We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older Hotel-Watch out for Birds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #48 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Older Hotel-Watch out for Birds”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The good thing is that this hotel is in a great location. It is definitely older and I knew that going into it. You can walk to just about anything you want in Waikiki. The bad is that it is old. But they try to do a good job of making sure it is clean. I heard it was going to be torn down. Don't know if that is true or not. Pool area is not very impressive. We had free breakfast with our stay. We were tired of eating it by the 3rd day and couldn't wait to have something else. It was not very good. The birds were extremely annoying in the restaurant/buffet area. You can't leave your plate for a few minutes to go refill your drink without a bird lurking around your plate. One of us always had to stay nearby to keep the birds away. I think it is because they feed the birds the scrap food. They are seriously annoying. All in all, I'd say it was a very average hotel. Oh...and it is pretty noisy with the traffic on the street.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Aloha Amy F and thank you for taking the time to share your experience about the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback and we apologize that our breakfast options did not fully meet your needs. We also apologize for the inconvenience caused by the birds and we can assure you that our team works to maintain the cleanliness of our outdoor dining area; toward this end, we have very strict guidelines against feeding the birds. We understand that the street level noise can become bothersome and we apologize if this hampered your stay in anyway. Thank you again for your honest comments. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    1,421
    786
    306
    177
See reviews for
1,008
1,178
213
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for 5 nights and had a fantastic stay. We had a great ocean view and view of the pool which was nice to sit out on the balcony and look at the ocean. Yes the hotel is dated and I understand it is about to be renovated, but the room was clean and there was nothing to complain about. You get what you pay for and this hotel is relatively cheap for a reason. The pool was nice and the bar and cocktails were fantastic. The hotel is right beside the beach and the main shopping/ restaurant area. I would highly recommend this hotel and really hope once it is renovated that it is still affordable!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lisa_mk333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Aloha lisa_mk333, we are so happy to learn that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding your experience and we thank you for recommending this hotel to you peers. We hope to welcoem you back again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

A very nice hotel within walking distance of Waikiki Beach. Near lots of shops & eating places. I would stay there again when in Honolulu, Hi. We would have liked to have a microwave in the room to reheat our meals.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Aloha Linda M, we're happy to learn that you enjoyed a nice stay with us here at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We appreciate your kind comments and we too hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We enjoy staying at great hotels, so staying here at the Sheraton PK was a shock to the system. By choice I would not here. With my parents traveling and being budget conscious, we caved. The Sheraton PK needs a complete retrofit. It is stuck in the 80's and frankly is a bit sad.

For a number of reasons, we would not stay again and unless on a significant budget would not recommend. It 45 years old! I think our bathroom may have been original... avocado green. Stay if rooms don't mean much to you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Aloha kph, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We regret to learn that our hotel did not meet your needs and we appreciate your honest feedback. We are currently undergoing a lobby refresh project that will enhance our public areas and bring a more modern look and feel to the property. We hope you might consider returning to enjoy the updated lobby. Mahalo again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairbanks
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Part of the Sheraton and Westin hotels in Waikiki. Excellent location and very nice staff. Room need a face lift and hope to happen in the next year. Avoid rooms in the higher tower with odd numbers. Major construction so op for pool view or Diamond Head.
. ..

Room Tip: Pool view or Diamond Head. City view overlooking major construction zone
See more room tips
Green Features: Have wonderful artisan water in the lobby that you can fill water bottles with..
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shuffleFairbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Aloha shuffleFairbanks and thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki. We also appreciate your kind comment about our friendly associates. We apologize for any inconvenience caused due to the construction at the International Marketplace. Our security team meets regularly with the contractors to ensure comments such as yours are shared and considered as the project moves forward. Again, we appreciate the time you took to share your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed will the welcome we got couldn't find our booking for two days then when found no apology or anything made us feel unwelcome didn't get the services we had paid for ie daily newspaper ect only good bits were bar staff nice and friendly and beach chairs were very good we have stayed in Sheratons all over the world don't know how they are allowed to use there name

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annderek20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Aloha annderek20 and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We regret to learn that your stay with us was less than satisfying and we apologize that your arrival experience fell short of our typical service level standards. We value this feedback and have shared it with our managers to ensure proper follow-up and coaching is done with our associates. Thank you again for your valuable feedback. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Pros-centrally located to everything in Waikikki. Excellent concierge and bell staff. View exceeded expectations--partial ocean view on 19th floor exceeded expectations with a nearly full front ocean view.
Cons-CONSTRUCTION next store started at 5am every morning, including Saturday an. Sunday and it was LOUD and woke us up each morning. Room was very dated as was most of the hotel. Pool was tiny. Lobby smelled like fish all the time because of the buffets every night.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KierstenB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Aloha KierstenB77 and thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're happy to learn that our concierge and bell staff provided the excellent service you expect and deserve. Conversely, we regret to learn that your stay was hampered by the neighboring construction. We've confirmed with the contractors on the project that the construction site opens at 7am, and heavy labor is permitted to begin at 9am. It is not uncommon, however for deliveries to be made at neighboring facilities as early as 5am. We apologize that the noise from our neighboring entities hampered your stay. Your concerns will be addressed at our weekly meetings with the International Marketplace contractors. Thank you again for your feedback. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
238 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
483 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Parc Hotel
Waikiki Parc Hotel
#35 of 84 in Honolulu
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Property: Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing