We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ”
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This place is just beautiful. The staff were fantastic. Rooms are clean. I recommend an ocean view room to reap the view and the sun. Pool was clean and close to the beach. I will return with a smile on my face. The place has a few stores to shop at also for convenience.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Mazza0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your fantastic review of our resort. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian holiday. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,791 - 1,797 of 6,076 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

I am just back from a trip from the UK to Hawaii which involved stays in three large Starwood properties, and have waited to complete all three before writing any reviews. This particular hotel is one I last visited 11 years, so it was also interesting to see how it had changed.

Overall this was a really great stay, with pretty much everything about the hotel being of the highest quality:

- I received an email from the hotel a week before arrival, and used this contact to make all sorts of arrangements, including some to help celebrate my wife's birthday. The lady with whom I corresponded could not have been more helpful, and this really helped to make the stay special and to give a good first impression of the hotel.
- Our room was on the 28th floor and had an awesome view. It was clean and well maintained.
- RumFire and Edge are both really good bars, with extensive and varied drinks and food menus, killer location and distinctive ambiance. We also ate some lovely fresh sushi at Yoshiya and got a decent pizza from the takeaway place, but I can't comment on Kai Market as we didn't try it, not really being big buffet fans.
- Public areas are smart and stylish, with a good range of shops on the ground floor just in case you haven't already spent enough money (unlikely to be the case in Waikiki)
- The pool area (all changed since my last stay) is extensive, with lots of family options and a great infinity pool. It gets busy, but then that's probably to be expected.
- My wife tried the spa and rated among the best she has ever visited.
- The Leahi Club Lounge is the best I have ever visited. It has a fantastic view both ways along Waikiki Beach, and provides a great spread at breakfast and in the event. It is also a really nice place just to pop into during the day to grab a takeout latte or soft drink, or just sit and relax. If it isn't included with your room I would recommend paying the supplement to get lounge access.

We really just had one gripe. Our room was a "large luxury" with three double beds - ideal for a family of four and would have comfortably accommodated six, EXCEPT for the fact that there was no clothes storage except a wardrobe containing eight coat hangers. There was just one bedside cabinet (for three beds!) and no other drawers at all. This meant that we spent our seven night stay in this pricey room living out of suitcases. As soon as we saw the room I went back to reception to raise a concern. A copious supply of extra coat hangers soon arrived, but when I asked about acquiring some drawers I was told "we don't deliver extra furniture" with a dismissive laugh which did not go down well at all. I can think of plenty of hotels that would, if asked, but I also struggle to see the logic of not providing adequate storage in the first place - there was plenty of room for it. Bizarre.

On the flip side, I should also mention the peculiar circumstances which pertained to the middle of our stay. The islands were due an unexpected call from Hurricane Iselle, which could have been very nasty indeed. The way this was handled by the management was outstanding. We were kept very well informed, and emergency plans were put into action quickly and effectively, but every effort was made to maintain an almost full service throughout the hotel. In the end we were lucky and it passed to the South, but the way the hotel responded spoke volumes about the high standards that it expects and delivers.

Hopefully it will be less than 11 years until we next return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank ndc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Aloha and mahalo for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are thrilled your family enjoyed your stay and truly appreciate your great feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience regarding storage for your clothing, unfortunately we do not have any extra drawers on site and this should have been communicated more thoughtfully. We really appreciate your comments about the way our team handled the hurricane warning and thank all of our guests for remaining calm and patient throughout the process. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully sooner than 11 years. Mahalo and a hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Forgot to write a review. We spent 4 nights here and really enjoyed it. The staff were nice and very helpful, the rooms standard but the infinity pool was just perfect. Actually most days we argued about having to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Euronicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your recent feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian vacation. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

As sheraton stands always for exciting locations, this is one as well. Had an suite 28th floor excellent and amazing view. Great taking care upfront by Priscialla, room ready announcement, got early checking, easy checkout, its an hug he hotel and pool is just crowded. Centrally located, take the board and go surfing, shopping and dining around the Hotel.

Room Tip: Wanna view .... take high floors suites. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ulle1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your fantastic review of our resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed the excellent views from your suite and were well taken care of by Priscilla. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay here. We reviewed TripAdvisor beforehand and had a good idea what to expect when we arrived. It is a very busy hotel and not the level of personalized service we would typically like, however it is arguably the best located hotel on Waikiki. I couldn't imagine being in a place where you had to walk across the street to access the beach.

What you are paying for here...location, wonderful children's pool, nice adult pool, and spectacular rooms. The dining options, rooms, service are all "3's" but we rounded up to give this a "4" and would happily return if we were to stay in Waikiki again.

There are great dining options we found outside the hotel and nearby including Il Luppino and Duke's!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank ctobriens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian vacation. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

From the moment we checked in we sensed our expectations were going to be lowered.
From being greeted and checked-in by the rudest staff person we came across in our 2 week stay in Hawaii, we realised this stay might be 'interesting'
The Hotel location and pools are world class and the staff were most helpful during a busy time. We like many others felt we were not treated on par with certain 'other' guests. We decided to check out and stay a week longer at Sheraton Princess. We felt better service and comfort there as SPG members sadly.
I really think fellow Aussies should think again about staying here. Other hotels offer better value and service. This is definitely not near 5 star quality

Room Tip: Be prepared to get second treatment to Japanese tourists. The Japanese are quiet and pleasant but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank BozzaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Aloha and mahalo for your review of our resort. We are very sorry to learn of your disappointing experience. We are very concerned by your feedback and would appreciate the opportunity to connect with you directly so we can properly follow up on your concerns. Please email us at 377GuestExperienceTeam@Sheraton.com with any additional information about your experience when you have a moment. Mahalo and a hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton Waikiki for 7 nights during the last week of July in a Malia Suite, #2543. We booked through Pleasant Holidays and because we had booked so late, we paid an embarrassing amount per night for the suite. Our room was huge and faced east with fantastic views of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. The $31 per day resort fee included wi-fi, a free bottle of water each day and free self-parking in the parking facility next door.

Although the room was very large, it was very tired and in need of renovation. The sink, toilet and shower areas were what was in need of attention the most. The faucets and hardware were very dated and rusted. The towel fixtures and metal covers around the tub overfill, shower piping and fire sprinkler were all quite corroded as well. The smell of mildew was very prevalent in the shower area and was not good. We asked for a new shower curtain and the mildew smell seemed to dissipate. Other features in the room were quite dated and not what I would have expected from a Starwood property.

The people at the front desk, the hotel cleaning staff, valet parkers, bus service guys and restaurant workers were all very nice. On the other side of the scale, the people handing out towels and providing wristlets for pool access were not a happy group and actually seemed disgruntled. The various policies of the pool and beach were different each time we would go to use the pool / beach. Sometimes we needed wrist bands, sometimes we didn’t. Sometimes we could get 4 or 5 towels for the 3 of us (2 extra to lay on while on the beach, the others used to dry off with) while other times we could only get one per person. There were so many other little things with the rental equipment that you could do or couldn’t do that we just stopped using them and took everything back to the room. There was a younger Caucasian girl whose name will be kept silent, who was unhappy the entire week.

One thing that we thought was even more unusual was a card placed in the room advising to call the General Manger of the property if you “have any issues”. We called 2 times but never heard anything back. Simply sad!

Other notable things to keep in mind with this property are that it is huge. I think there are around 2,000 rooms. It had sort of a Las Vegas feel but with no flare. The 2 swimming pools at the property are both small and cannot accommodate anywhere near the pool using patrons of the hotel. There is only one fresh water shower on the property when coming off the beach. The lines were 20 minutes plus long at times so most people would get frustrated and jump into the pool without rinsing sand and all. There should be at least 4 or 5 showers, but this would encroach on what little area there was around the pool I’m sure. There were not enough lounge chairs around the pool areas. There were an abundance of seats available for purchase but were mainly empty and went unused as no one wants to pay $35 for a chair for the day.

There were several private functions taking place at the property when we were there as well. The entire place was like a bee hive (or maybe hornet’s nest). The events indoors within the ball rooms were not so bad as that did not impact patrons of the hotel. But, when events (a private “Pirate” party) were held in the small area by the pool, we had to leave. We found this totally unacceptable. What little space made up the grounds, was pretty much taken over completely by this private function.

Lastly, and not necessary bad, but just pointing out that this hotel was predominantly utilized by the Japanese. There were very few family’s other than Japanese at this hotel. Again, I’m not implying that this was bad, as our interactions with everyone were all pleasant, but just pointing this out as these are the people to whom this hotel caters too. When calling the front desk for example, the staff answered in Japanese first and then English. Most of the stores and shopping facilities on site were Japanese and there was a Japanese concierge that greeted people in the elevator lobby most of the day.

We were quite disappointed with the overall experience at this hotel and feel that Starwood is wringing the cash out of everyone staying here without providing an appropriate level of services. We cannot recommend this place and will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Save your money and find someplace else would be my best tip to other travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
14  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Aloha and thank you for your detailed review of our resort. We truly appreciate your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We have shared your concerns with our management team. Mahalo and a hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,126 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £250 - £549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing