We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Balcony view in Waikiki!!”
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton Waikiki for 7 nights in early Jun in a double ocean front room on the 28th Floor (Rm 2803) I requested a view of diamond head & received just that.

PROS
- Fantastic Location! right on the beach in walking distance to major shops & restaurants
- Best hotel facilities! 2 brilliant large pools, hammocks (loved them), private beach, extensive lobby with lounges, internet access & relaxing music playing
- 12 super fast lifts
- Helpful tour desk staff
- Incredible view from our balcony, don't know how any other hotel in waikiki could beat it
- Amazing infinity pool (adults only). We rented a cabana from 12:30pm and received it half price ($35) till 7pm. I highly recommend doing this!! best money we have spent.

CONS
- From Level 28 we could hear the music from rum fire downstairs loud & clear until 1am! the hotel was very noisy, it desperately needs double glazing!
- For the amount of money we paid I expected a luxurious room it was very standard, the bed was tiny & the bathroom could use an update
- Small touches were missing eg bathrobes & slippers
- The hotel is a money trap you have to pay a $30 resort charge upon arrival, this should be included in reservation.
- The staff at the Edge bar were very strange instead of asking me for my ID he held a sign up to my face saying he needs to see my ID? very impersonal.

Overall we loved the Sheraton Waikiki & would stay here again, I do however believe they should lower their prices.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front & request a high level facing diamond head
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NatalieDW89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you sharing your wonderful pictures. We truly value your feedback and have shared you comments with our Management team. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian holiday. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,029)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Waikiki
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,891 - 1,897 of 6,029 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Agree with some of the other reviews, it does feel like a Vegas Hotel without the casino.. and that only means.. people everywhere.. this hotel is huge but with so many open spaces .. so that is good.

We had a good time.. never had any trouble finding a chair at the adults pool, the bar service at the pool was very good but after a few hours ordering drinks.. the bill can really sum up, so here’s a tip.. if you don’t mind.. walk to the grocery store inside the hotel and buy your drinks there.. is just a couple meters from the pool and way cheaper.. and never had any issue bringing our own drinks to the pool.

Rooms are very basic.. nothing fancy, big and clean enough..

Location is very good.. you are in a short distance walk to everywhere in Waikiki and the mall is just right in front of the hotel with multiple options to eat.

One thing I dislike.. but seems like it happens in all the Waikiki hotels.. anyone.. guest or non-guests can enter to the property and use all the amenities.. no one notice or mind.. I did though..

Having said that.. I will return if ever in Waikiki again..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tktraveler36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about non-guests using our facilities and have recently taken steps to ensure proper enforcement of our restricted areas. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian vacation. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Wonderful location! Directly on Waikiki Beach, next to the "Pink Palace" (Royal Hawaiian Resort). Easy access to multiple shopping areas and non-hotel restaurants. Open air lobby is very impressive. Check in was rather slow, casual beach side restaurant had slow service also. Appeared to be short of staff in both instances. Had a corner room with marvelous views of the beach. Very large balcony. Appreciated that the room had a safe, and also benches for luggage. Clean and nicely done, but not luxurious. Very well stocked convenience store in lobby that carriers almost anything you might have forgotten. Concierge Desk in lobby that was able to book last minute tour to Pearl Harbor, with a pick up at the Sheraton. Knowledgeable concierge notified us that we would not be able to carry our purses/camera cases onto the Arizona Memorial. There were lockers available at Pearl Harbor, but it was better to leave those items in the hotel safe. Hotel gave us a later check out without an additional charge. Only disappointment was that the nearby International Marketplace is no longer operating.

Room Tip: Any rooms facing Waikiki Beach are great, but if you have an option ask for one facing Diamond Head...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachwalkeralways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Aloha and mahalo for sharing your recent experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We share in your disappoint about the loss of the International Marketplace. We appreciate your great feedback and have shared your comments with our management team. We look forward to welcoming you back on you next Hawaiian vacation. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

the overall experience was just okay.

We stayed on the 29th floor so the view was amazing, Honolulu city with Diamond Head in the background.

The lobby was nice and really busy (I mean it is a huge hotel), and because of that I did not feel like going to the small pool which was almost always full of people.

The room was a bit small but it was acceptable, but from the balcony you can see another room and even inside of it if you want to look.

The location is good for those who love Waikiki(we didn't), because you can pretty much walk anywhere in Waikiki in a short period of time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fedesyuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are very happy you enjoyed the view from your room and we hope to welcome you back in the future. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Furniture and decor in rooms (we were in a suite) was drab and depressing. Carpets were grubby and badly stained.
Room not serviced till mid afternoon.
Tea/coffee supplies inadequate: We were given 2 packets of coffee (1 decaf), I sachet of orange herbal tea and one sachet of Earl Grey (no basic black tea), two very small packets of creamer and sugar (only enough for 1 cup), small straws for stirring, and 2 paper cups. These were not replenished every day.
Service in the restaurant was poor; wait staff were very brusque. Also we had to queue for a table even though the restaurant was only a quarter full.
The Infinity Pool was very small and most times it was standing room only.
Overall, in comparison with other hotels charging around the same price, the Sheraton did not offer value for money, particularly as we had to pay the $30 per day resort charge.
The only thing going for this hotel is its location right on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are very sorry to learn of your disappointment and apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We have shared your feedback with our management team. We truly appreciate your feedback and are always looking for ways to improve our guests' experience. Thank you and a hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was extremely impressed from the moment I arrived at the hotel and walked into
it's amazingly huge, spotless and very welcoming lobby and I felt the same way
with everything that I experienced and did at the hotel!.
It's right in the center of all the action and just minutes from the beach, the shops
and everything else you could possibly want while on holiday.
The hotel's Infinity pool is amazing and definitely the place to be, where you can
totally relax and look out over Waikiki Beach, but not be in any danger of getting
hit by any waves or injuring your feet on any rocks or other parts of the reef that
surrounds the island of Oahu. The hotel's other pools also "looked" beautiful but
unfortunately to a recent outbreak of some type of virus were closed and off limits
to everyone. It looked like quite a few of the hotel's guests, especially it's Asian
guests had not been informed about the situation regarding the pools, as we saw
quite a few guests come down to the pool area in their swimsuits and suddenly
look very surprised when they noticed they couldn't go in the pools. I would hope
and expect that ALL guests were clearly informed about the situation regarding
pools from the moment they checked-in or from the minute the decision had been
made to block guests from using the pools, especially at such an impressive and
high standard of hotel like the Sheraton.

Room Tip: make sure to book a room on the beach side of the hotel and of course the higher the floor the bet...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank my w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your amazing review of our resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We value your feedback and are happy to announce are working on a new project to help keep our guests better connected to what is going on at our resort and around Waikiki. We look forward to welcoming you back on you next Hawaiian holiday. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Amazing place - in the heart of everything Waikiki - all within short walking distance...
Been staying here for years - best view ever! We have stayed in all types of rooms including the presidential suites...which are extremely spacious. Most all rooms have a water view unless you are completely on the back of the hotel....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank springwoodstation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your fantastic review of our resort. We truly appreciate your wonderful feedback as a returning guest and we look forward to welcoming you back for many years in the future. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,074 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £240 - £502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing