We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would stay here for the pool alone”
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“We would stay here for the pool alone”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Great location on the beach with an amazing infinity pool and floating bean bags you can lay in while enjoying your drink...absolute perfection. Very busy hotel, with lots of rowdy locals but we'd stay there again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissarosestark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Aloha and thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed you stay here, especially our infinity pool. We look forward to welcoming you back. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,250
    2,234
    847
    317
    252
See reviews for
2,040
2,077
162
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is busy, we had a mountain view room on 23rd floor. The room was nice and everything worked. Floors are serviced by 10 lifts so no waiting. Vehicle access is very crowded outside lobby but staff control it well. Dining has a few restaurant choices on various floors. Hapa's Pizzas are nice! Check in/out very fast.
Room service breakfast a bit pricy but on time with generous serving, piping hot!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and especially happy to hear you liked our new pizza restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian holiday. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our room was very dirty. The bathroom was very old and extremely dirty. It smelt mouldy and was mouldy.The floor tile grout was black. There was soap scum on taps and fittings. The bath was old and has been poorly repaired using a sandy finish in the base that was grey and dirty.You wouldn't wash the dog in it.! The carpets were damp and stained. The linen including bedsheets and towels are old and grey. There were sticky marks on all surfaces in the room.Including walls doors and handles.Wooden surfaces in the bathroom were swollen and stained with dampness..
We reported this to reception and the staff assured us that they would have it seen to and the room deodorised…. Nothing was done. I made a second request and had to waste my holiday time waiting to point out to housekeeping what needed cleaned??? On our last day some of the items were finally addressed, but not all. My advice,Don't bother with the Sheraton, very disappointing.
The Manager agreed that Hotel standards in Australia, are much higher than Hawaii, and apologised. But apologies don't help.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LDT12A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We truly appreciate your feedback and are concerned with some of your comments. We would greatly appreciate connecting with you directly so we can properly follow up with you and our team can address the issues you encountered. Please contact us at 377GuestExpereicneTeam@Sheraton.com when you have a moment. Mahalo and a hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very nice hotel for the money, Next door to the beautiful pink palace. The tiki bar was right on the beach in front of the hotel. Within walking distance to many stores and things to do. Food was amazing. Overall great trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leticia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Aloha and thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your feedback and are happy you enjoyed a great trip. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This was our third stay here. We only stayed one night this time ( see my other reviews) mostly because I love two pools. The rooms are starting to feel old. Stained carpet rusty shower head etc. we were given an upgraded view as spg members which was very kind. The problem is always the smoking. Someone near you is always smoking on the balcony. We had to be moved from our first room because it smelled of smoke. The hotel is a favorite amongst the Japanese. I would say 75% of tourists here are Japanese which is a change from my last visit. The pool is amazing as ever. Really the best in waikiki. Here is the issue : something has changed with who is at the pool. The Japanese tourists are quiet and respectful but there is a spring break loud drunk young tattoo group ( early 20's?)in the pool. It makes me wonder if the hotel is giving away too many rooms on Priceline. We rented a poolside cabana $70 which was nice for the day. Oceanfront no worry about sunburn or losing your. seat. I would like to return for another night but my husband really disliked the raging drunk pool party so it may not happen.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryBt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are always happy to get feedback from our returning guests. We are currently working on a project to enhance our guest rooms which will address most of your concerns. Thank you very much for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, KY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Sheraton Waikiki is everything you'd want from a hotel in Hawaii. From check in onward it's welcoming, beautiful to look at, open to the pool and beach and has all the amenities you would want. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a 10th floor suite with a large living area, dining and office space and with two balconies overlooking the pools and ocean..wonderful to come 'home' to.
While we didn't spend much time at their very active bar, RumFire, the sound of live music and active crowd gave the hotel a very alive feeling. The public spaces are very busy and the primary language spoken by most of the guests was Japanese...we saw at least three Japanese wedding parties in the week we were there. It certainly added an international feel.
That said, this hotel didn't have the elegance and peaceful vibe of it's next door neighbor, Halekulani...or the historic, old Hawaii feel of it's neighbor on the other side, The Royal Hawaiian. However, it's location between the two gave easy access to the Halekulani's beautiful outdoor lounge, House Without a Key, with it's nightly live Hawaiian music and dance and The Royal Hawaiian's fabulous restaurant, Azure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you "home" in the future. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austalia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I loved my recent stay at The Sheraton May 17 - 25th. It must have the best location in Waikiki. It's not the newest hotel but considering it was built in 1971 it has been well renovated and maintained. Ocean Rooms are well appointed and the room we had 1226 had the most stunning view that I will never forget. Not the biggest rooms but I don't go on holidays to stay in my room.
The infinity pool is just gorgeous and so relaxing. Main pool is quite small but you have the beach right next too you which was absolutely gorgeous and I preferred to swim there anyway. The Rum Fire has a lovely menu. The big wave burger and the Blue Hawaii is a must.
Alicia was the best staff member at Rum Fire - excellent at her job and I'm sure she will remember us Crazy Colemans from Australia for a long time. Overall I was completely happy with my stay and will return and recommend it to others.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janinec30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are thrilled you loved your stay with us. Thank you for your great feedback and nice comments about Alicia, we will be sure to recognize her. We can't wait to welcome you back on your next Hawaiian holiday. Cheers and a hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Property: Sheraton Waikiki
Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing