We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Great Location, Have Stayed Multiple Times!”
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Great Location, Have Stayed Multiple Times!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I'm a huge fan of the Sheraton Waikiki, having stayed here many times in the past 15 years, and having attended many events here! The rooms are clean and modern, the beds are comfortable, the staff is friendly and helpful, and there's tons to do right in the hotel, from great restaurants like Rum Fire to the gorgeous infiniti pool.

You can't beat the location in Waikiki either, as this hotel is right smack in the middle of the main strip, right in the middle of shopping and restaurants, close to the zoo and aquarium and right on the beach.

If you're planning a wedding, event or conference, the ballrooms are clean, beautiful and spacious, and are well away from the hustle and bustle of everything on the first floor so they're quiet and private. I just attended an Aloha United Way luncheon here last week and the catered food at the venue was DELICIOUS!

Great hotel!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your wonderful comments about our resort. We are always thrilled to receive such great feedback from our kamaaina guests. We really appreciate your loyalty over the past 15 years and your continued support of Aloha United Way. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,287
    2,258
    863
    324
    257
See reviews for
2,084
2,102
165
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have stayed in a local B&B, an apartment and now the Sheraton and I must admit although a small hotel room the location was fabulous. The 14th flr with a deck overlooking the beach was wonderful to watch the surfers catching the rolling waves in the bay. So relaxing. Apple is a few doors down and just enough time to retrieve the emails as you walk by the store. Although we hired a car and drove around the island, really, there is enough to occupy you for a few days just staying local. We are from Queensland so the other beaches are no different to ours, my advice, stay local enjoy the atmosphere and don't spend a whole day in the car. Give the Polynesian Centre the big swerve it's a long long way and dull dull dull. Watch the long board hire, they don't wax the boards and it's a long way to paddle unless you are fit and used to riding a board.

Room Tip: Ask for an elevated view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are very happy you enjoyed our location and the view from your room. We appreciate your great tips and totally agree with you. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian holiday. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed 5 nights in April and generally enjoyed the hotel, however my 4 year old son was scared of a pool staff member (a grumpy girl) and wouldn't go on the slide if she was supervising it as she wasn't very friendly to the children. It was also strange that our son was forced to wear a floatation device to use the slide when he was able to swim laps of the pool without assistance. I found the rules on towel use and wearing arm bands around the pool were inconsistent and i got told different things on different days. The pool staff were a bit rude frankly.

The location of the hotel is good and we are still considering whether to return or try somewhere else when we come back in 2 weeks.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Springstreet77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your recent feedback. We apologize for any rudeness you and your family experienced at our pool areas. We take your feedback very seriously and have shared your comments with our pool management team so they can address the issues with their team immediately. We hope to welcome you back soon. Please email us directly if you have any concerns. Mahalo and a hui hou. 377GuestExperienceTeam@Sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just spent a few days at the Sheraton Waikiki. I hadn't been back to Honolulu for many years but I was really impressed with the hotel. The service is excellent, the food and drinks at both Rum Fire and the Kai Market are good, the rooms are large and comfortable, and the pools are fantastic. Beautiful views of Diamond Head make for a really nice experience. The Gift bag amenity you can fill yourself is really a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Aloha and thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Mahalo for your feedback about our restaurants and resort. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian vacation. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Love the Sheraton Waikiki it's truly one of the best hotels you can stay at in Waikiki. The Edge pool is absolutely the best because it has a negative edge and overlooks the beach. They have a few good restaurants in the hotel but nothing 5 star, the concierge is extremely helpful with booking your adventures and there are a lot of convenient shops right inside the hotel. Worth the price based on the rooms, location and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellibaresall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your great comments about our infinity pool, concierge, and rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here for several days in April 2014. Very clean and well laid out, this is a top-notch hotel. However with that, know you're going to pay through the nose for everything, and the mandatory hidden $35 per day "convenience fee" added to your bill for parking and "amenities" (none of which I used at all) is really lame. I argued this (Hotels.com or others never mentioned this hidden charge) and they gave me a bunch of mai-tai coupons but nothing close to the extra $140 they tagged on my Visa for 4 days.

Rooms are clean and well appointed, Rumfire bar is situated perfectly to take in the breeze and people-watch for hours. NOTE: They just changed policy where you just use your room key for a towel, no more towel cards. You'll do a lot of walking...hotel is a good walk from main streets and related shopping. But advantage is you're right on the water.

I'd recommend this place to all ages, but bring a ton of money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blbpdsusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are very happy you had a very nice experience staying with us and appreciate your great feedback about our rooms and Rumfire. We apologize for any misunderstandings with our resort fee, we make every effort to have our resort fee clearly listed on our site and all partner sites. On Hotels.com you can find the information listed in the area "Sheraton Waikiki's Small Print" on our listing page as well as the "Your Reservation Summary" area of the booking page. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just come back from one of the best holidays we've ever had as a family. We stayed at the Sheraton Waikiki on Waikiki beach and from the minute we walked into the hotel to the minute we left, we were impressed.

We carried out the standard reviews on Trip Advisor about hotels and were a little torn between the Sheraton and the Hilton, but boy, am I glad I chose the Sheraton!!!!!

Our first encounter of the standard room we had booked was a little under whelming, although we knew what were were in for when we booked. A family of 4 living in a standard room was going to be tight!!!! However after checking in and dropping the bags, I approached the check in desk and was met by Christine (Chris) and Summer who really made our holiday come to life.

Chris managed to get us a great deal on a large family ocean view room on the 29th floor (room 2965) , which to us was just as good as a suite and Summer sorted our access to the Club Lounge on the 30th floor. Upon reviewing some of the hotels in Waikiki, I was split between the Sheraton and the Hilton and after visiting the Hilton, We're so happy we went for the Sheraton.

The whole hotel is beautiful, the kids adored the pool and slide as I did and the infinity pool was a hit with my teenage daughters. The beach , the vicinity to all the shops was perfect.

I would also add that coming from Sydney we were advised that some of the prices for food/gifts/clothing was a little pricey...well, we must have gone during the sales, cos everything was cheaper than Sydney prices. Food, clothing, taxi's etc were all reasonable priced.

All in all, a fantastic holiday, made even better by the Sheraton Hotel and of course Chris and Summer.

Room Tip: Opt for the Club Lounge, well worth it. Try and get room 2965 if you're travelling as a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed such a great holiday. Thank you for your feedback and comments about Chris and Summer, we are very happy they were able to make such a difference in your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian holiday and a hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,020 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Property: Sheraton Waikiki
Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing