We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of Waikiki Beach & central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed at this restaurant because of its central location and across the road from the beach, plus the oceanarium restaurant. The room was large and spacious. Comfy bed, great shower pressure and good size bathroom. The hotel is a little dated and it showed in the bathroom area. The staff were friendly, but did forget to check us in whilst we were out for lunch as we arrived early. The only negative was the beauty shop downstairs opposite reception the girl there pounced on me for product testing...like hello....let me check in first. The location is great, close to good cafe's, restaurants, surf, and my favourite exclusive shops, like Sephora - ok 5 blocks away. The door person was wonderful, car person was great, so overall for the money its great value

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maree Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Aloha Maree Z,

Thank you for choosing the Pacific Beach Hotel! Your compliments about our location, room, views, and staff are very much appreciated. Our hotel may seem a little dated, but we are in the process of finalizing our renovation plans which will transform the entire hotel including our bathrooms. In the meantime, we are using our guests' feedback as a training tool to continuously improving our service. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Come back and enjoy our seafood buffet at the Oceanarium Restaurant again soon!

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,347 - 1,353 of 3,479 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel on business and after a week the bed was infested with bed bugs.

Once notified, the hotel was very responsive and moved us to a new room with better facilites and washed all our laundry at no charge.

The staff could not do enough to ensure we were satisfied after reporting the bugs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Aloha Peter M,

Thank you for staying with us all the way from Melbourne, Australia. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered. We always try our best to take care of every guest to have a wonderful stay with us, but we are very sad to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory.

We do have strict protocol we follow regarding bugs or pests in our hotel. All of our Maintenance, Housekeeping, and Security teams are aware of our protocol and have been trained thoroughly. Our third party pest control company specializes in preventive pest control measures. Regardless of training and preventive measures, unfortunately, it is not possible to completely prevent their entry into facilities since bed bugs are carried in via personal belongings. However, we try our very best to minimize the occurrences.

I am pleased to hear that our Front Desk Manager was able to assist you during your stay, but I again apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Our pest control company already treated the room completely and we continue to monitor the room very closely.

Peter, we very much appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back again on your next trip to Hawaii.

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We recently completed a meeting in Hawaii with my company. Our group was for 12 rooms. From our initial booking to check-out, the hotel's customer service was amazing. Their representatives accommodated our special requests with professionalism and class and in short we had the best stay at the Pacific Beach Hotel. It should be noted that the hotel location is perhaps THE BEST in Waikiki, close to great restaurants. The hotel has easy access parking and we loved the eco friendly water bottles. I highly recommend this hotel for groups and individual travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Aloha Darren K,

Wow! What an amazing 5-star review! We are very fortunate to be in such a central location in Waikiki and we are even more fortunate to be a part of such a wonderful team! Our team is dedicated to providing the best customer service and we are beyond pleased to hear that you had such a great experience with us. Thanks to you and all of our guests for using our Eco-Friendly water bottles, we were recognized for winning the Waikiki Improvement Association’s Hoowehiwehi Award, and I am so thrilled to hear that you loved them as well. Thank you for recommending our hotel and for the 5-star review! We look forward to welcoming you and your group back again soon!

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

stayed a week here, waterfront view, gorgeous for evening sunsets an deciding on activity for day when woke up each morning. -ie swim, standup paddle, bike, walk, peoplewatch, go to a 24hr gym in the same building (hotel one basic but the 24hr one in same building had everything you could want, including Spin classes on the deck looking out to the water. Weekend markets outside where you could buy thai, hawaiian garlic prawns, fruit and veges, pestos, freshly squeezed juices, and loads of other gorgeous food! Not noisy either, even though we were only 6th floor.. would definitely stay there again..!

Room Tip: beachfront ! beach front ! beachfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank RuthH27599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Aloha RuthH27599,

We love your great trip tips! Thank you for visiting us all the way from New Zealand and for giving us such a fantastic 5-star review! I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the many activities available at the Waikiki Beach and I am especially thrilled to hear that you visited our new Farmer’s Market! Our Farmer’s Market, open every Sunday and Monday, is located right in front of our hotel and features several booths selling fruits, vegetables, and some of Hawaii’s most delicious and popular food. We can’t wait to see you again on your next visit to Hawaii soon!

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great location, Very quiet hotel, I was on the 14th floor and did not hear a thing from the street which was very busy.
The room was very clean and the staff helpful. The laundry room only had one washer working
One negative is that my plane was leaving at 11pm and after checking out at noon , I was not able to take a shower later on before the shuttle picked me up for the airport at 7:30pm.
They should have some facility for people in the same situation.
I would definitely go back I love Hawaii

Room Tip: ocean view is the best and non-smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank louise_girouard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Aloha louise_girouard,

Thank you for your kind words and for giving us 5-stars! We appreciate your praises regarding our location, cleanliness, and our staff. We already fixed the washing machines at the laundry and our maintenance team is making sure all the machines are working properly. We are currently finalizing our plans to renovate the entire hotel and we are planning to make hospitality rooms for our guests who have late flight. Please stay tuned and we can't wait to welcome you back again in the near future!

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend and it was a good hotel. Great location on one end of the strip, beach just across the street, free beach towels and water bottles provided. Concierge wasn't so friendly - wouldn't recommend booking through them. Otherwise everything else was good.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank contradiction11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Aloha contradiction11,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us! We are very lucky to be located in such a centralized area, where our guests can enjoy the Waikiki Beach and the Waikiki Strip just steps outside our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you also enjoyed our amenities, especially our Eco-Friendly water bottles. I am sorry to hear that you found our concierge to be less than friendly. We are always using our guests’ feedback as a training tool to continuously improving our service. Thank you for staying with us all the way from Sydney, Australia and we look forward to welcoming you and your boyfriend back again in the near future!

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

we stayed 5 nights at this hotel. Great location ,clean large rooms and a great helpfull staff-very professional. A lovely pool that was very clean and the landscaping around the pool was lovely. Good restaurants and they were very reasonable in price. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacBeach H, Guest Experience Manager at Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Aloha gmyers,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write us such a wonderful 5-star review! We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy our centralized location, spacious rooms, pool deck, and the Oceanarium Restaurant. We are very fortunate to have such a great team to work with, who are very committed to providing the best service for our guests. Your kind words are very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Oahu!

Mahalo!
Asari Ji
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,182 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
348 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,580 reviews
Waikiki
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach

Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3286 (Formerly Pacific Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £176 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised to open as the hottest new resort in Hawaii in fall 2017, ‘Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach will be a modern and tranquil oasis in the heart of Waikiki that pays homage to Queen Lili‛uokalani's long-lasting heritage. Alohilani will welcome all guests into an unforgettable setting which blends Hawaii’s cultural heritage with an elegant contemporary style that’s uniquely... Aloha Chic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing