We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocked at how "old" the hotel was and how "inconsistent" the staff service could be...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #48 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Shocked at how "old" the hotel was and how "inconsistent" the staff service could be...”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Hotel: The hotel and my room looked very old. I was told by some people at the hotel that the hotel will be remodeled sometime in August. Hopefully, this is going to happen as the status it was in when I stayed there didn't, in my opinion, live up to the Sheraton name.
Staff: Extreme inconsistency when it came to the quality of staff service.
Let's talk about the good service:
My housekeeper Belinda was very thorough in her service. She was also very friendly and helpful. There was a lady at the front desk and I think her name is Erin. She was also very helpful and friendly.
The Bad: I was in line at the front desk behind two Japanese ladies waiting to be served. There were two clerks there at the time and one was assisting some other customers. The only lady who was available did not acknowledge our existence in any way. First, she was busy talking with another staff. Then she disappeared into a room, completely ignoring our presence. We were all shocked as to how she treated people. There was also another male clerk (at another time) who was very rude. Again, I couldn't believe I was staying at a Sheraton!
There was a Burger King right across the street from the hotel. But the food was very expensive. I recall a combo meal cost me about US$10. There were some other restaurants in the same shopping complex. And, of course, they cost more than Burger King.
Fortunately, there was a food court (about a 15 - 20 minute walk) from the hotel. The food was not really cheap either. If you're in a budget and want to try something local and reasonable, I would suggest going to a ABC store (there were several near the hotel) and purchased a Musubi. Some musubi comes with spam; while there are those that come with chicken etc. (Different ABC stores carry different kinds of musubi. Depending on how big your appetite is, one musubi can be a meal. You can ask the clerk at ABC to heat up the musubi for you. Also, go early as choices can be limited if you're late.
All in all, if it's not for the few "nice" employees at Sheraton, I would have given this hotel a "poor" overall rating. Hopefully, the hotel and some employees' attitudes, services... can be improved ASAP.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OregonTraveler9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Aloha OregonTraveler9999, we regret to learn that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We are disappointed to learn that our team fell short in delivering the excellent stay you expect and deserve and we apologize for the less than pleasant experiences you had during your time with us. Please know that we've shared your feedback with our managers to ensure proper coaching takes place with our associates so as to prevent any similar situations. We again apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your time and honesty. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    1,421
    786
    306
    178
See reviews for
1,009
1,178
213
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We had the chance to stay at this hotel. It is in a nice location. Close to a lot of shopping and also the many street acts at night. To me Waikiki is similar to Las Vegas with the street shows.

On some nights, there was live hawaiian music near the pool which was a nice touch. The koi ponds near the front entrance were small but nice. The kids enjoyed it. For those who are going to take tours with Roberts hawaii/ booked their trips through Costco, the bus pick up is across the street next to the Hyatt.

Unfortunately the international market closed down which was only steps away. This was a decent place to go if you wanted to shop and bargain with vendors for souvenirs and other Hawaiian goods. Similar to the swap meet or flea market.

Now for the rooms, they were a little dated. After all it IS one of the older hotels in waikiki. We had a partial ocean view facing Diamond Head and it was plenty a view from the private balcony. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and also the Royal Hawaiian shopping area almost right across the street.

Overall this hotel is decent because of its location but the rooms do need some upgrading.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Socalcajudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Aloha Socalcajudo and thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Waikiki. We understand it must have been disappointing to have the International Marketplace closed for redevelopment, and we apologize on their behalf for the inconvenience. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding your stay and we hope to welcome you back again! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is an older hotel, our room was part ocean view 27th floor. Bathroom is reminiscent of the 70's but was very clean and everything worked. Check in/out was quick, too. Room was a good size, not cramped. Their in-house dining on ground floor, Pikake Terrace is nice with good menus and service. Bar and Pool adjacent.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Great experience, Andy at arrival was hospitable, a lobby refresh that looks great and relaxes you. A resort charge that covers parking, welcome beverage, wireless access, bottle water; that's convenience and a good deal! Eddy was helpful when I called for some requests, made life easy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank LahainaLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Aloha LahainaLocal and thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about Andy and Eddy; it's always great to share these with our team! We hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had wonderful stay.
We had a partial ocean view and overlooked the pool.
Very relaxing. The street noise was loud but it didn't bother either one of us. The beds were so comfortable.Housekeeping is not great and rooms do need to be re decorated. They were doing renovations to the lobby during our stay.
We are planning on staying here again next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bretters26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Aloha bretters26 and thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us. We apologize for any inconvenience caused due to the street level noise and we also appreciate your feedback regarding the housekeeping service. Thank you for your patience and understanding while we completed our lobby refresh project. We hope to welcome you back again. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We thought this was a very nice hotel, although it was a little outdated. The rooms were a nice size, the beds were comfortable and the whole hotel was nice and clean. Its location was ideal for shopping, eating and walking the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We got an ocean view and loved it! Every room has a private balcony with table and chairs. Nice to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Aloha Jennie G. and thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki. Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our friendly associates and welcoming and clean atmosphere. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I just returned from our anniversary trip after staying a week at this hotel. We both have very mixed feelings about all of it, however its best to list out the good and the unfortunate items:

Positives:

- Location – it really is a 5 minute walk to the beach. I wouldn't even say 10 minutes…perhaps if you are really slow. The convenience and reduction of cost in not being right on the beach is well worth it, as you can even walk through the hotel across the way to get to beach if you want to.
- We had a “high tower ocean view” – floor 15. It was a nice view, unfortunately somewhat blocked by neighboring properties, but there’s not much you can do about that no matter how high you go. Balcony is large and it was relaxing to sit and see the ocean, or at night…the city lights up the hills on the other side. The “high tower ocean view” rooms fortunately do not face the neighboring properties under construction, so we lucked out.
- Room was clean and housekeeping staff did a GREAT job making up the room each day and replenishing soap, paper, water, etc. They were also friendly and greeted us each morning as we left.
- Bell staff was not especially friendly, however they were fast and accommodating. We didn't have to wait much at all for our bags, or for a cab to be hailed. They do an efficient job.
- Bed and pillows were clean and comfortable – no issues here. Bathroom was also clean with fresh towels each day.
- Fridge was decent. Wish there was a microwave, however you can get one for an extra fee. In-room safe is actually pretty large – bigger than others I’ve seen at other hotels in the past.
- Pool and outside pool bar area are nice and inviting. There is a small waterfall and koi pond…the ambiance is nice. Pool-side evening entertainment was also pleasant.
- Mandatory Resort fee includes free Wi-Fi and free parking in the adjacent garage – this is helpful and convenient.

Unfortunate Items:

- When we checked in, we were handed our room cards and a few other things, but otherwise no explanation of anything. Check-in was literally 1 minute, which included collecting payment info for the resort fee. It was only a few days later that I actually looked through the items handed to us to realize we had pool cards that would give us free towels and beach chairs as well as fruit and whatnot…so basically a nice beachside service. This was not explained to us and there’s nothing in the room letting you know about that either. So it’s up to a nice front desk clerk to let you know about that, otherwise you discover it yourself. Also apparently we had a free photo we could have had – did not know about this one either. I have only realized that by reading the reviews below.
- The hotel is under some remodeling, most noticeably in main lobby and lobby/street-level floor. During our entire stay, there were painters, people hammering, people putting tarps or drop cloths up, men busting up tile, jack hammering, etc. Pretty much anything you can think of with a standard remodel. Would have been nice to know this, as we probably might have stayed somewhere else. I don’t know why they don’t choose to do the bulk of these repairs at night, when there is little to no activity in the lobby. Furthermore, anytime we wanted to use the “Internet Café” (which otherwise was actually really cool and they have several stations with 2 printers it seems) we couldn’t, because the computers were covered or disabled in some manner so men could work in that area.
- Breakfast and Dinner buffet are a joke. I’m sorry to say that but for the price of nearly $30/person, there should be about 4 times more food put out there. Also, it’s disconcerting when there are workmen breaking up tile and pieces of tile are flying around right by the buffet items. Poor planning on this one. Who knows what is flying into the food. It was our last day and we were checking out, so I did not bother to complain on that one. There are several other restaurants around the area within a 5 minute walk that you can eat at – however most are pretty pricey as well, so be prepared.
- Front desk staff is a mixed bag – a few were nice, most were not. Only one individual was really nice and helpful, and we did not catch his name. He worked a night shift at the check-in desk and gave us good advice on things to see and where to go. Probably the only really friendly person there. Otherwise, the lady running the Travel/Tours desk is not very friendly unless you want to purchase something directly from her or the hotel. There is also a man who works the same desk – he wasn’t friendly at all. When we asked him how we could get to the North Shore part of the island he just looked at us dumbfounded and told us to use the freeway. I asked for a map and he finally gave us a really bad photocopy of one. Concierge was neither friendly nor unfriendly – we once talked to a young woman and the 2nd time, a young man. Both were just “ok”. Really made us feel like our questions were not that important, but at least they weren’t rude.
- Exterior of the hotel needs a facelift, mostly rooms not facing the street…but facing adjacent properties. You can see the deterioration of balconies/stucco and rusted railings from the outside.
- Neighboring properties on both sides are under construction. This really isn’t the fault of the Sheraton PK, it’s just unfortunate. The International Marketplace is closed and won’t open again until 2016. There’s a lot of noise and construction from that side. There is also a neighboring hotel that is completely being redone, and quite a bit of noise from that as well, and an ugly view if you’re on that side.

The sad part is, this actually could be a nice property if all this junk wasn’t going on and staff were trained to be consistent on friendliness and helpfulness. We loved the openness of the lobby into the pool area and getting that island breeze through there. I think after renovations are done…it will be a nice place to stay. Rooms are a little tired, however you spend most of your day away from the hotel and exploring the island, so who cares if the carpet is a little old and the bathroom tile is a little outdated. And I think if we had encountered more friendly staff than those who were rude, maybe we’d have a better overall opinion here….but since we don’t, we would not stay here again and would recommend others to do their research and find out what’s going on with the hotel you’re planning to book, or wait until the Sheraton PK is done with all its renovations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Desert_Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Aloha Desert_Kat and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Your very thorough review provided us with great areas of opportunity in our service delivery, and we truly appreciate this. We regret to learn that your arrival experience was lacking in terms of a full explanation of our resort charge inclusions as well as the various amenities provided to our guests. We apologize that our front desk associates did not deliver the excellent service and aloha spirit that they're trained to provide. Additionally, we apologize that our restaurant offering and your overall dining experience was hampered by the gentlemen executing our lobby refresh project. We again, apologize for this inconvenience. We do truly appreciate your fair and honest feedback regarding your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
238 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
483 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#56 of 84 in Honolulu
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Property: Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing