We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than our last visit here”
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Better than our last visit here”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I reviewed this hotel a year ago and did not give it the highest rating and yet, we stayed here again based on the location and pool. The room we received this time was in much better shape than the room we had last year which made the experience better and warranted a higher rating than last year. Our view was of the ocean and Diamond Head so that definitely made the room more appealing as well. Beds are comfy but no drawers to put your belongings, just shelves in the closet. While it's still ridiculously crowded, a few tactics will help make the experience better. 1) Rent the beach chairs/umbrellas - for $45, it's worth the guaranteed spot with shade and it's far less windy on the beach than poolside. 2) If you decide to sit poolside, get down to the pool by 7:30am to "save" your seats. By 8:30am, every seat is taken. 3) Eat at the hotel if you have kids 12 and under - they eat free! The location is in the heart of Waikiki so expect crowds, noise, pricey food...if you want peace and quiet, go to Ko olina or another island!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamengirlCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,234
    2,217
    843
    315
    251
See reviews for
2,032
2,057
161
470
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

we enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton in Waikiki. It is a big hotel (over 1,000 rooms) but is well run and has great amenities - we particularly appreciated the adults only infinity pool (with floating beanbags - bliss) as it was peak season so a lot of happy and noisy children around. The complex also has a range of shops and eateries, Rum Fire is great for a evening drink / bite to eat. The best aspect of the Sheraton is the location - you are right where you want to be, close to the beach and the main action of Waikiki so it makes it really easy to get around to the main attractions. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: higher up the better for a good view. we were city view but on the 15th floor so actually also had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauraarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Ever check into a hotel and feel as if you've stepped into a time warp? When you stay at the Sheraton Waikiki, it's a cross between going to New Vegas and an episode of "The Brady Bunch Goes to Honolulu. It's just festive, sports fans! Big, flashy, lots of action, shops, happy people, 70's design, tremendous location! The $25 daily resort charge covers self-parking, Internet access, bottled water, and a generous allowance for international calls. Pays for itself, especially if you don't have SPG status and have a car.

I don't have a lot to critique. The front desk staff was unfailingly courteous, the room size was well above average (probably because it was built in 1971). Whoever was responsible for the room rennovation wisely removed the standard chest of drawers and shelves along the far wall, replacing it with a generous single shelf that was outfitted with a 32 inch flatscreen. One of the end tables had enclosed within it a dorm-style refrigerator (super clever). The desk next to the bed doubled as table space for the right side of the bed and was of contemporary design, with plenty of electrical outlets (2 or 3, I think).

The wall unit air conditioner was dated, but kept you icy cold in the hot, humid weather of July. The balcony (lanai) was HUGE and easily would have fit a double bed with room to walk around. The bathroom was unremarkable, except it, like the room, was large by Western standards. I had a city view room that still allowed me a partial view of the Pacific.

This property has laundry rooms on the 5th and 18th floors, which was super for me, as I was on the 2nd week of a Pacific Rim Business trip working in an outdoor industrial environment. However, a quirk about the change machine in the laundry room was that it only took $1 dollar COINS <---(?), and the change machine was broken. Not sure of the rationale behind that move, but I'm not a whole lot of folks come in packing dollar coins. . . .

The Mai Tai Bar was generally good; nice appetizers with a Pan-Asian spin. Get your drinks during the Happy Hour. A lot of new waiters; one told me she couldn't serve me french fries after 6 pm because it wasn't on the menu from 6-8 pm. . . (must be the dreaded french fry embargo from California). You will find no better place on the beach to watch the sun set. . . .

Pool looks nice--the adult pool is likely much appreciated by those who either don't have, or chose not to bring their kids.

I was staying in a sub-standard Hilton property on the island where I was not well-treated, and gave up 4 days of triple Hilton points to be in better accomodations as a result.

Thanks for making room for me on the end of a long business trip that required a GSA rate. You have my sincers appreciation and highest recommendation to my friends and acquaintances for future stays! Cheers!

Room Tip: High Mountain View is adequate. Anything else costs you $100 extra, per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BruceLansing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I stayed in Aug 2012 with spouse and 4yr old.

Great location, bustling atmosphere with lots of people in lobby area even at 11pm, pool area is somewhat crowded, hard to get chairs by pool, infinity pool seemed a little too small although the view from the infinity pool is amazing, rooms were nice, in-room wifi was a plus (but we had bought a package that includes "resort charge").

Walking back and forth to parking tower was irritating (which is probably why some people just opt for the valet parking).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanchinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This was our 3rd trip to this resort in 8 years. A friendly staff, expensive shops. (Visit the area around the resort if you're looking for better prices on items). For drinks walk over to the Royal Hawaiian Mai Tai bar rather than the subpar pool bar they have. Too much concrete on the water front side. The fire dancer had to move the pool lounge chairs out of the way in order to perform! Two very crowded pools in which the infinity pool they allow their floats that take up too much room for the size of the pool. If you're looking for Hawaiian this is not the place. We had two connecting rooms that were nice with a view towards the Hilton Village. (The Diamond Head view is a better one to have). Oahu is a traffic nightmare to commute.

Room Tip: We are AAA members and had the breakfast package included. Room was OK. Hall ways to the rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene8001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate being able to welcome you back for a third visit and welcome you comments. We sincerely hope you will return for a fourth visit so we can personally take you for a tour around the resort to show you the Hawaiian emphasis which was a large part of our transformation. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to connecting with you on your next visit.
A hui hou,
Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wavre, Belgium
Level Contributor
144 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

we stayed one week in this hotel, staff are very professional and friendly. They offer a very interesting packages !!!!!!! (25 USD include internet, parking, one hour phone anywhere in the world, bottled water replaced daily in the room and several more small touches)
The pool with water slides is very good but too many people, not a single seat if you arrive after 9:00 am. the situation of the hotel is excellent in the middle of the most beautiful avenue in Waikiki. The room is very simple, not attractive but ok.
The beach is a few meters from the pool but very small. The pool overlooking the sea is beautiful but forbidden to children!! not very nice!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soserge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012

For out first trip to Hawaii we could not have picked a better hotel. The location was fantastic, we had no need to hire a car as we could walk, take a trolley or taxi to everything we wanted to see. My husband and I were travelling with daughter and grand-daughter and were upgraded to a corner Kai suit which was fantastic (thank-you Shereton). The staff were fantastic and couldn't be more helpful. The room was a bit old but I was aware of that before we went and knew that we were paying more for the location. After reading reviews before we went I was concerned about the chair savers at the pool but there was none of that here - mainly because the staff kept an eye on it and moved people on. We hired a cabana twice and thoroughly recommend that. The pool water was a bit cold when we were there (late May / early June) and the wind coming through between the hotels was quite strong at times. Heating the pool and building a wind break would make this hotel perfect. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Property: Sheraton Waikiki
Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing