We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 8 day break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 3 June 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Pacific Beach Hotel in March 2007. We were a bit worried about the condition of the hotel, but need not have been. We stayed in an Ocean Front room in the Ocean tower on the 11th floor. The room was clean and plenty of towels and extras left everyday. The view was great, as everybody else has said, no obstructions , to the left Diamond Head and to the right the Pink Palace and other hotels and great view of the ocean. We had breakfast included which was ok. kept ypu going till the afternoon. Plenty of shops and the international market to brouse in, We found the Huntington and Hart tattoo shop, which was very classy. We bought some excellent Tshirts for gifts. Also Kings Village nearby was fun, both for eating at the Rock Island Cafe and American Tshirt shop. We went to the Hard Rock cafe which both weren.t crowded and cheap. Weather pleasant and not to hot, beach 30 seconds across the road, We hope to go back to Wakiki next year and will stay at the Pacific Beach again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank benoSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,211 - 2,217 of 3,463 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2007

After reading some of the reviews I wasn't sure what to expect -- place was awesome and the service was fantastic. Stayed on the 14th floor and had great views of beach and diamond head. DONT waste money on dinner buffet, but the breakfast buffet is well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 29fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2007

My husband and I stayed their for 2 nights prior to and after our cruise. (** please DO NOT use the waikiki shuttle from the airport to the hotel, although it is only $9:00 per person, it is a rip off. after one hour and no sleep in 22 hours we still were not at our hotel, so we took a taxi for 5.00 to get us to our final destination**)

The first two nights we stayed in the beach tower, the room was clean, but definately showed its age. When we returned from our cruise, we stayed in the oceanarium tower on the 35th floor. We had an awesome view of diamond head and the beach (partial ocean tower). This room was also clean, but needed to be updated. We both agreed that we liked the ocenarium tower the best. We couldn't beat the price ( 130.00 per night - web special ), especially over the memorial day weekend. They have a laundry mat & internet service center. They also have a late checkout - extra $50.00 to stay until 6:00 pm. We didn't try any of the restaurants (too pricey) for breakfast, so we went to Mcdonald's which was right next door to the hotel.

we definately liked maui the best of all the islands, and will probably not return to waikiki beach. If we do return to waikiki beach, we would stay again at the pacific beach hotel

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllaMaxMoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2007

This was our 4th stay at Pacific Beach Hotel, we have been staying here since our first trip in 2001. The hotel is in a great location right opposite Waikiki Beach and easy walking distance to nearby shops, restaurants and transport.

The hotel itself if not 5 star so if you are expecting royal treatment then this is not the place for you. However it is clean and comfortable with decent size rooms, clean bathrooms and a nice view from the Oceanfront rooms in the Beach Tower. We were lucky enough to have the same end room we had last visit !! The rooms have in-room safe, hairdryer, coffee maker and usual bathroom shampoo/conditioner etc. There is an ABC shop on the ground floor for convenience, McDonalds is next door for those who want to eat on a budget as well as Cheeseburger in Paradise on the other corner.

The hotel has a coin laundry, very convenient for washing so you dont have to walk blocks to laundromat or have dry-cleaning.

Overall yes PBH is dating compared to hotels and areas in Waikiki that have had renovations and Im sure when the hotel does have its renovations it will be more attractive in decor, however this is a great hotel to stay for its rating, location & price. Keep an eye on their website for great specials.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hawaii50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2007

In spite of the reviews I saw on this site, I booked 7 days at the Pacific Beach Hotel in April, 2007 because of the excellent location and beach across the street. Also, the price through the hotel website was many dollars less than anything else I saw. I was prepared for rundown rooms and peeling paint, but in all honesty did not see any of this. Our partial ocean view on the 11th floor of the Beach Tower was well maintained and clean with a great view of Waikiki Beach and downtown Honolulu. We chose not to get the buffet breakfast but got the continental breakfast instead which was included in the price of the room. This ended up being a wise choice as we are not big breakfast eaters and were satisfied with a muffin and a cup of coffee. It also saved us a couple of hundred dollars over the 7 days. The pool was a disappointment, but my 7 year old daughter enjoyed swimming in the lagoon across the street for hours everyday--she (and I) loved the shelter from the waves and the safety it presented. I would definitely stay here again--it is absolutely perfect for families with children--location, location, location!!!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stephanie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2007

Great service and right across from the beach. Also had a room with a great view of the ocean. Hotel restaurant has a 3 story fish aquarium where at certain times of the day you can watch divers feed the fish. Great location for site seeing and within walking distance of the markets.

Stayed: May 2003
4  Thank melva1292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2007

My fiance and I stayed at the Pacific Beach Hotel over the 4th of July holiday week. We booked our stay through United Airlines Vacation.

This was our first time in Oahu, so we wanted to stay near all the popular touristy stuff. We weren't disappointed. Pacific Beach's location was fabulous- our balcony overlooked Waikiki and the entrance/exit to the hotel was literally a stone's throw away from the beach.

At night, we kept the balcony door open to hear the oceans waves. Also, after a day touring or lounging at the beach, we would kick back on the balcony and just listen to the waves. It was super relaxing.

The rooms themselves were good-sized, if sparsely decorated. In terms of amenities or luxuries, the hotel is basically no-frills. Cleaning service crews were very customer-service oriented; and did a good job managing our messy room.

Oh, also, there's the ubiquitous ABC store on the hotel's ground level. So if you forget your sun block, the convenience store is an elevator ride away.

Highly recommend for the price:)

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LASCMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,160 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,616 reviews
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
318 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach

Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3286 (Formerly Pacific Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £156 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised to open as the hottest new resort in Hawaii in fall 2017, ‘Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach will be a modern and tranquil oasis in the heart of Waikiki that pays homage to Queen Lili‛uokalani's long-lasting heritage. Alohilani will welcome all guests into an unforgettable setting which blends Hawaii’s cultural heritage with an elegant contemporary style that’s uniquely... Aloha Chic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Southall Travel, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing