We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had a time at the Pacific Beach Hotel. Great view of Waikiki from our lanai and a very comfortable room. Nice lobby, great personnel at the desk and friendly staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and loved sitting on the lanai overlooking Waikiki Beach when we were taking it easy in our room before or after our days excursion.

Room Tip: Definitely get an ocean view room. The view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Aloha Michael M,

Reviews such as yours remind us why we love to do what we do! Everyone here at Pacific Beach Hotel works together like a big family and we strive to provide superior service to ensure that all of our guests have an amazing experience. Thank you for your kind words for so much of what we have to offer from our location and accommodations and more. We look forward to serving you again Michael!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,735 - 1,741 of 3,531 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

I had my place fumigated, so I needed a place to stay for the night. My usual go to hotel was way too expensive and did not feel like staying at a low end hotel either.

I found this place online & found a pretty good deal. I got Hawaiian Air miles, a light breakfast for two. I also charged a dinner buffet & breakfast to my room, and parking. The total charge was around $266. Which I figure is a good deal considering it's right across the beach with a decent sized room.

I'd stay there again, but wouldn't eat at the buffet. Oh, yeah try the crosada! It's hawaii's answer to cronut. Yummy!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keiko-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Aloha Keiko-LA,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience fellow Kama'aina! We are delighted you chose to stay with us and couldn’t be more pleased to hear your overall nights stay was pleasant. We are happy you got a chance to try our croissada! Don't hesitate to stop by anytime if you are in the area. We look forward to your next return.

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel is outdated and old. In parts it is dirty. However, what it does having going for it is it' great location, across the road from Waikiki Beach and very close to shopping for spending all those tourist dollars. The staff while friendly are not the most professional.

Room Tip: This property is all about location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathimacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Aloha Kathimacc,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent experience. Although we're glad you were pleased with our central Waikiki location, we wish that the rest of your stay had left you with a similarly positive impression. Please know we are currently in the midst of implementing the necessary upgrades for renovation. We'll keep this up and keep your words in mind as we move forward. We appreciate your feedback & look forward to having another chance to serve you.

Mahalo,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The best thing about the Pacific Beach Hotel is the concierge service. They were so helpful and knowledgeable. The hotel was over run with Asian visitors, so it was hard to enjoy any of their amenities. The room was clean and fresh, but needed a microwave with all the rest of the features. We had to throw away a lot of food because we could not heat it up. Other than that the only thing bad about this hotel was the sound of police sirens night and day and the homeless people who sleep on the sidewalks in front of the business's on Waikiki beach.
The hotels dinner buffet needs to have it's price listed before you sit down and eat a little and pay $45 per person for your dinner. It was also very garlic smelling through the hotel.

Room Tip: the front of hotel is noisy the side is noisy so with out a view of the ocean is quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Aloha Dianne G,

Thank you for your review and sharing your recent experience. I will be sure to relay your kind praises to our concierge team. I apologize that both the noise level coming from the sires and your buffet in our restaurant did not meet your expectations. I will make sure to share your comments with our management team so we can improve our guests experience in these areas moving forward. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Pacific Beach!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Oh my goodness...Our second stay at this hotel. It is nice to be so close to the ocean which is a plus. However, for the week of our stay we had to endure blaring fire alarms from 900-400 every 15-30 minutes, so we couldn't use our room, the restaurant etc...everywhere you went...irritating.
When we complained to the hotel staff they were indifferent at the very least. It would have been nice to know in advance or at least receive a discount on our room since they didn't bother to disclose the planned testing.

Also, our bathroom floor tile was filthy. It looks like the tiles were clean only where numerous guests had stood with their wet feet. Yuck!
Pay 20 dollars more a night and stay somewhere else.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Colleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Aloha Colleen,

It is most disheartening when a guest leaves and feels they did not have their expectations met, nor does it reflect our high standards of customer service. We truly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. However, this was a procedure that needed to be done to ensure the safety of our guests should incidences like this happen. While we never like to read that one of our guests was not fully satisfied, we are always grateful for the feedback. Should you like to discuss your stay with me further, don't hesitate to contact me via email at jnemoto@pacificbeachhotel.com.

Mahalo,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Pool was ridiculous...if you can call it that. It was small, skinny rectangle in the ground. quality of rooms and entire hotel was very outdated...rooms were extremely noisy...could hear every conversation from all rooms next to ours. The hotel kept testing their fire alarm system, practically every 5 minutes for 24 hours an alarm would sound and a man would speak on the loud speaker into our room. There is no good food to eat at the hotel except for the Oceanarium...but you will need to spend $50/person at their buffet where they don't include drinks and charge you $5 for a soft drink!!!! Do not stay here...there are way better hotels in the area for the price they want at this one. The only reason I gave this hotel 1 was because of it's location across from the beach.
Also if you want to exercise, just go for a run up to diamond head...they do not have a fitness center but will gladly charge you $12 per visit to the 24 hour fitness located in their hotel! I paid for one visit and it was the dirtiest gym I had ever been to!!!! Staff was rude and the place was smelly and disgusting.

Room Tip: No good rooms...cheap, old and noisy...do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Aloha Jennifer,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you felt the room was outdated. We will take your comments regarding room and gym aesthetics into consideration as we make more modifications to our hotel. I also apologize your inconvenience regarding our fire alarm testing that was being conducted during your stay. We needed to complete this to ensure the safety of our guests should emergencies like this happen. We will use your comments to improve upon our overall guest services and experience. Again, we hope to get the opportunity to truly wow you on your next trip to Hawaii.

Mahalo,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The bathroom was a little rusty, kind of pricey if your on a budget but other than that the service was really good and the hotel is right in front of a beach. I would have to save up money again to stay here for the full experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Aloha Michelle B,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Mahalo for your appreciation for our staff as well as our central Waikiki location . Should you return again, our concierge and front desk is always happy to direct you to some of the many off-site options in the area that may be of interest to you. We value your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,219 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
437 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach

Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3286 (Formerly Pacific Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £184 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised to open as the hottest new resort in Hawaii in fall 2017, ‘Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach will be a modern and tranquil oasis in the heart of Waikiki that pays homage to Queen Lili‛uokalani's long-lasting heritage. Alohilani will welcome all guests into an unforgettable setting which blends Hawaii’s cultural heritage with an elegant contemporary style that’s uniquely... Aloha Chic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing