We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pacific Beach Hotel
Ranked #48 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

Hotel room was clean but walls are thin and could hear entire conversations through the walls. The spa is terrible, we booked a couple massage and was asked to look over their menu so we were then they took us back and didnt ask us if we wanted deep tissue or lomi lomi or anything so it was basically pointless. The spa atmosphere looked like a back room of a shack. The location of the hotel was good though. We ended up being charged an extra night and still are trying to get it back. The valet dropped the key to our car and broke it so our computerized key needs to be replaced which is about $100 min. I wouldn't waste time on valet at all.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleenie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,022
    1,396
    566
    204
    141
See reviews for
1,053
1,184
172
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (851)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Nice view, OLD everything, inconsistent cold water, EXPENSIVE buffet (48.95), caters mostly to Japanese and Chinese tourists who apparently don't know better or get inclusive rates. Location is great but that's about it. Price was high for the value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank go401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zena K, Social Media Ambassador at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Aloha Go Chicago,

Mahalo for taking the time to review our hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed our beautiful view as well as our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments with our operations team for improvements.

Mahalo Nui Loa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Just returned from a 10 day stay here and can't recommend it enough. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to one of the Ocean Front Rooms and the view was unreal!! We were able to see all of Waikiki and the spacious balcony was a great spot to enjoy the sunset over the beach opposite the hotel!! Fridge in the room meant we could make cocktails and nibbles too!
Room itself was really spacious with a large bathroom and plenty of space to relax either on the balcony or in the chaise lounge. Super comfy bed as well. Nice touch was the helpfulness of the room attendants who regularly offered us extra towels if they saw us coming back from a morning swim and beach towels replenished daily as well.. saves having to pack them for the trip!!
We saw the daily mermaid show in the aquarium a few times over dinner which was a lot of fun, along with great food.. they certainly know how to cook fish there! We also had breakfast in the outside cafe, great way to start the day. When we did decide to head out to try something else the location was perfect as we were within a few blocks (or starlit beach walk!!) to a good number of other restaurants.
Waikiki beach itself was great, we were able to take surf lessons and there is a Hula show just across the street almost every other night... which was interesting and fun and also free!!
Concierge was really helpful in booking us to a Lauau and a Whale watching trip.. and also was great in providing us with local bus details so we could (instead of taking a tour) get ourselves to Hanauma Bay which was about 15-20 minutes away, Diamond Head was only 10 minutes away and also provided details of travel to Pearl Harbor and the North Shore. Appreciated the time he took listening to what and how we actually wanted to travel and providing us with easy to follow instructions.. we didn't get lost!! Sadly once it was time to leave we booked a taxi to the airport with the doormen, confirmed the price and when we arrived downstairs to leave he had got us a stretch limo for the same low price!!! He said he knew the company and thought we might like it, what a way to finish a wonderful stay!!

So all in all I we found this to be a beautiful, clean, safe hotel with attentive, helpful, cheerful staff and in a perfect location to enjoy all that Waikiki has to offer and easy access to the other highlights in Oahu.
We will be returning next year for certain.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for one of the Ocean Front Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank louiseNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zena K, Social Media Ambassador at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Aloha,

I am so happy you both enjoyed your stay. Yes, our location is the best and only a few steps to the best beach! I will pass your kind comments on to the staff - they are truly a great team and they do their best to make sure that each guest has what they need to make their stay memorable. We look forward to your next visit and thank you for allowing us to share in your memories.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This hotel is located on a perfect strip of Waikiki Beach. The hotel itself is dated but clean. To access the beach you need to cross the road which is no hassle at all and it is lovely to sit on the balcony from the ocean front room and watch the ocean and the 'beach goers' at any time of day. The staff are friendly and the restaurant is great on seafood night!! Even though the place is looking tired it was a great, safe place for us to stay for 10 nights in November and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zena K, Social Media Ambassador at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Aloha Megan M,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is great! We are close to shops, restaurants and a few short steps from our beautiful Waikiki Beach. We have the best employees and love to give our best everyday to ensure our guests are happy. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back at the hotel soon.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moline, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Business Travel Inc in Moline hooked me up with a 8 day vacation package last August. The hotel we were able to book was very nice. Just cross the street and there was the world famous Wiakiki Beach. I was centered on the break front which made it perfect for younger children and adult that aren't into waves. Beautiful views and short walk to everything you could want. Hotel staff was very nice and helped you with everything you could want. The restruant had a huge fish tank, also famous. Divers would acknoledge special occasions for all to see. Extra special for Anniversaries and Birthdays. The food was really good. They have an assistant for tours and things like that...there were also coupons for discounts on meals at the hotel...this desk is a first stop. Can save you lots of money. Look for the GO OAHO cards. Also big savings (need to plan wisely, as the clock starts as soon as you do anything on the card) Great Hotel for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the zoo and Diamond Head...the additional upgrade price for ocean front was high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Aloha Laurel749,

Thank you for your review and sharing your impressions of our hotel during your stay early this year.
We greatly appreciate your kind comments about our Oceanarium and amenities. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall & we look forward for your return!

Mahalo A Hui Hou!
Jocelyn Nemoto
Guest Experience Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

This hotel is locked in the 80's and focused on Group Tours from Japan.
That's ok but it's not priced as such and misses basic amenities such as wifi etc.
Location is great on the beach and in easy reach of everything but it could be so much better if the large rooms where redecorated and the general areas bought up to date.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PWG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

To give a background, I travel 200,000 miles a year and stay at all different kind of hotels around the world, I’ve scored each part on a scale of 0 to 5 with 5 being fantastic.

First, important to note that this hotel will begin charging a $20 Amenity fee per day starting March 1st, 2013 (NOT INCLUDED in the rate). For this $20 you will get the following amenities not currently provided:
2 Free bottles of water (worth $1.98 at ABC stores)
Free in-room safe (currently $3.00++)
Free Wi-Fi
Free Local and Toll Free calling (Currently $1.00 per hour)
Basically you are paying $15.00++ a day for wifi assuming you would use the safe.

So, your check-in experience can give you a good idea of what the hotel will be like and ours was bad and the stay mirrored this.

Check-in: 1/5
We waited 5 minutes while a manager was teaching 1 of the 2 front desk staff something, we were never acknowledged during that time. When we were finally called up it was, “Next in line,” followed by “I need your ID and a credit card.” There were no welcomes, no verifying of the room, no “Thank you, please enjoy your stay,” it felt like you were checking into a Motel as even a Guest House or Hostel has better Customer Service.

Lobby: 2/5
This hotel is clearly dated and it doesn’t look like much has been done to keep it close to modern. The walkway from the Lobby to the Beachside elevators had buckets catching leaking water, there were a few tacky shops attached inside the hotel as well. There is an Aquarium in the restaurant that can be very cool for children, especially, but it doesn’t make up for the overall age.

Elevators: 2.5/5
There are 3 elevators on the Beachside part of the hotel, they tend to be a bit on the slower side, not a huge deal, except 1 of the 3 elevators was broken for 2 of the 4 days we were here.

Room Overall: 1/5
The bed is terrible, many things were broken and dated. If you want additional coffee in the room, a small packet costs $3.50++ (good for 2 cups of coffee).

Size: 4/5
We had a King sized room, for a 3 star hotel it was the appropriate size and the bathroom was large enough for 2 people to be in front of the mirror.

Room Set-up/Amenities (bathroom not included): 3/5
The furniture is clearly dated, though there was a 37” LCD TV in the room, a coffee maker, an in-room safe, refrigerator, iron (that leaked water), and an ironing board. There were a few plugs available, generally 1 per each side of the bed and 1 near the small table.

Bathroom: 2/5
The amenities in the bathroom were actually plentiful, though no Bathgel, they included Shampoo, Conditioner, Lotion, Toothbrush, and Toothpaste.
The towels we we received half the time were of a very cheap quality that came apart and left “fuzzies” all over your body and our sink clogged way too easily.

In-Room Charges: 0/5
If you wanted to use the in-room safe there was a charge of $3.00++ per day, going away on March 1st, as they charge a flat $20++ a day not included in the advertised rate, additionally, coffee is $3.50++ after the 1st packet each day.

Bed: 0/5
This had to be a 15 to 20 year old SPRING mattress, it was as terrible if not worse than sleeping on the floor in an airport, nothing is worse than waking up with your shoulder or back in pain because it’s been lying against a spring.

View from the Room: 5/5
This was probably the only thing I can recommend of this hotel was the view, it was fantastic, but it didn’t make up for the rest.

Check-out: 0/5
They are very firm on their 11am check-out, but will happily charge you $23++ per hour to stay a little later, the line was very long at 11am and the staff was efficient, but again not very friendly. At no point were we asked if we enjoyed our stay or had any problems, most likely because they cater to people coming once and never again like a tourist restaurant.

Hospitality Room: 5/5
This is the one thing they excel at, they offer guests a 1 Hour Shower/changing room (very limited availability) after you have checked out. Now, if they had let us stay 2 hours longer we wouldn’t have needed the Shower room and they would not have needed to clean a 2nd room.

Overall value for the money paid: 1/5
The truth of the matter is, this is a hotel for tourists that have never stayed at a “Nice” hotel and are never coming back to Hawaii. There are much better options out there, with better service, nicer rooms, better beds, but again, if you’ve never really gone on vacation/holiday you’ll probably find this hotel suitable.

If you have ever stayed at a chain hotel or have status with a hotel chain, you need to avoid this hotel at all costs as you’ll regret that you wasted the money, I did, and I wish I had a review like this to have read before booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms x19 to like x10ish have a great Ocean view, e.g. 1218, 1318 etc. x01-06 or higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Scott Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,436 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
287 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,884 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Beach Hotel

Property: Pacific Beach Hotel
Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3286
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across Waikiki Beach with views of the Pacific Ocean, Waikiki City Lights, and Diamond Head landmark. Full service hotel with 839 guestrooms, island-style family dining, flexible meeting space, 24-hour fitness center, self or valet parking, business center and gift shops. Please note: Oceanarium Aquarium currently undergoing refurbishments through Summer 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing