom sink. This hotel is so outdated it's ridiculous. I will say the staff has been nice, but please stop calling this place a resort ....it is far from it!!

If you are looking for a place to rest your head and are traveling alone, with no cares about cleanliness, noise, or niceties ... Then you may not mind it here. If you are used to staying in a resort, don't like bumping elbows while moving about your room and want peace and quiet at night, this isn't your place.

Room Tip: The 5th floor was awful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Aloha Laura M and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We regret to learn that your time here did not meet your expectations and we apologize for our shortcomings. Thank you for sharing your honest feedback regarding the challenges faced with nightly entertainment, balcony sliding doors, restroom cleanliness and resort charge. We apologize that our entertainment schedule and resort charge inclusions were not accurately shared with you upon check-in as it typically should be communicated with the guest. Again, we apologize for our inability to deliver the experience you expect and deserve and we thank you for your feedback. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
138 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is one of the older Sheraton properties and is definitely in need of modernization. However, it is also a very good value with balcony rooms being less than $200/night. Also, there is often a promotion of getting 2 nights free when you pre-pay for 4 nights, resulting in a 6-night stay.
The location is also central is walking everywhere in the central Waikiki area.

Room Tip: The best are the corner rooms on the tower further from Diamond Head. Higher floor rooms provide a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RugglesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Aloha RugglesTravel and thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for sharing your delight in our hotel's value and location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I travel for business and am a platinum member for over 10 years and stay at many properties in the lower 48 and all over the world. I am also platinum with Marriott. Bottom line, you'd be more comfortable anywhere else or at a motel 6, than staying at this property. This hotel is in such bad shape and has been needing renovations across the board for many years now. The carpets are terrible, A/C never cold enough, popcorn ceilings, outdated furnishings, terrible mattresses, dirty bathrooms, and so on. Do yourself a favor and spend the extra 20-30 dollars or even the same rate and stay somewhere else / anywhere else. Room cleanliness is a must for me and the last 3 times I've stayed here there have been multiple issues. On top of all that, platinum members are greeted nicely at the desk for check in and amenities are just water and free wifi, big deal. Checking in/out process is always a time consuming issue and checkout is even worse if you need to get to the airport on time. Plan ahead. Ask yourself if you want to stay at a nasty hotel and maybe see the ocean, or stay at any other numerous properties with the same or better view, but much cleaner and more accommodating. A lot of properties in the area now offer live entertainment for the families. By the way, if you are platinum, good luck getting late checkouts around 3pm. Very rare and not helpful at all. Sit at the hotel for 2-3 hours or sit at the airport. You choose. Not a fun trip arriving on Christmas Day from Asia!

Room Tip: You can't. Even the suites are outdated, dirty, hot and in need of renovations. They should dem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNut342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Aloha Randy H and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We regret to learn that your vacation with us did not meet your expectations and we apologize for our shortcomings that lent to a less than pleasurable experience with us. Our team is trained to deliver excellent service in all areas of the resort and your comments regarding cleanliness are not taken lightly. We've sent you a private message requesting for the room number for the room in which you stayed, as we'd like to have our housekeeping managers follow-up with associates responsible for servicing the particular room. Unfortunately due to the high occupancy during this season, we're unable guarantee a late check-out; we know this can be frustrating for our guests and we apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. Please know that it is never our intention to cause our guests inconvenience and we truly apologize for hampering your ability to fully enjoy your vacation here in Hawaii. In regards to your suggestions for renovations, our resort is in fact scheduled for a multimillion dollar redevelopment slated to begin late next year. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our newly renovated resort in the near future. Thank you for your honest feedback. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
277 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Property: Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing