We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, pretty good hotel..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Location, pretty good hotel..”
Reviewed 30 November 2009

First time travelling with my 9mth old and wife so this experience was a bit different, but second time to Honolulu.
Stayed in the tall tower on 16th floor with ocean view and i must say it was a great view with sun on the deck from 9am to 2-3pm. One king sized bed and a crib leaves little room left in the room but was manageable. Overall the room was clean but a bit dated. dripping faucets in the the bathroom and a motion sensor activated AC so when sleeping it can get rather hot in the room.
Live entertainment everynight betweeen 6-9 approx. could cleary hear from room was loud at times when trying to put the liitle one down.
There is a buffet style restaurant and a bar style food menu. Never ate at the buffet was 30$ per person but had the food at the bar and was approx 14$ per plate. Both are open concept with seating outdoors. The buffet breakfast is also expensive but you can opt for the take out breakfast for 10$ and they give you a container to load up what you want easily feeds 2 people.
Pool was a little on the small side but with the beach is only a short walk away so didnt bother with it.
All shopping and restaurants are easily within walking distance.
Overall i would rate this a 7.5 out of 10. Reason being that if it wasnt for the employee rate that we had we would not of stayed there.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giddy-up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    1,465
    806
    315
    182
See reviews for
1,055
1,214
216
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2009

staff are friendly and accomodating... the hotel is just walking distance to the beach, downtown outlets, souvenir stores, fine restaurants, and convenience store...

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TessP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Great location. Good service. Nice lobby and pool. Rooms however need a lot of work. They have spent money renovating the lobby but forgot the rooms, at least the one we were in. The first room we were given was next to the elevator and it was so noisy we felt we were still on the plane. We asked for a different room which we got right away and it was fine but they are definitely needing some work, especially the bathrooms. The location can't be beat though.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sobral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

My wife and I stayed for one night following our cruise. I was very dissappointed with the hotel. The rooms are old and the plumbing is not up to date, the sink in the bathroom has no "stopper" to hold water in the sink, so when shaving, I just let the water run.

The air conditioning was not working very well, so we opened the patio door to get some air when we went to bed, but a band playing somewhere below, we were on the 22nd floor, kept us awake till very late. The pillows on the bed look nice, but when you lay your head on them they go down like you just let the air out, they become flat where you head is on the pillow and the pillow curlsup on the ends. Since I have a neck problem and use two pillows all the time, the two pillows there were not equivalent to one normal pillow. I could not sleep, so I ended getting up at 3:30 Am and going outside the hotel and found some coffee at a 24 hour Burger King across the street.

The comforter on the bed is also extremely "lumpy".

WIFI is $14 a day, which is sort of expensive, since many hotels now have free WIFI in the rooms.

The location of the hotel is good, but I will not stay there again.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

I have to say that I was a little hesitant in booking this hotel after reading some of the reviews. I asked for a high ocean view room facing Diamond Head and that is what we got. All of the staff that we met were friendly and helpful. The rooms were just fine, and we didn’t feel that the hotel was dated at all. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IJustNeedABreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Stayed here Oct 28-31, 2009. The hotel is dingy, dirty and smells very moldy. The first room we checked into had a broken A/C. The tech guy who came to look at it said it would take several days before they got around to fixing it so we moved. This place is simply ready to be re-done. The bathroom was filthy and beaten up, with water coming out of the tap smelling like strong sulpher. We also could hear our neighbors really clearly and the people above us walking around.

The front desk and associated staff were very friendly and helpful.

I would not stay here again. I've stayed in MUCH nicer places in this area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpemulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights in a Deluxe High Ocean View Room on the 16th floor. We did have wonderful views of the ocean and city. However, even though we were up so high, we could hear the music from the lounge area every night from 6:30-11pm. The singing was nice, but it was difficult when we wanted to go to sleep. It was VERY loud, even with earplugs in. The way the courtyard is shaped makes the sound echo up to all of the rooms.

The service by the hotel staff was very good. The front desk staff were attentive, gave an easy check in and check out, and even the travel booking lady was helpful when we wanted to book a one-day tour. The cleaning staff were also very good and efficiently cleaned everything daily.

The rooms are very dated, but functional and useful. The bathroom tile was worn, had cracks, and the walls had little cracks, but nothing horrible. We had a private balcony, flat-screen tv, and a refrigerator, which was nice. The bed was ok in comfortability. The walls are very thin, however, so any talking by the neighbors can be heard easily.

On our last night, a loud group of people checked in next door and were laughing and screaming. I called guest services to complain, and within 2 minutes, a security guard came and knocked on our neighbor's door to tell them to quiet down. Very efficient hotel staff. The pool was big, there were 4 computers for internet access in the lobby, and the location was excellent. We were right across the street from the beach, and there were stores and shops all around.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaMartinOriginals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#50 of 84 in Honolulu
3,368 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,836 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Property: Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing