We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waikiki Central Hotel
Ranked #38 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean hotel in great location”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

we stayed at the waikiki prince twice, for the first 5 nights and last two nights of our vacation. It's a clean hotel in a great location. If you want to stay in your hotel room while you are on vacation on oahu than this is not the hotel for you. My boyfriend and I didn't spend much time in the room as we had planned lots of activities while there, we just needed a place to shower and sleep and this fit the bill. It was a good price when compared to the others! We'll def stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ritienne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    322
    108
    28
    15
See reviews for
128
305
156
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here in April 2013, and was good for the price and location. Office was closed when we arrived but our key was on our door and manager was super nice. Would stay again. Definitely close to beach, kind of noisy at night but not bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diana_wilson1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent one night here between arrival from the mainland and our flight to the Big Island for a longer visit. We had called ahead since we knew we would arrive after the office closed at 8PM. We found the night manager's phone number posted on the office door and he came down right away to give us our room key. Our room was exactly as advertised - very small but very clean. The air conditioning worked just fine, and our lanai actually had an ocean view. We heard trash trucks in the morning but the jet lag woke us early anyway. For the one night we stayed, the room was perfectly adequate and the price was great for Waikiki. We paid $20 for reserved parking (all five spots are under the building, it is quite tricky to back out). The elevator opens to the sidewalk and stops at the fifth of six floors, with stairs leading up from there.

We had to change our itinerary on short notice when Go! airlines suddenly decided to cancel its April 2014 inter-island flights. We were within the hotel's cancellation policy, as stated on its website, and our deposit for the night we had to cancel was refunded in full with no hassle.

Room Tip: Room 606, a very small double with no kitchenette, has an ocean view from its lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheppey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Hard to beat this hotel within its price range and location, and that's without the unexpected bonus (and modern necessity) of fast and free wifi. Any drawbacks: street noise etc are endemic to this south Waikiki location but are more than compensated for by its sunny lanai, proximity to the beach and some of the best eateries and fun bars nearby. Considerate and helpful staff made our stay here even better. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Go for height and room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmjk92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 days (Mar 31-April 6). It is located in a perfect location. Literally 1 block away from Waikiki beach. The staff is very friendly, always greeting you with a smile! I love the fact that our room had a small kitchen with pans and utensils. We actually made breakfast to save some money. We visited the local Safeway there. Just don't go all crazy shopping just because everything is so expensive. You have no housekeeping, unless you are staying 7 nights or more. The only thing I didn't like was the loud noise every morning. I would recommend to take some ear plugs or something. Overall, it was a great experience and I would most likely return back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

There is no mistaking this for a luxury hotel, but we knew that when we booked it. We stayed 8 days at the end of September into the first week of October. The room was very comfortable and everything worked - AC was fine, no problems with showers or plumbing, the small refrigerator and stove worked, etc. We were in room 403 (facing the car/motorcycle rental), and had a small glimpse of the ocean from our lanai. We didn't try to do much cooking in the room, mostly we used the fridge to store bottled water and fruit for breakfasts.

The location was wonderful. You could be on the beach less 3 minutes from leaving the hotel. And the area around it is full of modest price eateries and shopping. We had very full days taking in sights and visiting beaches all over Oahu, so we didn't do much more than sleep here. I imagine if we were more sedentary and spent lots of time in the room it might have been a bit of a disappointment (sort of drab furnishings, small CRT TV, old appliances, etc.), but we came back to the hotel worn out and happy every night and these things never mattered. Others mention noise from the car rental or garbage trucks - we never heard them.

The only knocks I can think of for this hotel are that the bathroom did not have any vent fan, so the mirror would be foggy while I was shaving and the wife was in the shower. Also, the parking was a bit scary. They have 5 spots (you are guaranteed a spot if you reserve one), and getting in is OK. Getting out involves backing out very carefully between two walls with very little clearance (get a small car).

Pros:
- price
- very, very friendly staff. These kids were first rate.
- location
- everything worked. This is one of my biggest pet peeves, I spend a lot of nights in business class hotels, and usually something doesn't work.
- comfortable
- very clean
- wireless Internet worked fine

Cons:
- Furnishings are dated and rather dull.
- No phone (but I knew that, so it isn't really a con). Also, you have to adjust expectations regarding service. If you want something, you visit the office and ask, since this is a minimally staffed hotel. But the few times we did, we found the front desk clerk would go out of his (or her) way to make you happy. Really, those kids were wonderful (I say kids, because I suspect they are all in their 20's, at least the ones I met).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deubster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

If you are looking for a place to shower and sleep without breaking the bank, this is your place. It's not fancy and the rooms are super small, but everything was clean. The staff at the front desk was super friendly and very helpful with my questions. The room was efficient to include a large bathroom with amenties, fridge, coffee maker etc. Just know that if you stay on the top floor, the elevator only goes the floor prior so you will have to take the steps. We paid the additional to park which was no problems. The garage is TINY, but we weren't worried since we were in a rental car.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KSaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
813 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Prince Waikiki
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#46 of 84 in Honolulu
1,786 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Central Hotel

Property: Waikiki Central Hotel
Address: 2431 Prince Edward St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi, Free Coffee (brew your own) Area to print out boarding passes. All of our rooms have balconies, TV, Air Conditioning, a refrigerator,and microwave. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waikiki Prince Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Central Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing