We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outdated property with staid service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outdated property with staid service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Hotels are expensive in Honolulu. Not less so the 40 years old Sheraton Princess Ka’iulano Hotel. We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks , with a 2 day break in Kauai in between.
Furnishing: The wash room is still the original equipment. Though this is still functioning good old American plumbing, is this what we should expect for a 5 star service? The same goes for the furniture in the room as a whole.
Service: The maid has been knocking on the door at 7:15 AM every morning and woke us up to see whether she could clean the room. We are on vacation, for heaven’s sake, and would not wish to get up so early! When complain about it, the customer service manager just tell us to use the “do not disturb” sign next time. Well, will there be the next time? How arrogant!
Safety: The electronic safe is not functioning in this room when we arrived. They promised to have it fixed within an hour. The Security person came and went and promised an engineer. This is the 3rd day and no sign of service yet.
The Wifi was good in the first room we stayed at. This time it has been intermittent. The technical support person Alvin from Telcel was very helpful and patient and the problem was finally resolved.
During our break in Kauai, we stayed at the brand new Marriott Courtyard resort hotel. That was a modern hotel that has met all the expectations of frequent flyers like us. What a contrast!

Room Tip: The higher floors are quieter. The music from the pool could be noisy until 8:00 Pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BPfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Aloha BPfromTO and thank you for taking the time to share your thorough review of our hotel. We regret to learn that your vacation with us did not meet your expectations and we apologize for the issues you experienced with our housekeeping and maintenance teams. We completely understand your concerns and we appreciate your honest feedback regarding your experience. Thank you again for your time. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    1,411
    776
    305
    174
See reviews for
990
1,168
212
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a 3-island trip to Hawaii. We primarily wanted to see Pearl Harbor.

LOCATION: The location was great for everything we wanted to do, and very convenient - we had a partial ocean view of Waikiki (blocked by the hotel in front of it by a block that is actually oceanfront - the Outrigger), and could easily walk to the beach and to all of the local/nearby restaurants and stores in Waikiki tourist area. It was great, especially for a brief stay and for not having rented a car for this stint. (We signed up for a Pearl Harbor tour that picked us up at another nearby hotel that we were able to walk to easily.) Note that it is not on the beach and does not have direct beach access. It is only about a block away though if you want to walk.

ROOM/HOTEL: The room was neat and servicable but very average, not high-end at all. The furniture was relatively bare-boned and the bathroom was not one I'd want in my own home, however, for our brief trip, the location mattered more, so it was fine. I would say the same about the pool - perfectly fine, but nothing luxurious.

Service was responsive and they sent us a free bottle of champagne to our room because it was our honeymoon. I did not rate value because we booked it as part of a package.

I would say that if you are used to a more average hotel and not a luxury one, you would be pleased with this hotel. If you are used to more luxurious accommodations, updated bathrooms, etc., then you may be disappointed. There was nothing actually wrong with the room, and the service was fine. I would recommend staying here if you care more about getting out and about than if you want to spend a lot of time at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here for 4 days recently and had a good time. The property was clean, the staff very helpful and pleasant. It's not the newest hotel on the block but well kept.
Our room was clean and tidy although rather noisy at times but that was not a major issue for us.
It is a very busy hotel with lots of tour groups staying and it felt a bit crowded.
Breakfast was to expensive in my opinion. We did not eat in the restaurant so we can't comment on that.
Location is handy, right across the street and you are on the bach.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ela1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is an older hotel that can use some sprucing up, but overall, we had a great stay and there are many aspects that make this hotel an excellent choice for travelers to Waikiki. It is located across the road to the beach and close to restaurants and shopping. Our room was large and bright and although somewhat dated, everything was spotlessly clean and in good working order.
We ate at the breakfast buffet daily and it was excellent. Great selection, everything fresh and delicious. But what made our stay truly enjoyable was the hotel's wonderful employees. They are very attentive, helpful, polite and hard working. They all seem like they love to make guests happy, and this applies to everybody - doorman, concierge, front desk clerks, maids, waitresses. We hope to come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quieter (Waikiki never sleeps) and some have a partial ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJZ154984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Aloha MJZ154984 and thank you for sharing your review about our hotel. We truly appreciate your honest and kind comments regarding the hotel, and we especially thank you for your overwhelming sense of aloha for our associates. We're truly among the luckiest hotels in the world to have such terrific employees and we cannot thank you enough for taking the time to acknowledge their warmth and aloha with you. Mahalo and a hui hou (thank; until we meet again)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Festus, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Loved everything about the Princess, The room was a King bed with a beautiful city view and a peek-a-boo of the ocean. Bed was very comfortable and room was net and clean. Water pressure was good and never ran out of hot water, that was nice. Service and staff very nice and friendly, helped in every way needed. pool area was great and got water and fruit service over at Waikiki beach for the hotel staff. Curb appeal was very nice with a beautiful pond with fish and flowers.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramjet21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Aloha ramjet12 and thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're so happy to learn that you loved everything about our hotel, particularly our helpful and friendly associates. Mahalo and a hui hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxwell, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

While it is true the Princess Kaiulani is aging, we were completely satisfied with our room. Sometimes older is better. There was nothing lacking in the room. Loved the balcony. Most places nowadays only have windows which will not even open. The street noise is there but it
adds to the experience. Give this place a try before they renovate!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Aloha Karen B and thank you for sharing your review with us. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed your time with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel and we appreciate your honest and kind comments. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in October of 2011. I was happy with my stay. The staff were lovely. Especially the ladies and Gents at the pool. The air con stopped working about halfway through our trip, however the concierge sent someone up within 30 minutes to fix it.

When we arrived, we were early for check in, and the check in desk offered somewhere for us to get changed so we could have a swim while we waited. They also offered to mind our suitcases whilst we went for a walk.

I was realistic in my approach to the hotel... the rates were really cheap, so I wasn't expecting a 5 star experience, but I wad nicely surprised by the service and quality of the room.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nats_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Aloha Nats_Reviews and thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding your experience and we thank you for sharing your pleasant encounters with our pool associates, concierge and bell desk. Mahalo again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Property: Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing