We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pacific Beach Hotel
Ranked #48 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Found it on expedia, needed one night and it works. Close to the beach, great oceanarium in the lobby. Best deal I could find on waikiki, $137/ night. Plus taxes and amenity charge, for nothing I used, out the door around 176. Do it for the price. I'm now having a better experience elsewhere though.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottinillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Aloha Scottinillinois,

Thanks for taking a moment to review your recent experience at the Pacific Beach Hotel. I am happy to hear that you found us to be a great value and overall you enjoyed your experience, but it does look like we have some room to improve. Thank you for letting us know and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,022
    1,396
    566
    203
    141
See reviews for
1,053
1,183
172
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (851)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We booked a partial ocean view room for a 2 night stay & were upgraded on arrival to a Penthouse Suite which was amazing! With our own lounge room, spa, four poster bed & beautiful views of Waikiki beach this was heaven. Great location at in my opinion the better end of the Waikiki strip & beach. The oceanarium in the restaurant is also quite a novelty worth visiting. A little dated but perfect value for money in a great location.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Aloha Lauren W,

It's always nice when you get to take adavantage of those complimentary upgrades! We always enjoy being able to do that from time to time. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed it. Also, thanks for the shout out regarding the Oceanarium Restaurant. It is definitely fun to watch the mermaids and divers in the 280,000 gallon oceanarium! Come see us again soon!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Great location. Rooms are very dated and have been well used. Had a lot of problems with the air conditioning was very old and hard to set. It is average for the price. Was not happy that our rooms were not next to each other, but they were on the same floor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeta4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Aloha zeta4u,

We were so happy to see that you rated our service and cleanliness 5-stars! Thanks for taking the time to share your comments and ratings. My apologies for the frustrations that you encountered with the air conditioner in your room. As part of our upcoming renovation, we will be replacing all of our air conditioners with more advanced and energy efficient units. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Pacific Beach Hotel again on your next visit to Honolulu!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The Pacific Beach Hotel was wonderful!! The hotel is very clean, they had great service, and the hotel is right across from the beach and next to all of the shops and restaurants. What more could anyone ask for!?

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitefitch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Aloha Whitefitch1,

Mahalo nui loa for the very positive 5-star review! Come back and see us again soon!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have very mixed feelings about this hotel, I think unfortunately, due to our the arrival experience it will err on the side of negative.
We had a long wait in the queue at the check in desk and once checked in there were no leis given to us or welcome drinks, it was a complete anti-climax, felt more like checking in for a business trip somewhere boring than being on holiday in Hawaii.
Above all, the thing that REALLY tarnished our stay here were the added fees - $20 extra A DAY for 'resort fees' for wifi (where doesn't have wifi?!) and a tiny little pool that with some nasty metal seats around it, I know the hotel is located on a beach but when they charge guests $20 a day they shouldn't take these things for granted.
The 'resort fee' DOESN'T include the gym (one of the reasons we chose this hotel), that was given to us at a 'discounted rate' of $12 a day each.
We were also horrified to find out we were being charged $25 a day parking!!!... But what could we do?
So in all, we were charged an EXTRA $45 A DAY ($69 for when we used the gym) for our stay here, which soon added up and really tarnished the holiday.
As for the buffet/restaurant, don't bother, limited and overpriced and you'd be far better going to one of the many eateries located near the hotel.
I'm sure the management will reply to this with some sort of non-committal, generic response but seriously, sort the extra fees out instead of ruining people's experience!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hansuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Aloha Hansuro,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. I can assure you that we do take feedback very seriously and I am very appreciative that you provided the feedback especially since much of your feedback is for improvement. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Ultimately, we would love for every guest of ours to have an amazing visit, but this clearly was not the case for you.

Please know that our parking rates and amenity fee are not intended to be hidden costs in any way. We try to make sure that our guests have all the information they need prior to booking. I apologize that you were not aware.

I also appreciate you sharing your thoughts regarding our amenity fee. To remain competitive in a market where most resorts do charge an amenity fee and as a convenience to our guests, we have combined our most widely used services and amenities in our amenity fee. Most of the other resorts in Waikiki charge $25-$35 while our amenity charge of $20 (plus tax) per occupied room is a daily charge and includes: wireless internet access (in-room and throughout the property); use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages, and Putting Green (equipment included); Children 4 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet; Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada; our award-winning Eco-Friendly logo water bottle refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel. We will soon be opening a fitness center that will be included in the amenity fee and will be available to guests 24-hours a day in addition to the discounted pass to 24-Hour Fitness Super Sport Club. There are some resorts in Waikiki that do not charge a resort fee; however, these particular resorts typically charge extra for all of the added amenities. I hope that this explanation helps clarify and provide some additional perspectives on amenity fees.

Again, thank you very much for your very valuable feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and I want you to know that we very much appreciate your suggestions and comments.

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel for someone who wants a great downtown Waikiki location at a discounted price. The rooms are a little dated and worn, but they were kept very clean. The beds were particularly uncomfortable. That being said, my family was overall pleased with the hotel. The staff was outstanding. They were very nice and provided us with an upgrade to an oceanfront room, just for asking. My husband mentioned that it was my birthday and the hotel provided a birthday cupcake, champagne and champagne glasses in our room, at no cost. The hotel is not right on the beach. You have to cross the street to get to the beach. Some of the other downtown hotels (ie. Royal Hawaiian, Hilton Hawaiian Village or Moana Surfrider) are right on the water, so you can lay by the pool and walk straight to the ocean. This hotel's pool is on the 4th floor, and you have to strain to see the ocean. The pool is very small for a hotel. It is probably more appropriately sized for a backyard pool. The hotel provided nice soaps and lotions along with a toothbrush and toothpaste. They also provided room slippers. We were pleased to have saved so much money by staying here vs. One of the higher cost hotels. If you plan to spend a lot of time at the hotel and want a really beautiful place, this is not the hotel for you. If you just want a home base for sleeping and leaving your things, this place is great. I would stay again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank VacantVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Aloha VacantVacations,

Thanks for choosing the Pacific Beach Hotel as your home base while visiting Waikiki with your family and celebrating your birthday! We are preparing for a complete renovation of all our guestrooms and public spaces, in the meantime we are offering reduced room rates given the dated decor and furnishings. We have already began replacing mattresses since sleep quality is a very high priority for guests - we wanted to make this a priority with our renovation plans. We are also planning a major upgrade to our pool area... stay tuned for more details....

We can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit. We'll see you soon!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Heights, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We arrived. Decent. Our room was in the tower and it was nice, but the noise from the street was awful. We were on floor 35 4 floors below penthouse. We requested a partial view room facing the mountain, so we asked if there was another room. The provided us another room on the 11th floor facing the mountain and much better partial view of ocean. Yeaaa...culdn't see t he mountain, but it was quieter on that side of hotel. My husband has a Rx for Norco (Vicadin) and his entire prescription was stolen from our room except for 10 pills. We complained and of course nothing happened. Not even a complimentary drink. It was awful. Now, he is in pain (back injury), and we can't get our room cleaned without a manage present...totally ruined our trip. Sucks because we were stuck there for 10 days. The aquarium was dirty and we caught one mermaid show but unless you are in the middle she doesn't swim and smile at you. Disappointing. The pictures are so staged. The buffet was nice, but not as beautiful as in the pictures, plus very expensive and you need a reservation. Perfect location but staff steals.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantilly62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Director of Rooms at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Aloha Chantilly62,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. I am very happy that you rated our location 5-stars! Our location truly is the perfect spot! Thank you for also bringing your concerns to our attention. My apologies that your concerns were not addressed to your satisfaction while you were still here. As it is extremely unusual for anything to go missing from our guest rooms, I would like to investigate your concern further. If you have a moment, please email me at baker@pacificbeachhotel.com. Our housekeeping staff takes great pride in their work so I would like to get to the bottom this.

Thanks again for your feedback and I sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Pacific Beach Hotel again on your next trip to Waikiki!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,436 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
287 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,884 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Beach Hotel

Property: Pacific Beach Hotel
Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3286
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across Waikiki Beach with views of the Pacific Ocean, Waikiki City Lights, and Diamond Head landmark. Full service hotel with 839 guestrooms, island-style family dining, flexible meeting space, 24-hour fitness center, self or valet parking, business center and gift shops. Please note: Oceanarium Aquarium currently undergoing refurbishments through Summer 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing