We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pacific Beach Hotel
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Aussie on World Trip
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2007

We loved this hotel with its big rooms overlooking the beach! Desk staff were helpful and were accommodating when we realised that they had only booked us for two nights instead of the three we requested! Internet service was good, except most of the the available terminals were for Japanese customers which I found annoying. The buffet and restaurants were great and the in-house oceanarium was out of this world!!!

  • Liked — The view and the oceanarium
  • Disliked — Nothing I didnt like.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MattyMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    970
    1,324
    541
    190
    139
See reviews for
998
1,115
163
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2007

It is classed as a 4 star hotel but it didnt quite live up to this. Although in a very convenient location, right on the beach, it was somewhat old looking and a bit tired. We were originally given a room beside the lifts - we soon asked to be moved! In our new room it was quiet, clean but a bit shabby! Everything worked, shower was good but it just lacked a sparkle!

We got upgraded to a free breakfast everyday, thankfully, as I would have been disappointed if I had to pay for it. The food wasnt great so we ate out every night. it was edible just not very tasteful or inviting.

Overall it was an ok hotel, but I would opt to stay somewhere else if I ever go back.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It was a bit tired looking
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucybrailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Pacific Beach Hotel in March 2007. We were a bit worried about the condition of the hotel, but need not have been. We stayed in an Ocean Front room in the Ocean tower on the 11th floor. The room was clean and plenty of towels and extras left everyday. The view was great, as everybody else has said, no obstructions , to the left Diamond Head and to the right the Pink Palace and other hotels and great view of the ocean. We had breakfast included which was ok. kept ypu going till the afternoon. Plenty of shops and the international market to brouse in, We found the Huntington and Hart tattoo shop, which was very classy. We bought some excellent Tshirts for gifts. Also Kings Village nearby was fun, both for eating at the Rock Island Cafe and American Tshirt shop. We went to the Hard Rock cafe which both weren.t crowded and cheap. Weather pleasant and not to hot, beach 30 seconds across the road, We hope to go back to Wakiki next year and will stay at the Pacific Beach again.

  • Liked — quiter end of town but only 10mins walk to main area. close to beach
  • Disliked — nice room, excellent view, good friendly staff, close to everything
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank benoSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
concord nc
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2007

After reading some of the reviews I wasn't sure what to expect -- place was awesome and the service was fantastic. Stayed on the 14th floor and had great views of beach and diamond head. DONT waste money on dinner buffet, but the breakfast buffet is well worth it.

  • Liked — extremely friendly and helpful staff
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 29fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2007

My husband and I stayed their for 2 nights prior to and after our cruise. (** please DO NOT use the waikiki shuttle from the airport to the hotel, although it is only $9:00 per person, it is a rip off. after one hour and no sleep in 22 hours we still were not at our hotel, so we took a taxi for 5.00 to get us to our final destination**)

The first two nights we stayed in the beach tower, the room was clean, but definately showed its age. When we returned from our cruise, we stayed in the oceanarium tower on the 35th floor. We had an awesome view of diamond head and the beach (partial ocean tower). This room was also clean, but needed to be updated. We both agreed that we liked the ocenarium tower the best. We couldn't beat the price ( 130.00 per night - web special ), especially over the memorial day weekend. They have a laundry mat & internet service center. They also have a late checkout - extra $50.00 to stay until 6:00 pm. We didn't try any of the restaurants (too pricey) for breakfast, so we went to Mcdonald's which was right next door to the hotel.

we definately liked maui the best of all the islands, and will probably not return to waikiki beach. If we do return to waikiki beach, we would stay again at the pacific beach hotel

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — beds were way too old
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onepugluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2007

This was our 4th stay at Pacific Beach Hotel, we have been staying here since our first trip in 2001. The hotel is in a great location right opposite Waikiki Beach and easy walking distance to nearby shops, restaurants and transport.

The hotel itself if not 5 star so if you are expecting royal treatment then this is not the place for you. However it is clean and comfortable with decent size rooms, clean bathrooms and a nice view from the Oceanfront rooms in the Beach Tower. We were lucky enough to have the same end room we had last visit !! The rooms have in-room safe, hairdryer, coffee maker and usual bathroom shampoo/conditioner etc. There is an ABC shop on the ground floor for convenience, McDonalds is next door for those who want to eat on a budget as well as Cheeseburger in Paradise on the other corner.

The hotel has a coin laundry, very convenient for washing so you dont have to walk blocks to laundromat or have dry-cleaning.

Overall yes PBH is dating compared to hotels and areas in Waikiki that have had renovations and Im sure when the hotel does have its renovations it will be more attractive in decor, however this is a great hotel to stay for its rating, location & price. Keep an eye on their website for great specials.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — pool area
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hawaii50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2007

In spite of the reviews I saw on this site, I booked 7 days at the Pacific Beach Hotel in April, 2007 because of the excellent location and beach across the street. Also, the price through the hotel website was many dollars less than anything else I saw. I was prepared for rundown rooms and peeling paint, but in all honesty did not see any of this. Our partial ocean view on the 11th floor of the Beach Tower was well maintained and clean with a great view of Waikiki Beach and downtown Honolulu. We chose not to get the buffet breakfast but got the continental breakfast instead which was included in the price of the room. This ended up being a wise choice as we are not big breakfast eaters and were satisfied with a muffin and a cup of coffee. It also saved us a couple of hundred dollars over the 7 days. The pool was a disappointment, but my 7 year old daughter enjoyed swimming in the lagoon across the street for hours everyday--she (and I) loved the shelter from the waves and the safety it presented. I would definitely stay here again--it is absolutely perfect for families with children--location, location, location!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the pool
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stephanie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Beach Hotel

Property: Pacific Beach Hotel
Address: 2490 Kalakakua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3286
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across Waikiki Beach with views of the Pacific Ocean, Waikiki City Lights, and Diamond Head landmark. Full service hotel with 839 guestrooms, island-style family dining, flexible meeting space, 24-hour fitness center, self or valet parking, business center and gift shops. Please note: Oceanarium Aquarium currently undergoing refurbishments through Summer 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Pacific Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Honolulu
Hotel Pacific Beach
Pacific Beach Hotel At Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing