We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I recently completed a 6 night stay with vacation with my family. This was the perfect hotel.

I am Platinum SPG and I booked with points, so I didn't pay anything other than the resort fee, which is quite steep... but in perspective ~$30 a day for a $600/night room is a good deal.

Using the SPG Gold/Platinum check-in was very quick and painless. It took less than 5 minutes to check in.

The lobby and shops area was immaculate with the unmistakable Sheraton smell. I must say it was quite strange to smell the same scent in Hawaii as I do in Warsaw, Poland!

I never had any problems with the elevator wait time, as I have read here (or maybe on Flyer Talk).

The one area that is lacking, and I find it very hard to complain about since I was upgraded, is the Malia suite. The layout was perfect, the view was amazing, at >800 sqft, it was enormous... but it is in desperate need of refurbishment. The paint is peeling, the carpets are a little grungy, the bathroom just plain and the bath tub had some mildew (not bad, or dirty, just what your own bathroom would look like after 20 years of neglect). It was clean enough to give our 3 year old a bath.

I can't complain, like I said, it was a free upgrade... but if I was paying $600 - $700 a night for the room, I would not be very happy.

We didn't eat at any of the restaurants on site so no comment there, but the Peet's coffee on site is very good. And the convenience store is also helpful, but they don't take room charges... strange. Also there is an odd odor emanating from the store... I am not quite sure what it is but it smells like boiling cabbage.

The family pool is the perfect size. I never noticed it to be over crowded, but it was difficult to get a chair some days. Also it said it was only open from dawn to dusk, but we swam after dark and noticed others as well. The staff did not say anything to us. As we had the kid with us, we did not try the infinity adults only pool, but it actually looks smaller and more crowded than the family pool.

Beach access was great (make sure you go to the smaller beach (to the right when walking towards the ocean... much less crowded). The vendors renting chairs and umbrellas though are quite rude. If you do want to rent a chair or umbrella, make sure you do it early or the day before.

SPG -- I spent over 50 nights at Sheraton Warsaw last year so I have platinum status. I was recognized and thanked (I am not TOO much of a DYKWIA snob eith travel statuses) which was nice. I was always helped immediately at the front desk. One thing lacking, and I will bring up with SPG, is the lack of an alternate platinum amenity (look it up on flyer talk if you nd to know what that is). I was told it was the bag that you can fill at the gift shop... but everyone seemed to get one. Like I said I will call the platinum concierge line and see what is up with that.

Oh, and the lounge was GREAT. Great view, perfect breakfasts, free beer in the evening and even managed to make a dinner of the evening appetizers one night.

Overall a GREAT stay. I would definitely come back, and someday may do just that.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TommyK3769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Aloha and mahalo for sharing your wonderful experience with us. As a valued Platinum member we truly appreciate your great feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently finalizing the details for refreshing our Malia suites and hope to get started on them soon. We are happy you enjoyed Lawson Station (the convenience store in our lobby) and apologize for any inconvenience caused by not being able to room charge your purchased there, unfortunately they are a completely separate company and we are unable to do room charges. Thank you again for your thoughtful review and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Czesc as they say in Warsaw or a hui hou we say.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,234 - 2,240 of 6,260 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was our 4th Christmas at Sheraton Waikiki. The main reason we keep coming back is probably the infinity pool and the location. Sometimes in the past we heard a bit of banging from other rooms but this time our room on 28th floor was quiet and stunning view of Diamond Head. We always rent infinity pool & beach chairs for our 2 week stay which can get confusing but this time Ryan was very helpful, friendly and sorted everything out for us. Had a little trouble with room internet for the first time however this was finally sorted out by front office too which was a relief.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frostles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Aloha and thank you for your wonderful review of our resort. We are very happy to hear you had another great stay and how helpful Ryan was at the infinity pool. We apologize for the inconvenience with the internet but we are happy everything got sorted out to your satisfaction. We are delighted you chose to spend Christmas with us for the 4th time and look forward to welcoming you back for a 5th. Cheers and a hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Pros:
- Great location, right on Waikiki beach, tons of little shops and restaurants nearby so you'll always have something to do
- Excellent customer service (especially Allison!!) We almost had to pay an extra $110 a night because we had 4 people and one room and didn't realize there was a 2 person per room max (unless under 18). Allison was able to sort things out and get the manager to drop the cost and even gave us some free drink passes and two welcome bags (they give you a bag that you get to fill to the top with whatever goodies you want) instead of one.
- Really nice pools- infinity pool with drinks right overlooking the ocean for the adults, another pool more for the kids with a water slide and palm trees, two jacuzzis as well.
- Couldn't beat the review (we stayed in an ocean front room on the 23rd floor)
- Fun activities to participate in (for free)- great for kids and something to do in between your planned activities (we made leis!!)


What to keep in mind (cons):
- This hotel is pricy, make sure you read the fine print because there are a lot of hidden fees (extra $110 per person a night to use existing beds if you have more than 2 to a room- additional almost $100 per day in resort fees and cleaning fees)
- There are a LOT of japanese tourists in this hotel
- No free breakfast

Room Tip: Definitely opt for an ocean view room.. worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tawnisagrafena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed your view, our pools, and the service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian vacation. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here for a night with my stepdaughter when we came over from Maui to see The Lion King. Staff were very friendly and accomodating, they even upgraded us to an Ocean View room! The view was spectacular! Rooms very clean and very quiet. We ate both at RumFire and the Edge and the service and food was great. We really enjoyed the infinity pool and Calvin the Water Aerobics instuctor! It was a fun night away and everyone took great care of us. Mahalo Sheraton Waikiki we wil be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daleyocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Aloha and mahalo for sharing your recent experience with us. We are always thrilled to receive such wonderful feedback from our kamaaina guests. We are delighted you enjoyed your brief stay and hope you enjoyed the show. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Oahu. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Aloha!
We come to oahu 3-4 times a year from maui on business. This time was business and also pleasure.
This time I proposed to my soon to be wife and Ryan in the photo area took our pictures of this event. He was amazing. Also Brett in the pool area took great care of us both days that we rented a cabana. Will be back and will ask for Ryan and Brett again!!!
Mahalo nui!
Jonni and Michelle

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jonni E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Aloha Jonni and Michelle,
Congratulations on your recent engagement. We are thrilled you two enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo and a hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Great location with wonderful lounges for watching sunsets. The pools are very nice, but terrace gets crowded. The room itself was a bit worn- marks on wall, very dusty wall sconce, very dated shower- nothing horrible, just small details. Would probably try over at the Royal Hawaiian if you are very picky, but all in all a solid choice.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Aloha and thank you for your recent review of our resort. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and appreciate your feedback about our guest rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian vacation. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Sheraton has absolutely the best view of a Waikiki sunset from their vanishing edge pool. The pool sits above the beach walk and you can enjoy the view with a delicious cocktail in hand. Yummy! Rum Fire is the on site lounge and is very nice. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The shops are interesting, especially the chocolate shop with the mermaids and merman ornaments. The rooms are not special but the location makes up for it. Not only are you right on the beach, the main drag with all the shops and restaurants is a short block away to keep you entertained.

Room Tip: High ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParrotHead92064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Aloha and thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and value your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian vacation. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,219 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £255 - £486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing