We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Beach Hotel
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paradise View”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed in an Ocean Front room - which was Magnificent - the view was just perfect. Our room was clean. The pool area was very disappointing with only concrete around it - not somewhere to relax. The location was fantastic, and the beach right across the road with nice beach and lots of things happening along the foreshore.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deb_macca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Aloha deb_macca,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Pacific Beach Hotel all the way from Melbourne, Australia and writing us kind comments! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the view of the Pacific Ocean from your room and found our central location to be fantastic. We appreciate your praises regarding cleanliness. Our housekeeping team always work so hard and they are very touched. I am so excited to inform you that we have an exciting renovation plan coming up to transform the entire hotel including the pool area so please stay tuned. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    1,357
    556
    196
    140
See reviews for
1,025
1,149
169
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location right across the road from Waikiki Beach. The rooms were very basic but clean and comfortable.

The pool and pool area are not in the sun and very old and in need of maintenance. Not the hotel for you if you want relax by the pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BriVic09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Aloha BriVic09,

Thank you very much for staying with us all the way from Maitland, Australia and taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our central location in the heart of Waikiki and found your room to be clean and comfortable. We are currently in the process of finalizing the renovation plans to transform the entire hotel from top to bottom including the pool area. We can’t wait to “wow” you in the near future. Keep in touch!

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed one night at this very nice hotel and enjoyed everything about it. Right across the street to the beach and centrally located in Waikiki. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and I can only say good things about this experience. I'll choose this hotel when I go back to Honolulu.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JKenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Aloha JKenney,

Wow! What a tremendous 5-star review! Thank you so much for choosing the Pacific Beach Hotel on your recent stay and leaving us such nice comments on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we can’t wait to welcome you back again soon! Take care!

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed in February and were upgraded to an ocean view room. We arrived at 7am after a long flight from Australia and were unable to get our room until after 2pm. We did request early check in months before hand and this was disappointing that we had to wait so long. We were pretty tired.

When we finally got to get out room cards, we were asked to pay the 'resort fee' up front. Around $20 per night I think. I don't know why Hawaiian hotels just don't include this in the price of the hotel in the first place. Annoying fees!

Anyway, we were given our keys and water bag thingies and went up to the room.
The room was great! Basic but we had a great view of the ocean. It was spacious and clean. It was quiet and we had awesome sleeps :)

The pool and spa are on another level of the hotel and are basic with no views or garden areas. Just concrete, sun loungers, a laundry room and a smoking area.

We kind of expected it to be a bit more modern but after staying at a couple of hotels in Oahu, it seems to be 70's décor everywhere.

This hotel is right across from the busy beach and above an ABC store (24 hour kwikEmart kind of thing) that sells everything. Very handy.

Cons: There are homeless people all around the front of the hotel entrance (opposite the beach entrance) which make it a little scary and confusing if you haven't seen that before like me. You get used to it. Also there are a lot of people trying to sell you tours and other random things, just say no thanks and keep walking or you get stuck talking to them for ages.

The oceanarium stinks. Especially at dinner time when the seafood buffet opens. But the smell is only through the reception area.

Overall, I would stay there again as it is great value.

Room Tip: Go for a higher room (we had level 11). The views are nicer up higher, our friend was on level 20 I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CJ27xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Aloha CJ27xx,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and sharing your experience with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of the Pacific Ocean from your room and found the room to be great. We just installed new mattresses to increase sleep quality and I am glad that you had awesome sleeps. I apologize for the inconvenience that you could not check-in early this time. Our check-in time is at 3pm and we cannot guarantee the early check-in but we try our best to accommodate every guest’ requests. Our hotel seems a little dated but we have an excited renovation plan coming up to transform the entire hotel. Thank you so much for staying with us all the way from Australia. We cannot wait to welcome you back again in the near future!

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We purchased this night with a Groupon. We were extremely pleased. They staff was VERY friendly. I would stay here again! It's right in the middle of all the excitement. So much to see at night! Our room was very clean. Beds and pillows were awesome!

Room Tip: We enjoyed a view that included Diamond Head and the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Aloha Stacey W,

How nice! Thank you so much for rating us 5-stars and sharing your experience with us! I am also extremely pleased to hear that you are coming back to stay with us again. Your praises regarding our staff, our central location, and your room are much appreciated. We can’t wait to see you soon!

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abernethy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a King ocean front room on the 16 th floor. The views were amazing. The room was clean and quite roomy. Had a fridge, microwave and sink. Not that we used it. The room was clean, it was quiet and everything you'd expect on the ocean front.no complaints except check in time of 3pm. That makes it hard if you fly in early.

Room Tip: If you stay make sure it's the ocean front tower. Has great views and you can sit on your balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Aloha Desarae,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am so elated to hear that you enjoyed the amazing view of the Pacific Ocean from your Ocean Front room. Our Ocean Front rooms are bigger than other regular rooms and I am glad that you found your room to be clean, quiet, and roomy. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit to Honolulu in the near future!

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

we had a week at another hotel in Honolulu before a week in Vegas so on the stop over coming home we only had the one night at The Pacific Beach Hotel. I really enjoyed our night there and would definaltely be choosing this hotel for our next trip. This hotel has a great restaurant and is in a fabulous spot, close to beach ,great shopping and heaps of choices of where to eat. This room was clean comfortable and the staff were welcoming and very helpful.This is a really good choice of hotel that is reasonably priced. The pool and hot tub were fine as well. Its really worth checking this place out, great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Pacific Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Aloha Maree M,

Wow! Thank you so much for choosing our hotel on your stop over to your home. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, found our location to be convenient, your room to be clean and comfortable, and our staff to be very helpful. We love receiving the kudos and I am so proud of our team! We definitely love to welcome you back to the Pacific Beach Hotel on your next trip and we can’t wait to see you again soon!

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Beach Hotel

Property: Pacific Beach Hotel
Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3286
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across Waikiki Beach with views of the Pacific Ocean, Waikiki City Lights, and Diamond Head landmark. Full service hotel with 839 guestrooms, island-style family dining, flexible meeting space, 24-hour fitness center, self or valet parking, business center and gift shops. Please note: Oceanarium Aquarium currently undergoing refurbishments through Summer 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing