We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We booked our trip on the Thursday before Thanksgiving. Direct flight and a great price for the room. Loved the views from our room. We looked at all of Waikiki the first 4 nights in the beach tower then moved to the ocean tower on the opposite side and the building of had a great view your diamond head and the ocean.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobalou19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Aloha Bobalou19,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are delighted you chose to stay with us and couldn’t be more pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Pacific Beach!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,744 - 1,750 of 3,559 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.. My Ocean front room was wonderful . the higher the floor the better..all staff was very courteous, kind and helpful..the entire hotel was very clean and our beds were very comfortable.. very close to everything in Waikiki..use the local public transportation bus, very reasonably priced for any place you need to go..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockyrugged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Aloha Rockyrugged,

Reviews such as yours remind us why we love to do what we do! We definitely strive to provide superior service to ensure that all of our guests have an amazing experience. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your ocean front room as these rooms are one of the best in Waikiki has to offer. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another exceptional stay.

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Loved the service and helpfulness of the staff. The location was super. We decided to watch the show and try the buffet in the Oceanic Restaurant in the hotel...mistake to do that without being sure of the price! No show happened even though it was advertised to be scheduled and the buffet, while good was not worth $49 a plate! Also, we were checking out one evening and needed to pack. Our swimming things needed to be dried, I tried all 8 dryers one was marked "Out of order". Six of the other machines would not accept coins and the one working was full of wet clothing. I would stay here again, just be warned and aware.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkadau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Aloha Mkadau,

Mahalo for your review. An excellent service experience is so important to all of us at the Pacific Beach Hotel. I am thrilled to hear how helpful our associates were during your recent stay. We are always pleased to hear when our guests enjoy their accommodations. However, I do apologize should you felt your experience at our Oceanarium was any less than excellent. Please know we always strive to improve the experience & we kindly value your feedback. Thank you again and it would be an absolute pleasure to serve you again soon the next time you visit!

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Basic premises which have been what I would call painted over to try and improve it. Found food left in hallway from room service remained there for days even after we complained. The food in the cafe at the breakfast we were served was cold and we did not eat there again after that experience. Nothing worse than cold eggs and bacon. They have a cooking area for the cafe right near the lifts on the ground floor foyer of the front tower. All you can smell in this ares of an afternoon is food cooking smells and it becomes sickening after a while. We stayed at the hotel because of the aquarium but when we tried to book seating near this we found it was impossible for us but not for some others staying there. Airconditioning in the room was available but there was no contol over the temperature meaning early in the morning it was freezing cold when you were trying to sleep. Pool is not heated and very cold although this may suit some people. Pool area not very inviting and bland. On the bright side, right across the road from the beach, close to the zoo, and a great location to see everything. Local buses two blocks away and a bus stop right near that corner, very convenient.

Accomodation was better here than some of the other places we have stayed at in the past. Definately value for money.

Room Tip: Most rooms are ocean view only and are on the side of the building. We found the right hand side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOOTY14000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Aloha Sooty,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us regarding your stay. We couldn't be happier to know you enjoyed your overall accommodations as we pride ourselves in providing the best care and assistance to our guests. However, we must apologize for your experience with the maintenance of your air condition and dining experience in the cafe. Please know that our associates are always happy to help you with any concerns you may have. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we hope you will stay with us in the near future to enjoy all that we have to offer.

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Horrible service at oceanrium reataurant. I stayed this hotel because of the restaurant that had aquarium. (Because I have 3yrs old son and he loves) so I went to that restaurant first night and I asked if we can seat near aquarium but waitress said near seat is only reservation so I reservation for next day. But next day when I got there the seat was worse then last night so I asked her and she said she never said that we can seat near aquarium if we reservation. So I talk to manager but he is more rude person. He said if we don't want that seat just leave because his very busy. Wow....very good customer service!!!!lol

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coco10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Aloha Coco10101,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback regarding your dining experience in our Oceanarium. I sincerely apologize that you were displeased with the quality of service. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with aloha and a pleasant experience. We are disappointed when we fail to provide this level of service. However, I have come to know these employees very well & they are always friendly and helpful to our guests. But please be assured that your comments will be brought to the attention of our management team. Mahalo for letting us know and we truly value your feedback.

Mahalo,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is a respectable and reasonable lodging option in Waikiki for those who want to be close to the beach but, are on a budget and/or seeking a convenient base to operate from while sightseeing around Oahu. This hotel is situated on Kalakaua Avenue directly across the street from Kuhio Beach – it is a 30-second walk from the south lobby entrance to the beach. Kuhio Beach is the eastern portion of the Waikiki shoreline close to Kapiolani Park and proffers sheltered swimming areas because of the protective breakwater. For people unfamiliar with Waikiki, this hotel along with all other hotels east of Kaiulani Street on Kalakaua Avenue are directly across the street from the beach with no buildings or structures on the seaward side of the road. Most of these hotels can offer rooms with excellent views but, generally, at lower rates because of the fact that they are not on the beach and, for the most part, they are not upscale brands/chains. A comparative analysis of room rates at the hotels located on the beach west of Kaiulani Street will show higher rates. For us the positive experience began before we ever arrived while booking the hotel. We had questions and exchanged a few emails with Jocelyn Nemoto, the Guest Experience Coordinator. We found her to be communicative, helpful and enthusiastic. In this day and age, it is nice to interact with people who are genuinely committed to assisting their customers. At this point we’d like to compliment the hotel staff/management for arranging chocolate-covered strawberries & pastries to be waiting in our room upon arrival (to celebrate our anniversary and hubby's birthday). We had included a note in our reservation and advised the Guest Experience Coordinator – and the hotel followed through in a delightful way! By the way, the hotel’s website is informative and we strongly recommend that prospective customers check it out even if they don’t book the room through that site. Though this hotel is neither the newest nor the most sophisticated in Waikiki, it is relatively modern in décor and furnishings and several of their rooms proffer awesome views over the waters of Waikiki and Mamala Bay. Occupying an entire city block, the hotel itself is a large complex comprised of two high-rise buildings anchored by a low-rise structure containing the lobby, conference and banquet facilities, restaurants, shops and a parking garage. The high-rise edifices are respectively called the Beach Tower and the Oceanarium Tower. Architecturally speaking, the exterior of the hotel is nondescript. In our opinion, the two towers look more like monolithic apartment complexes. The lobby and adjoining corridors are spacious and reasonably attractive though the design/décor is somewhat dated (1970s/1980s) thus evoking a sense of yesteryear and contributing to the impression of the hotel being old. In contrast, the hallway on the 15th Floor of the Beach Tower seemed a little cool, austere and institutional (not a good thing). This was probably due to the selection of color(s) used, or lack thereof, in the decorative scheme – an off-white to light gray tone. We think they were going for a “look of calm, clean and bright” but, instead, the result is one that lacks warmth. The guest rooms are adequate in size, sensibly furnished and decorated in a muted but attractive tropical theme. Our room was the “King Bed” category. The room was clean upon arrival and it seemed to stay that way throughout our stay which would indicate that housekeeping did a good job each and every day. Though fairly well-maintained the room did show subtle evidence of wear-and-tear and age – a notable example being the wall mirror in the bedroom which had spots and discoloration around the edges because of deterioration of the backing material. From a mechanical perspective, the room was a good one with almost everything working as it should; the exception being a non-functioning TV remote. However, this issue was promptly rectified by the Maintenance Dept. The bathrooms are small and modest – actually more on par with that found in a decent quality motel. Within the respective tower buildings, the rooms are nearly identical in layout, décor, furnishings and fixtures including the balconies; the two principal differences being the type of bed(s) furnished in the regular guest rooms (one King Bed or two Double beds) and the enhanced living space of the guest suites (located on the top floor of each building). However, there is one BIG and IMPORTANT variation amongst the rooms – the outside view/scenery aspect. This aspect is one of the hotel’s greatest attributes because the views from some rooms are among the best to be had in Waikiki – bar none! Of course, the room rates are governed by this fact. If a view is important to you, then we highly recommend that you select the “Ocean Front” category in the Beach Tower. The higher the floor, the better, with the best rooms being the corner units! At a minimum, make sure your room is above the height of the palm trees on Kalakaua Avenue or you won’t be seeing much of the great blue sea. Go for the seventh floor or higher. Sitting on the balcony, sipping a beverage and watching the sunset is a gratifying experience. If a view is not important then choose the “Standard” or “Partial Ocean” view categories but be forewarned that your view will be that of an adjacent building/hotel. If you don’t want to pay the highest rates for a view then the “Ocean” view category of rooms may be the way to go but bear in mind that the view of the ocean will be at an angle and the ocean may not be readily visible from within the room. This is because of the orientation of the two towers on the property combined with the location of the rooms designated “ocean” view within each of the buildings. An excellent source for guidance on this matter can be found under the tab labeled “Rooms & Suites” on the hotel’s website. It contains an informative and helpful schematic depicting the location of the various room categories within the two tower buildings. Apropos lodging prices, I suggest that you visit the hotel’s own website and check out the various specials and deals they proffer before making your reservations through any other source. The room rates and various promotional packages they offer are worth the money and some of them will give you a great bang for your buck! We actually believe that you can do better by booking with the hotel directly than through select third party, internet booking sites and online travel agencies. One thing that sets this hotel aside from others is the staff. We found them to be consistently friendly and helpful. Compared to many other hotels in Waikiki – and we have stayed in at least 20 different ones over the past few decades running the gamut from budget to five-star – the staff at the Pacific Beach Hotel stands out as a cut above most. They are actually trying while at certain other hotels the staff seemed to merely be “going through the motions” of providing service and hospitality. Given that this was our first stay at this hotel, this aspect surprised us and we can truly say that you get better “treatment for your dollar” in the friendliness factor from the staff compared to that which you may experience at several other places! The hotel appears to operate two eateries of its own on site. The primary dining facility is the Oceanarium Restaurant located behind the lobby foyer adjacent to the front desk area. It is fairly large and equipped with standard tables and chairs that evoke a bit of a cafeteria “feel” to the place. However, what makes this restaurant unique and well worth a visit is the massive salt-water aquarium within the restaurant that stands about three stories in height and contains a diverse collection of tropical marine life. To sit there and watch the marine life swim by your table was mesmerizing and enjoyable. This restaurant is used for breakfast, lunch and dinner. While we never ate lunch or dinner at any of the eateries within the hotel, we did eat breakfast every day at the Oceanarium Restaurant. Specifically, we had the buffet breakfast which was included in our room rate/package. Though some TripAdvisor reviewers have been critical of the food quality and menu we must disagree – at least with regard to the breakfast buffet. In our opinion, the quality of food at the Oceanarium Restaurant is decent and quite varied. To be frank, we did not expect it to be as diverse and extensive as it was. Moreover, given what you get and the price ($25 per person if not included), it is a fair deal compared to that of many other hotels in Waikiki. Yes, some items were overcooked, dried out and/or bland but other items were delicious such the fresh fruit, salad, cereal(s), Asian fare and the omelets made-to-order (on the spot). The other dining facility is the Aloha Center Café which focuses on grilled food items and does a barbeque spread in the evening. The guest amenities provided by the hotel are fairly typical of a middle-tier hotel located in one of the more popular destinations in the world for sun, surf and fun. We never used the gym or spa so we cannot comment on them. Also, we never used the pool though we did go and check it out. Sadly, it is kind of small and the overall setting is rather unappealing. It is located atop the low-rise lobby building on the outside near the Oceanarium Tower. Given the beige/buff color of the buildings combined with the expansive but grayish concrete flooring of the sunbathing area, the entire pool setting lacks ambiance. On the day we visited this space looked and felt more like the top level of a vacant parking facility. The entire site needs a makeover with an emphasis on projecting the notion of being a resort and evoking a welcoming "feel." Other amenities and services provided by the hotel include beach towels (that you can take to the beach), refillable water bottles and water replenishment stations (in the lobby), daily newspaper delivery, in-room internet service (normally for a fee) and parking (pay garage). Be advised that some of these amenities are free. Others involve a cost but may be discounted or waived depending on the type of room rate or promotional package you have. There is a tourist excursion/activities desk located along the corridor leading from the lobby to Kalakaua Avenue. Additionally, there are numerous options for dining, shopping, entertainment, and outdoor leisure and recreational activities nearby. Adjacent to the hotel are a McDonalds restaurant (across the street), Haagen Dazs ice cream store and ABC souvenir store/mini-mart (incl. liquor section). Moreover, a short walk in almost any direction will elicit a multitude of options too numerous to mention here. The famous Duke’s Canoe Club restaurant and the International Market Place are each about a 7 – 10 minute walk from the hotel. After all this positive commentary I must observe that there are a few negative items to mention but they are minor and may be inconsequential for some. Firstly, the check-in process can be a time-consuming experience. Other TripAdvisor reviewers have voiced dissatisfaction with the check-in process and I can empathize. Upon our arrival in the mid-afternoon there was line of people waiting to check-in and it moved slowly. In other words, checking in can take a while if you are further back in the queue. Be advised that the front desk/reception area has three to four check-in stations depending on staffing. Another issue is the noise emanating from the street below which may be heard within some rooms – particularly on the lower floors of the Beach Tower if there is a lot of traffic, loud passersby and/or noisy crowds outside (which may be most noticeable in the evening). This may prove problematic for sleeping. Requesting either a high floor or a room away from Kalakaua Avenue should remedy this concern. Thirdly, the low-level, ambient hum from the air conditioner may be bothersome for some. For light sleepers and people from other time zones, these various noises can make sleeping difficult and the room environment less relaxing. We usually turned the AC system off at night. Of course, these issues are not unique to the Pacific Beach Hotel and will equally apply to many other hotels. As indicated earlier, parking is available at the hotel and normally costs $25 per day. Though metered street parking can be found throughout the surrounding area the parking rules, time limits and payment methods are complicated such that we advise against parking on the street. It is NOT worth the hassle!!! There are parking garages nearby that charge less than this hotel. However, the best solution – particularly if you don’t need your vehicle while staying at the hotel – is to park for free on Monsarrat Avenue between the Honolulu Zoo and Kapiolani Park or in one of the free lots at the Waikiki Shell outdoor theater (also on Monsarrat Ave.). It is a 10 to 15 minute walk from the hotel. Getting to/from the airport is fairly easy. If ground transportation has not been pre-arranged, and you are not renting a car, then we recommend one of the several shuttle or van services that exist and charge between $7.50 - $11.00 each way (with better pricing if you commit to the roundtrip). If you have little or no luggage, then the public bus is an option and it costs only $2.50. When inbound from the airport, use Bus Route Nos. 19 or 20 headed east with Waikiki as the final destination. The buses stop outside both the international and inter-island terminals on the departure level service road. You can go online to pre-book ground transportation or simply do it upon arrival. Some of the shuttle companies have representatives in the baggage claim areas promoting their services. In conclusion, we highly recommend the Pacific Beach Hotel because of its commitment to customer service, good location, great views, decent facilities, and clean and comfortable rooms!

Room Tip: If the view is important, then select the “Ocean Front” category in the Beach Tower. The higher the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank bjaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The room I had was a cheaper room but still had an partial ocean view. I was only in the room to sleep and freshen up between activities so could not see the benefit in a hotel with all the bells and whistles. However the room was spacious and clean. The bathroom had a bath and shower. The airconditioning was quiet, but kept the room at a perfect temperature. The staff were friendly and helpful. If you pass a staff member in the hall or lift you always get a smile and Aloha. There is an ABC store in the foyer for all your needs. They have an internet kiosk available 24 hours to print out booking confirmations you may need. The restaurant is reasonably priced and the staff efficient. I cannot eat shellfish, but found plenty on the buffet to feel I got value for money. The aquarium is an added attraction and the shows good to watch. I did not use the pool area as the beach is just across the street.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn N, Guest Experience Coordinator at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Aloha Steve G,

Mahalo for your review. An excellent service experience is so important to all of us at the Pacific Beach Hotel and we are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your overall guest accommodations! I am happy to know you had the opportunity to dine in at the Oceanarium. Although you are allergic to shellfish, we hope you got a chance to try our signature prime rib! Thank you again Steve for your feedback & it would be an absolute pleasure to serve you again soon.

Mahalo A Hui Hou,
Jocelyn, Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,233 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
494 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach

Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3286 (Formerly Pacific Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £191 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named "Hottest hotel opening in 2018" by USA Today, Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach is a modern and tranquil oasis in the heart of Waikiki that pays homage to Queen Lili‛uokalani's long-lasting heritage. Alohilani will welcome all guests into an unforgettable setting which blends Hawaii’s cultural heritage with an elegant contemporary style that’s uniquely... Aloha Chic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing