We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location /bad customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Good location. Price is way to much for old hotel. The part that was the most irritating is they don't make cappuccino's there, but they have a little coffee place right out front. But they won't let you sit in the open restaurant/ lobby/ pool area with your coffee without buying their 24.00 Buffett . They tell you to go to another place to drink it and there are only a couple seats. I paid to stay there I want to sit with my special coffee at a regular table... I was not taking a table away from a paying customer...

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Aloha Cabodi and thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel. We regret to learn that your experience with us was less than satisfying and we apologize that our team was not more accommodating in your request to sit at the restaurant to enjoy your coffee. We understand your frustration with this and we apologize that we did not offer an alternative option for seating, as we do have other seating areas in the lobby and near the the pool. Thank you for sharing this feedback with us; we truly appreciate your honest comments. Mahalo again for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,074 - 1,080 of 3,654 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. The first time was a much better experience. This time, the hotel seemed in dire need of a renovation. We were part of a large group, and when we arrived our rooms were not ready. We were told the rooms would be ready by early afternoon, but by 3:00, several rooms were still not ready. Many in our group felt that their rooms were not clean. On the last night there, we discovered insects in our room and requested another room. After many phone calls and visits from housekeeping, we were finally given another room. The second room was much cleaner, but still in need of updates. We travel to Oahu every 3 or 4 years. We will be looking for a new place to stay next time. Very unhappy this time around.

Room Tip: Princess tower rooms are more up to date. Higher floors on pool side have the best view. Lower flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gibb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Aloha Gibb88 and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We regret to learn that your stay was hampered by cleanliness issues and we apologize that you had to face such issues during your time here. Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your experience. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel is old, the carpets are very stained everywhere. Our sheet had a stain, at 730am I saw a chicken bone in the corner of the hallway next to the elevator and when I told the front desk about it, they asked why I didn't pick it up. In addition, the bathroom did not have a vent for circulation when showering or when using the bathroom. Unfortunatley, mold probably surrounds the restroom. Also the shower heads are made for small people because it is chest level when the water hits. My girlfriend is 5'10" and she had to bend slightly backwards to shower. It is an old hotel. For the price we paid for, it is not worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Aloha Randy C and thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel. We truly regret to learn that your experience with us was less than satisfying and we are disappointed that our team did not make the appropriate efforts to ensure your stay was more comfortable and pleasurable. We've sent you a private message requesting the room number in which you stayed so that our housekeeping manager can follow-up with the responsible area housekeeper regarding your cleanliness concerns. Thank you again for your time. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Very nice location and the chicken sandwich at the Splash Bar may be the best I ever had. The hotel needs a remodel. The rooms are a bit old but the rest of the hotel made up for it.
I had a major water leak just outside my room at 4AM. The hotel staff responded quickly and professionally. The night manager Jason was very nice and compensated me for my trouble. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antgat15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Aloha antgat15 and thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the water leak outside your room and we appreciate your sharing that our team responded quickly and professionally. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Our trips to Honolulu have been relatively frequent and we nearly always stay here because it is so centrally located.
However it has a down side. It s noisy, and tired, luckily changes are on the way this year.
Our check in process has always been relatively complex. We book six months ahead and request a certain type of room but rarely do we get it. We were offered an upgraded room with extra charges but this turned out to be not as good as the room we originally requested. With the help of one good person on the desk Andrea we managed to get what we wanted.
The room was quieter, the bed was very comfortable and the pillows the best.
The free wifi in the room was also excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms in the tall tower are better, some have sea views. We were on the city view side but had s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Aloha Helen N and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We regret to learn that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and we apologize for our shortcomings. Thank you for sharing that Andrea was able to provide the appropriate room category for you. We apologize that this was not properly sorted out prior to your arrival. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We came to Waikiki from our home here on Oahu to spend the night, and play tourist. We forgot, of course, that this is Spring Break - and the hotels are full, the crowds epic. None the less, we scored a decent rate on the Princess Kaiulani, with a nice ocean view, and a lanai. All we really need.
Now, the hotel is clean, the staff friendly, and the location perfect. There is no beach access from this hotel, but it is right across the street. The pool is small - no problem - but is closes WAYYYYY early (What's up with that? My kids wanted to play in the pool in the evening. NOT happy about that).
Also kinda bummed about the 11:00 AM check out time ... so we'll tick off another point for that.
If you are coming to visit Hawaii, these things, and the small-ish rooms probably won't mean much since you will spend most of your time on the beach or sightseeing.
For our next trip to Waikiki we will probably choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boeing767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Aloha Boeing767 and thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our friendly associates and ideal location. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by our pool closure time and check-out time. Kama'aina are typically qualify for a late check-out, however it's based upon availability, which is usually quite high during March. Unfortunately if we have guests checking-in to your same room category, it's very difficult to provide late check-outs without affecting the check-in time. Thank you again for sharing your review with us. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon November of 2013, great location we did not eat at the restaurant as it seemed kind of over priced. they give a few bottles of water everyday in the room and have refill stations which is nice. car rental across the street which was convenient. easy check in and out pool was small and did not see a hot tub (also didn't look hard)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Aloha Doug_Angela and thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed your honeymoon here at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel and we're honored to have been able to help you celebrate this special time. We look forward to welcoming you back for many anniversaries to come! Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,638 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,715 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
651 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £139 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing