We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT POSITION BUT NEEDS WORK”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Inverloch
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT POSITION BUT NEEDS WORK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Recently stayed at Sheraton Waikiki great position close to all restaurants and all the shopping one should need the resort itself has quiet good facilities with two pools overlooking the beach indoor and outdoor eating plus a night club for the younger ones.
The rooms are comfortable and clean but the bathrooms are very small in all probably a little bit out dated and in need of a bit of tender loving care all in all location is the key.
Cheers BRUCE

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keyhole7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed our great position and facilities. We appreciate your feedback and have recently started a guest room enhancement project to address your concerns. We look forward to welcoming you back next time business brings you to Waikiki. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,220
    2,199
    832
    310
    249
See reviews for
2,011
2,037
161
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Currently staying at the Sheraton as a family of 4. This is our third trip and we've previously been unable to fault the hotel. This time we've found the pool staff so rude that my daughter is almost frightened to swim incase she gets into trouble. So many rules... No large floating aides, my eight year old needs to wear a floaty to go on the slide (which she refuses to do and thus hasn't been on it even though she is a more competent swimmer than half the adults in the pool), no tumbling, no sitting on the rocks, the list goes on... Feel like the staff are glaring at you all the time waiting to pounce rather than making you feel welcome. I understand that their job is to keep guests safe but they way they are speaking to guests and even children is unacceptable. On previous visits at the Sheraton we've made friends with the pool staff and even socialised with them. Not sure what's happened?!?! They seem very unhappy. We paid for this hotel purely because of the pool facilities but it seems it's been a waste of money this time. We will try elsewhere next time.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for any rudeness from our pool staff and take your feedback very seriously. We have shared you comments with the pool manager and hotel manager so they can immediately follow up with the team. We hope you will contact us directly at 377GuestExperienceTeam@Sheraton.com so we can properly follow up with you. Thank you and we look forward to connecting with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I have been to Oahu (specifically, the Waikiki area) several times over the last five years for friends' weddings as well as vacations. We stayed at other hotels on each of those trips, but each time we were there, we often wandered through the Sheraton to shop in the stores in the lobby or grab a drink poolside. We noticed how fun and modern the lobby looked, the great location as it steps away from the beach as well as restaurants/shopping, and were drawn in by the infinity pool. So when we went back this past April, we thought we'd finally book a room at the Sheraton for our stay. While our stay was pleasant enough, it fell below our expectations.

The positives:
1) Checking in and out went pretty quickly;
2) the hotel staff was friendly and efficient, especially at the valet desk;
3) although we had booked a city view, the position of our room allowed for a really lovely partial ocean view, so that was a nice surprise;
4) the room was spacious, and the bed was comfortable;
5) the Rum Fire outside patio is an awesome spot for a drink while enjoying the ocean view; and,
6) the location really is convenient if you want to be in the main Waikiki area - we were able to walk to main shopping and dining areas within minutes.

The negatives:
1) the bathroom was very small, dated, and did not seem clean - the bathtub seemed grimy and sticky;
2) although we had a non-smoking room, that seemed to be negated by other rooms on our floor which allowed smoking - the hallway, especially, smelled like stale cigarette smoke;
3) it's a battle to get on an elevator in the main lobby. B/c it's such a huge hotel, there always seemed to be at least 20 people trying to get on an elevator at any time of day, and everyone runs to catch it. If you're lucky enough to make it on, you're squashed in there for the whole ride, which can be incredibly long depending on how many floors you stop at since there are no express elevators for certain sets of floors (for example, one elevator bank that goes from floors 1-10, another set of elevators that go from 11-20, etc.); and,
4) while the infinity pool and larger family pool are nice, they are definitely no reason to decide to stay here over any other hotel - the pool area, especially by the infinity pool, gets crowded very early. My husband and I went down around 9 a.m., and 80% of lounge chairs were taken (the other 20% were filled by the time we left an hour later) although considering the number of people that were actually in the pool area, I suspect people were dropping off their stuff to "claim" a chair for the morning, and then leaving the area, which is pretty frustrating. I think the pool staff might keep an eye for that, and move things that are unattended after a couple hours, but that doesn't really seem to help.


Overall, this is a completely fine hotel in terms of the services that are offered and room quality, but it's hard to justify the high cost (around $300 per night for just a basic room plus resort fees) of this hotel for just an "okay" experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank castilrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are very happy you enjoyed your room, view, check in experience, Rumfire, location, most of all our associates. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced with accessing elevators or pool chairs and we are looking into solutions to make each more efficient. We are very concerned about the condition of the bathroom in your room as well as the smoking issue you noting since we have not allowed smoking more more than a year. We have shared your feedback with our management team. Thank you and a hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta,ga
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Sheraton Waikiki twice. Both times the accommodations and service surpassed my expectations.

The rooms are quiet, clean and spacious. The location is perfect to the places of interests that I liked.

There's a Denny, Margaritaville and lots of shopping in walking distance. The concierge staff is friendly and helpful.

I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agriffin4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are delighted to have surpassed your expectations on both of your stays with us. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian vacation. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our 3rd stay at the Sheraton Waikiki. The property is beautiful as usual and a great location. Check-in was ok, just a bit of a wait, but our oceanfront room was ready.
We mainly used the bigger family pool with waterslide as we had our kids with us - they really enjoyed it.
Restaurant was good and we enjoyed the breakfats buffet.
The only big disappointment was the room itself. Tired looking and very basic for a 5 star beachfront property. There is a big gap at the bottom of the room door. The walls were basic white and the bathroom looked old and needing renovations. Like I said this was our 3rd trip and don't recall being this disappointed in the rooms - maybe these were older than the previous ones? Regardless we stayed our 3 nights as we coul dnot get a room change.

Bottom line, it seems like all money is going into making the property and all it's amenities top notch - which it was. Perhaps some of this money can go to renovating the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YEG111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Aloha and thank you for your recent review. As a valued returning guest we truly appreciate your feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed another great stay with us. We have recently begun a guest room enhancement project and look forward to welcoming you back and hearing your thoughts on the updates. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Really couldn't ask for much more, great location, beautiful views, walking distance to all Waikiki has to offer. What really made our trip was one of the employees that works poolside. Filippo is the guy to see and to take care of all your needs! Super friendly and attentive, you want for nothing when he's on duty, thanks for making our poolside days so enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenjb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your great feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience. Thank you for your wonderful comments about Filippo, we are very fortunate to have a fantastic staff. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The check-in was quite smooth and the added touch of a complimentary snack bag was appreciated. The view was breathtaking since we were right at the beach (including the infinity pool) and the Diamond Head on the left. It did get loud during the night because of the entertainment since we like to sleep around 9-10 pm. I did appreciate the Hawaiian entertainment every night more than the loud music of the club.

The room itself was clean with enough space to unpack. The concierge was helpful with recommendations and bookings. Lastly, the location was central and close to the bus stop, restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnkrissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiina vacation. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Property: Sheraton Waikiki
Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing