We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel that needs to be renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old hotel that needs to be renovated”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed here from Aug 8 to 14, 2014. The rooms are old and in need of much renovation. The grout in the bathroom tile needs to be cleaned. Overall the service and the people at this hotel were very nice. However, the rooms are just really small and old but serviceable. I would compare the quality of the rooms to probably a La Quinta Inn room or worse. This hotel is in an excellent location as it is right on the Kalakaua strip and right in the middle of that strip. From the hotel, you can walk pretty much anywhere.

Overall, this hotel is average and decent but not worthy of the Sheraton name brand.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    1,432
    788
    307
    179
See reviews for
1,020
1,183
213
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Situated across the street from the beach, this hotel is in an excellent location on Waikiki. There is also an emergency medical center inside the hotel.

It is surrounded by plenty of excellent restaurants. I wouldn't suggest using the hotel buffet as it is very expensive however the items on the regular menu are priced reasonably and are very good. The Honolulu Coffee that is located right outside the pool area is decent but very expensive (Starbucks is cheaper).

There are three towers, each with distinctively different rooms. The biggest tower at 29 floors have excellent rooms while one of the other towers have significantly smaller rooms. Rooms are clean, come with lots of towels, hair dryer and lots of pillows.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. If I needed anything, it was promptly attended to.

There was live entertainment every night. It was usually a band in the evening and a one man show with a guitar at the hotel bar towards the later hours of the evening. You could not hear this from most rooms and did not disturb in any way. I would say this entertainment is geared towards the older crowd and as such would not consider this a party hotel but better for business travelers, families and couples.

There was some construction by the hotel which disturbed some during the day however it didn`t bother me. As expected, there is street noise if you sleep with the balcony door open.

Room Tip: Choose the large, 29 floor tower or the middle tower for vacationers. I believe it is called the Kai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtdunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle Island, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

It was our fourth time back to the Princess (duiring our 25 trips from New York to Hawaii). This hotel is more reasonable than others in the Oahu Starwood family and affords a choice of various views from individual lanais. Although we love the ocean view, the pool view offers a view of nightly entertainment from the comfort of your own room (request poolview with view of the stage minus palmtrees). The hotel offers a Starwood dine-around option and parking is included in the mandatory resort fee. Rooms are comfy with a frig. Housekeeping is very friendly and helpful. The pool is a good size and the pool guy is great! (The only criticism really was that management should tell the young male lobby personnel to be alot more attentive to the needs of ALL quests...it seemed they could not be bothered to give us directions, say, to a local street two blocks away or address our other questions.) The hotel is nicely located to public transportation (we use bus passes all the time and rent a car occasionally to travel to the North Shore) and is across the street from the beach. It is near the pick up for the free HIlo Hattie shuttle and many fine restaurants and entertainment as well as shopping. The Princess is adjacent to the New International Marketplace, scheduled to open 2015. (We love Saks, but we mourn for the return of the old marketplace vendors and eateries under the old Banyan Tree that were truly a tourist delight....I quess Trump and the Outrigger have started the trend to upscale Waikiki and thus it continues; but we feel it is at the cost of Aloha!) The Princess is a place of abundant history, so ask if they still have tours of the hotel and its sister property across the street, the Moana. This hotel offers a good taste of Hawaii at a resonable price. We have stayed in dozens of hotels throughout the Islands and plan to return to this one again on one of our future trips.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaiib0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel, both times booked & paid for by my employer. Both times the rooms were very noisy & the aircon hardly worked. The bathrooms are very dated.

The second stay was for 6 nights. There was a group of 13 of us staying and it took just over 90mins from arriving to get our room cards, even though we had rung ahead from the airport around an hour before arriving at the hotel! A complimentary cocktail was "compensation" for the delay.

The room was "cleaned" daily, but that merely consisted of emptying the rubbish bin, making the beds, & changing towels. Although on 2 days only some of the towels were actually changed. We had the complimentary water & coffees re-stocked most days. Twice the cleaners attempted to enter the room prior to knocking, and both times were prior to 8:30am (not unreasonable to still be in bed at that time).

As a positive, the front-of-house staff were very friendly & the pool/bar area was good to relax in when I had the chance. Plenty of places to eat nearby & the beach is a block away.

If not for my employer making the bookings, I would not be staying here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank JRN_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Aloha JRN_NZ and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We regret to learn that your stay did not meet your expectations and we apologize for our service delivery shortfalls in regards to the check-in experience and housekeeping service. We value your feedback and will work with our associates to ensure proper care is taken when considering your comments. Our goal is to provide excellent vacations for our guests and we apologize that we failed to deliver on this during your stay. We appreciate your time and honesty. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here on our honeymoon and the budget we were on this hotel fit the bill. We had a nice high floor and were on the end, so we had great views of the ocean from our room. The walk to the beach is nonexistent (literally right across the street) so it was ideal for us and our vacation. The other hotels in our price range were down further away from the beach and honestly didn't look as nice. We were impressed with the room and the amenities. The pool isn't very large, but that didn't bother us because the ocean is just a few feet away! I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I'd request a room on a higher floor and if possible an end of hallway room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alysse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I booked a room at this hotel for a 4-day stay in Honolulu with my family, mainly because of the location, as well as the 3-star rating and beautiful photos of the hotel facilities. While the map did not lie - the location is great, the story told by the pictures was a lot less veracious. The hotel is not horrible, but my low rating reflects as much a disappointment of my expectation as the issues with the hotel.

Upon check-in we were told that our ocean-view reservation was upgraded to a handicap accessible room, which would provide a better view. The room was on the 12th floor of the western tower, facing east, with the views of the ocean, east Waikiki, Diamond Head, and the hotel courtyard, and these views were indeed spectacular. It was quite noisy - despite the 12th floor, the noise from the street traffic, the evening shows on stage in the courtyard, and the nightly performances of the street dance crew right outside the hotel measured at 77 dB on the balcony. The sliding door in the room did not do much to block the noise.

This door did not do much to block the heat either - coupled with the aging, poorly designed AC system, the room was always hot and very humid, even after running a whole night. The only modern part of the electrical system was the thermostat, which was smart enough to shut the system off while we were out of the room, so we could not leave it running to keep the room cool for when we come back, which made for a very miserable experience.

The room was quite small, and the two double beds did not leave much room for the chair and the vicker armchair, making it feel cramped. The bedding was clean and the comforters fluffy, but the pillows were not supportive at all. Both beds were slanted to one side, and the mattresses would easily slide to the side off the boxspring, making the person sleeping on the hanging-off side feel like he was about to fall off. Flat sheets, which were not long enough to wrap around the foot of the mattress, would untuck the moment we pulled out the bed covers to get into bed.

The carpets were old and grungy, and other than the view through the sliding door, which was great, the room decor would be best described as 1960s low-end - it did not look redecorated since being built. The room had a flat-screen TV, a mini-fridge, and a safe which did not work. The closet had sliding doors with paint which was beginning to peel off, and the entry door also looked a bit warped and peeling.

The real disappointment was the bathroom, which was described to us as handicap accessible. It had a warped barn-style door, with the sliding track on the outside. Because it was not straight, and had layers of peeling paint, it would not seal off the odors or the humidity of the bathroom, which incidentally has no exhaust vent. In service of accessibility, the bathtub was replaced with a plastic enclosure with a straight curtain rod running straight above the edge. With the grab bars protruding from the wall side, there was not enough shoulder room to shower without rubbing against the curtain. The bottom lip did not contain the water inside the shower enclosure, so it was running on the floor, until we thought of barricading it with the towels. The towels were thin and small, so we ended up using pool towels for showering also. The counter was old and worn out. The faucet used to be painted white, but the paint had peeled off from about half of the metal, furthering the dumpy feel of the room. The door couldn't lock, or even slide fully closed.

The building has ~30 floors (there are two other buildings which make up the hotel). It had 4 small elevators, one of which was broken for half of our stay. It was hardly surprising, as the elevators seemed in poor condition from the start, with the indicator lights burned out and not replaced (this is a former elevator engineer talking). Still, to get up we had to wait 15+ minutes to fit into the elevators, and to go down during the evening rush hour took even longer. After waiting for 20 minutes, we decided to take the stairs, only to discover that they were disgustingly dirty. We mentioned the broken elevator to the clerk at the front desk, whose reply was "Oh, really? I will see what we can do" - nothing was done during the rest of our stay.

Our hotel stay turned out to be an interesting multi-cultural experience - other than ourselves and a small contingent of Canadian soldiers on the islands for a military exercise, every other guest at the hotel seemed to be Chinese. They have a higher tolerance for being packed sausage-tight into the elevators, which you pretty much have to do even with all the elevators in service. Not being used to the high-rise living, I found the experience to be annoying, and the excruciatingly long waits to get into the elevator only raised my anxiety levels.

The lobby is clean and spacious, but open to the outside, so you feel all the humidity and heat with none of the cooling breezes of being out on the street. The staff were friendly, even if not always helpful. There was a buffet breakfast ($25) and dinner ($40-42) served in the lobby restaurant - I think normally this restaurant is operating in another part of the main floor, which was being refurbished.The main floor opens up on the courtyard, which has a fairly large pool with lounges, a poolside bar with tables, and a stage, where most nights there were live performances.

The hotel bills itself as a resort, and charges a little over $26 per day of a resort fee (including tax). This is a good value, as it covers the parking, internet, pool towels, and usage of the pool and other fitness facilities. You can also borrow a beach chair to go to the beach, which is not quite across the street, but is really close. Apparently, they also have a beachside fruit service for the hotel guests twice during the day, though we haven't experienced it. One issue is that some of these resort facilities, usage of the pool, towel exchange, beach chair rental, close very early in the evening - most nights at 7 PM, and some nights as early as 5. This means that you need to tailor your schedule to that of the hotel, rather than it being the other way around, as I feel it should be at a resort.

Despite all these gripes, the hotel is in a central location, with the street below full of high-end stores, much like Rodeo Drive. The evenings are full of energy, and the sidewalks are full of pedestrians (mostly Asians), street performers, and homeless people. There is a small stage by the beach, where there are Hawaiian-themed performances. The beaches are packed with people, and the wave-breakers make for a very calm water to wade in, save for all the people splashing. There is an ever-present swarm of surfers a few hundred yards out in the ocean, beyond the breakers.

Being in the thick of things is both a blessing and a curse - all the food establishments there, including low-priced chains like Subway, KFC, Burger King, McDonalds, carry a hefty tourist premium. Originally I thought that this was the case everywhere on the islands, but the last day we ventured to the south-east end of the island, away from the touristy areas, and discovered that the same chains were only slightly more expensive than the mainland, and significantly cheaper than Waikiki. Another issue is traffic congestion - there is a lot of it everywhere in Honolulu, and even more so in Waikiki. There is a lot of one-way streets, and the main drag has an interesting arrangement of lights, which favors pedestrians over vehicles. This makes even a seemingly short trip take a long time. While the distances are generally short, going anywhere requires you to make an arduous trek to the freeway (which has a speed limit of 35-45 mph most of the way through the city).

This hotel is good if you are after the experience of the tourist vibe, proximity to the beach, and the nighttime entertainment. On the other hand, if you are looking for rest and relaxation at a beachside resort, I would recommend you look elsewhere.

Green Features: Much like other hotels in Hawaii, the AC thermostat has a motion sensor built in, and turns off the AC when the room is unoccupied. In the case of this hotel, which has an underfperfoming AC system, this harms guests' experience, as the room stays hot and humid all the time.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PickyBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Aloha PickyBizTraveler and thank you for taking the time to share your thorough review of our hotel. We regret to learn that aspects of your stay with us did not meet your expectations and we thank you for bringing these issues and concerns to our attention. We are very sorry to hear that the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds in your room did not provide the comfort that's typical of these beds. We also apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the challenge with the AC unit and restroom door. Additionally, we understand the frustration caused by our out of service elevator and we apologize for this inconvenience, as we most certainly do not want our guests to feel uncomfortable when using our elevators. We apologize for our shortfalls which caused inconveniences experienced during your stay and we thank you for your honest feedback regarding various areas of improvement. Mahalo again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathedral City, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife took me to Hawaii in December 2010 (could not select that date) for my birthday and we used it as our honeymoon. I've stayed at the Sheraton PK several times over the years and I never get tired of this place. Staff is friendly, rooms are always great. Just about any room I've stayed in I've had a great view. But I don't go to Hawaii to stay in the rooms. The hotel is close to Dukes and the beach. After swimming in the ocean and having some sun, it's time to bar hop. Every day, we, literally, walked from Dukes all the way down to Barefoot bar at the HaleKoa, having a drink a few times along the way. One day we walked the other direction down to the Elks - hands down one of the nicest Elks lodges anywhere - we found it easier to take a bus after that day, however...it's a bit of a hike.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Property: Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing