We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, shame about the service and old room”
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely location, shame about the service and old room”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay at the Sheraton Waikiki after recommendations that the pool area is very kid friendly and of its the central location. I would agree it achieved both of these criteria, however this is where the great points stop.

Travelling with kids, we decided to opt for a Malia Suite, so we can have the extra bedroom and living area. The suites are old and unrenovated and do not live up to the standard of the Sheraton name. They also offer no kitchenette facility aside from an empty fridge, which is not really what a suite should do. The prices however have not been modified downwards to reflect the below average standard of this particular room type. Perhaps in the 1990s this room would have lived up to standard, but in 2013, peeling wall paper, bathrooms that smell of mould, no soundproofing what so ever to rooms above and next door, stained couches, carpet stains, plastic outdoor furniture, peeling paint and air-conditioning that didn't work properly, this hotel just didn't cut it for our family.

I do believe all other rooms in the hotel have been renovated as told by the maintenance staff, except for Malia so we would strongly avoid this room type till it has been done up or if it gets renovated, or even better, given to you at bargain prices. Perhaps adjoining rooms would've been a better option?

Upon asking the reception, if there were any other rooms choices, we were told flatly, the hotel was at capacity and there was nothing that could be done at all. They also had the cheek to tell us that the "soft furnishings" had been updated - I don't think so, who are they kidding?!

We found this hotel to be very large and very impersonal. The pool is super busy and there are many people that can use it easily with access from the beach and public areas, without any reprimand or control as the access from the beach is not locked or controlled by a key. Some points of control at the gates would make the pool much safer for kids and adults alike and more family friend, because there are a lot of dodgy types that wonder through along the path to take a short cut to the adult infinity pool after lunch hour, and not much staff to really police it!

There was only one waitress who covered the pool area for drinks and food the whole 7 days we were there. Poor thing just couldn't keep up. I really think they could afford another. Food choices on the pool menu are super limited and unhealthy. They even ran out of fresh towels on three of the seven days just after lunch! The two water stations were empty around the pool by lunchtime and never refilled.

Rumfire is good for drinks, but doesn't offer a huge food choice. There is a smelly mini mart that caters only to the Japanese downstairs, so avoid it as it is a purely Asian mini mart and just head to the ABC in the Royal Hawaiian centre outside. You're much better off exploring the Waikiki strip for food options rather than in house. Il Luppino (Italian restaurant just outside on the driveway is also average (see my separate review). The Japanese restaurant was closed for renovation.

Next time, I'd go back to the Moana, much nicer, great Beachhouse restaurant, and similar $ spent to stay in the rooms. Skip the pool, the beach is great enough. Even the Trump had comparable rooms prices and we nearly moved out on day 2, had it not been for unsettling our younger family again, and their rooms are new and clean and the service in their restaurant is outstanding.

So families beware!!! We travelled in July, so unless you travel in shoulder season or off season, where hotels like this are not at capacity and service levels would be substantially different, I would not return here.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 2angelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your recent experience with us. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay and have shared your feedback with our management team. Your comments are very important to us, we are always looking for ways to improve our guests' experience. Thank you and we hope you will reconsider staying with us on your next Hawaiian holiday. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,284
    2,256
    861
    324
    257
See reviews for
2,081
2,100
165
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel, great location. Few steps from the Main Street at the touristic zone. Only I didn't like is that I had to pay like 30 dollar per day more for staying at the hotel to get some amenities that I didn't request. But other than that it really was a great hotel. The conserges at the hotel very helpfull people. The restaurant at the hotel, good. The infinity pool really nice, comfortable.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and apologize if there was any confusion regarding the resort fee prior to booking. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our restaurants, infinity pool and concierge staff. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This perfectly located hotel is right on the far western end of Waikiki beach, with its own private section.
The hotel itself is fabulous. There are numerous shops, ranging from supermarkets to jewellery shops. The rooms have a lot of empty space in them, while a contrasting small bathroom accompanies. The sink is also very small with very little space around. Be warned that if you have a city room view, you will in fact be looking at a car park or another hotel. The balconies are of a reasonable size, although they do not have a light, which would've been extremely useful.
I believe that the state laws in Hawaii are quite strict on ID, so therefore you WILL be asked for ID at the supermarket in the hotel if you are purchasing tobacco or alcohol, regardless of your age.
The poolside area is very good. There are two pools, one for over 16s only, which is an infinity pool, and one for families, which accommodates a slide and two Jacuzzi baths. The staff are very strict on the reservation of sunbeds and will take off the towels of unoccupied beds of more than 2 hours. Believe me, they do monitor this strictly.
The wifi is free under the resort charge, but when selecting quantity, this is referring to the number of days you wish to use it, so choose wisely.
Great location and will never forget it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tromanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Aloha and thank you for your recent review of our resort. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your fantastic comments. We hope to welcome you back on your next Hawaiian vacation. Mahalo and a hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This grand lady encompasses everything you might hope for when visiting Honolulu and staying in a four to five star hotel. Make no mistake it caters for the urban seeking holiday maker in every aspect. It has been refurbished constantly over the years and has everything you would expect and enjoy during one's stay. Ocean view rooms are the most desirable, particularly in the East Wing looking toward Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. Yes, it is bustling with guests empting out of twelve no delay elevators, but people watching is just another attraction. The hotel itself offers little when it comes to a la carte food; but rather concentrates on comfort cuisine for breakfast, around the pools and the entertainment lounge. However, situated closely outside the hotel are any number of restaurants offering whatever you might desire.The position re beach life is great and the Infinity Pool very popular. Long waiting to check in is a draw back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side, particularly above the 12th floor facing Diamond Head are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your recent experience with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and absolutely loved your pictures. We are working on a solution to the potentially long lines at the front desk. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian holiday. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marengo, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Everyone has to do Hawaii at least once in your life. Can`t even put into words the beauty. Do a rental car and just drive and see all the beaches they are unbelieveably gorgeous. We have veggie stands here in Ohio but, there you can stop along the road and get fresh fruit. Think of a fruit and it is there all cut and wrapped for you to start eating and the taste is so good. Places to eat is many. Our hotel faced the beach an ocean the sun rise&set BEAUTIFUL. Alot of surfers on the Waikiki Beach. If you can do a 7day curise and go from Island to Island they are all so breath taking.Kona I thought for the boat to stop at was the prettiest for it sets right on the ocean.We were there when the Strong Man Contest was going on. There was man painting canvas paintings on the beach you could buy. Many stars have homes there.We saw the coffee plants growing , pineapple fields(not to many for most of pineapple is grown eles where & sorry I can`t remember.)On Honolulu drive to North side of island where they film the surfers you won`t believe the height of the waves. Ladies there is a sm.town there and the shops are a must.
We were there 10/2007 and are going back!! We also zipped lined over a deep valley and over the tops of trees and rivers below this is a must also you will be very high above the ground but, oh so worth it and so much fun.

Room Tip: Make sure you can see the ocean and have a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAKES1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Aloha and thank you for such wonderful comments about our islands. We are delighted you enjoyed your view and look forward to welcoming you back soon. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Hotel very dirty. Hair everywhere in the bathroom, in the lanai. The room's walls dirty, marked and just simply not worth the high rate. In the hallway, we noticed a corner which began with a couple of dirty dishes, one which was a "Happy Birthday" dish and by the sixth day it was still there and then an additional 8 or 9! Each dy, we remarked what terrible cleanliness this proved. With this kind of lack of attention, and cleanliness rodens, roaches are usually what is around. Vet bad. This hotel needs deep cleaning, there was filth that we removed with a bath towel in the room and the bath tub. Front desk staff and manager not very helpful and took comments personally. The Concierge staff needs training. The location is great, and the infinity pool lovely. Overall, I would choose another hotel before staying there. There are plenty of options in Waikiki which would be highly regarded. This was a quick decision. The Park Waikiki Hotel is nearby and is modern, and great.

Room Tip: Royal Hawai'ian next door so beautiful and clean. Also, the Park Waikiki is very nice, we have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Explorerrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are very sorry to learn about your disappointing experience and we have shared your feedback with our entire management team. We would greatly appreciate connecting with you so we may properly follow up. Thank you again. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I just got back from my vacation in Hawaii! It was so beautiful! I did extensive reviewing before choosing this hotel, I feel that if you read the reviews as a whole you will get a good generalized picture. I don't have unrealistic expectations based on that.

Check in- easy, fast and informative. They had read our preferences and we able to accommodate. We paid for the mountain view but it was great that we got a partial ocean view too! We specified it was our anniversary celebration and we got a voucher for a bag that you redeem at their gift shop for whatever fits in the bag! Nice touch! We were able to fit a bottle of wine, champagne and some candy in our bags. All free. It was a nice touch to pick what we wanted.


Room- we had a mountain view but could definitely see the ocean too which was great. The balcony was a great size for 2 chairs and table they provided. We had a king size bed and we were on the 27th floor. The elevators were really fast. Hardly any waiting. The room had a small fridge. The room was cleaned by noon each day. Never had to ask for replenishments. I will agree that it was an average room but not dingy by any means. The walls were thin however. We were able to hear a baby cry in the room next door a few times at night. The light that people were talking about under the door was easily fixed by placing a towel to help block light.

Check out. - easy just checked out with our remote on our tv and were able to review our purchases easily. It's a $31 per day amenity fee. Just get over it and pay it. :)

Amenities- the infinity pool was nice. Just realize it is small but people are able to space themselves out well. We didn't go to the pool until afternoon but were able to find a spot in the back. We just waiting until a float was available. Didn't take long. We had appetizers at rum fire on day. Prompt service. The appetizers weren't great but we did utilize our free drink ticket on arrival. We did check out rum fire for after dinner drinks one night. Had a good dj and drink service wasn't too slow once we had a seat. Only problem is that they close early. :) other pools were geared to families and has more seating. Good beach by neighboring sister hotel.
Wifi worked well for us. Was able to have a good connection speed to FaceTime our son and that was our biggest concern ahead of time. They had a faster connection you could pay more for. But we didn't need it.
Location-
Excellent. You could not get a better location. You are about 1/2 way on Waikiki so you can walk or cab it pretty quickly. Shopping is right there and food too. Easy walk to both. We did meals off the property and were satisfied as to how close we could walk to everything.

Cons- it felt full and busy downstairs Lots of Asian tourists that didn't have the same relaxing "I'm on vacation vibe" very pushy in walk ways

Overall impression- relax. You are on vacation. Location Great. If you are going with kids I might lean towards Hilton Hawaiian. Our friends were there at the same time and stayed there. For couples I really liked this sheraton better. We were actually taking this vacation without our toddler and found this hotel great for couples, adults. Perfect for this vacation. Everyone from the staff was great and helpful. Would I go there again. Yes.

Room Tip: 27th floor mountain view had a good partial view of ocean and avoided street noises by high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steph4stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your wonderful and detailed review. We are thrilled you chose to spend your anniversary here and enjoyed your experience with us. Your feedback and comments are very helpful to us. Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back i the future. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,013 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Property: Sheraton Waikiki
Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing