We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location.....ridiculous resort fees”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 1 February 2014

A fantastic location, right in the middle of Waikiki Beach. You have a great beach area right in front, and you have plenty of dining & shopping in either direction. The rooms were dated, but clean & larger than many in Waikiki. There was a fridge & balcony where we had a "partial ocean view" to the side. We unfortunately did not have a room with new matresses, so the beds were pretty firm & bumpy. We still managed to get some decent sleep though. As far as noise, it was average for Waikiki, and I really don't know many quiet places in the heart of the city. It is just a busy city. If you are a pool person, this may not be the place for you. The pool was mediocre at best. Very small & on the side of the building so seemed shaded most of the day.

I was able to find a special deal if you booked via you mobile phone, but beware your "deal" becomes less of a bargain when you add in their daily "resort fee", and if you have to park a car on top of that, forget it. Added resort fees are a HUGE sore spot with me. If it is not an optional fee, and every guest pays it, then include it in the price, period. For me this is the equivalent of a bait & switch scam and just doesn't sit well. I would perhaps be more tolerable if the resort fee was minimal, but the Pacific Beach charges $20 PER DAY plus tax, for "amenities" which are a complete joke. The only amenity that we used was the water. You receive a $.50 cent disposable plastic water bottle at check in & you can fill it through a machine containing filtered tap water. Is this worth $20 per day? Not even close. You can buy a whole lot of 2 for $99 bottled water at ABC for $20. Another so called amenity is a "discounted" pass to the adjacent fitness center. I inquired at the fitness center, and they advised me the "discounted" price was $15 per day! Wow, what a deal, said dripping with sarcasm. These extra "fees" amount to over $100 for a 5 night stay, which is insane. I know this is a trend amongst hotels, but that doesn't mean it is good business practice. Thankfully, most of the Outrigger/Ohana properties do not charge amenity fees & hopefully this continues, because this is likely where my next stay will be.

TIP: We found an awesome happy hour special at the Top of Waikiki. $5 Sky Vodka martini's & discounted appetizers, with views to die for! It was absolutely amazing!

Room Tip: Go with a higher floor to avoid some of the street noise. Partial ocean view room still had great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveltosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Aloha traveltosun,

Thanks so much for taking a moment to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Great tip regarding happy hour at the Top of Waikiki restaurant and I agree the views are amazing. It sounds like you really enjoyed the location of the Pacific Beach Hotel. Thanks for the 5-star location rating! You really can't go wrong being located right across the street from the world-famous Waikiki Beach! I also appreciate you sharing your thoughts regarding our resort fee. To remain competitive in a market where most resorts do charge an amenity fee and as a convenience to our guests, we have combined our most widely used services and amenities in our amenity fee. Most of the other resorts in Waikiki charge $25-$35 while our amenity charge of $20 (plus tax) per occupied room is a daily charge and includes: wireless internet access (in-room and throughout the property); use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages, and Putting Green (equipment included); Children 4 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet; Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada; our award-winning Eco-Friendly logo water bottle refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel. We will soon be opening a fitness center that will be included in the amenity fee and will be available to guests 24-hours a day in addition to the discounted pass to 24-Hour Fitness Super Sport Club. As you mentioned, there are some resorts in Waikiki that do not charge a resort fee; however, these particular resorts typically charge extra for all of the added amenities. I hope that this explanation helps clarify and provide some additional perspectives on amenity fees.

The next time you return to Hawaii, I hope you choose to stay with us again. Consider yourself part of our Hawaiian Ohana (family).

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,623 - 1,629 of 3,478 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here on Jan14 for 2 nights.Our room was clean and comfortable and an average size 2 bedded room.Housekeeping did a great job in giving us anything we needed and the front desk staff provided excellent fast service!This hotel is right across from the beach and lots of shops and restaurants close by.The hotel has a great restaurant on site called Oceanarium which is actually a upscale buffet!Food was very good and excellent waiter staff.Dinner buffet is 47 dollars per person and that is average price for Hawaii,and i might add they had excellent Prime rib and seafood!Other restaurants very close within walking distance are mac 24 ,mcdonalds,Burger King,Eggs n Things and other local establishments.Overall,It was a great stay and this hotel is also one of the least expensive in Waikiki!I would definitly recommend it to anyone!!Also,I did forget to mention that in the hotel restaurant oceanarium you are dining looking at a very large aquarium of fish and stingrays and if you are at the right time you can see divers go in and feed them.It was great!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Aloha John W,

What a wonderful review! Thanks for the 5-star rating and thank you so much for staying with us. We are very happy to hear that you had such a great experience. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

After reading some bad reviews of this property we were pleasantly surprised to find such a lovely hotel position in the main street. We stayed in an ocean view room with magnificent views. Staff were friendly and very helpful and would certainly recommend to those on a moderate budget and not expecting 5 star.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steino15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Aloha steino15,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments on TripAdvisor. I am very please to see the 4 and 5-star ratings for your experience! Our ocean view rooms truly do have magnificent views.... and then there are our Ocean Front rooms that are even more amazing! We try to keep our room rates a bit lower than everyone else because we know that our furniture and decor is a bit dated. We are looking forward to our upcoming renovation that will give us a fresh new look. Come back again soon!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

we stayed at the Pacific Beach Hotel for a little over a week. The hotel is right on the beach. there are plenty of cheap places to eat and easy access to the bus. The hotel charges a resort fee of $20 a night which also gives you access to wifi and 60 minutes of long distance minutes every day. The concierge, Abbie, was also exceptional in helping us plan our tours and dealt with any issues quickly. we have truly enjoyed our stayed here and will return.

Room Tip: choose a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Aloha Ahmed A,

We are absolutely thrilled to see your 5-star review. Abbie was especially pleased to see that you mentioned how wonderful she is. Thanks for staying with us and come back again soon!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Pacific Beach. It is an older hotel located on Kalakaua Avenue, across the street from Waikiki beach. Our room was adequate (i.e. average) but we had a great view of both the beach and Diamond Head from our balcony. The free water bottles we received at check-in and the filtered water station were a real plus. The buffet breakfast was good value at senior rates but I'm not sure I'd pay full price.
On the downside, there was an unexpected $20/day "amenities" fee applied at checkout. Never figured out what that was for!

Room Tip: Room 1655 is on the NE side- quiet and a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JK65Toronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Aloha JK65Toronto_Canada,

Thanks for sharing your comments and thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and amenities. As a convenience to our guests, we have combined our most widely used services and amenities in our amenity fee. The amenity charge of $20 (plus tax) per occupied room is a daily charge and includes: wireless internet access in all guestrooms and in all public spaces; use of our tennis courts, golf cages, and putting green; local, toll free, and 60-minutes of Long-Distance calling to the mainland and Canada; 20% discount at Laule'a Spa; children 4 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restuarant; award winning eco-friendly water bottles; local newspaper available at the front desk; and discounted passes to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

After a really bad experience in a rental home, we found ourselves trying to quickly find "affordable" accommodations - for the Thursday & Friday before the PRO BOWL! We landed here. $199/night & standard resort/parking fees drove it up to closer to $300. It was just what we needed. Dated? Yes. Location? YES! Clean? Yes. Quiet? Yes. Pool? Eh - don't bother. Friendly staff? Yes. Bottom line - don't you dare go to Waikki & care that your room is dated - go out! See sights! Enjoy the savings. Also, clients are mostly Japanese - I found this as a benefit. The culture is very polite & warm. I loved it all! Only giving very good b/c it's no Marriott - but that's the point!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank ms_lisa71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Aloha ms_lisa71,

Thank you so much for your very kind words. We are happy that we could save the day! Come back again soon!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Elevators do not work and I have been locked out of my room, and have to get the key recoded, almost daily. Housekeeping forgets to replace shampoo and soap almost every day. Also beware of hidden fees. Much better places for the price and I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Aloha Andyw47,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor and thanks for the 5-star location rating! We truly are located in an amazing spot. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you encountered with the elevators and your room key. As a convenience to our guests, we have combined our most widely used services and amenities in our amenity fee. The amenity charge of $20 (plus tax) per occupied room is a daily charge. We certainly do not intend for the amenity fee to be hidden in any way. I apologize that you were not made aware ahead of time. Thanks again for the feedback as it is very helpful to us as we are continuously looking for ways to improve.

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,182 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
348 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,580 reviews
Waikiki
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach

Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3286 (Formerly Pacific Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £175 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised to open as the hottest new resort in Hawaii in fall 2017, ‘Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach will be a modern and tranquil oasis in the heart of Waikiki that pays homage to Queen Lili‛uokalani's long-lasting heritage. Alohilani will welcome all guests into an unforgettable setting which blends Hawaii’s cultural heritage with an elegant contemporary style that’s uniquely... Aloha Chic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing