We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waikiki Central Hotel
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed 28 December 2006

The location is excellent. Unlike some, I had no problems with noise whatsoever , The place is clean and safe. This is no four star hotel, but is a great value for the money. Adrian pater.

  • Liked — Close to beach.
  • Disliked — Linen changed twice a week.
  • Tips/Secrets — Save some money and stay here.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank notmuchifnotDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    322
    107
    28
    15
See reviews for
128
305
156
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2006

my wife and i stayed from nov 28 to nov 30 2006,perfect location.Clean ,i give them a 10.Its basic but more than enough.I have pictures but just look at the one that the other travelers have posted, i have the same ones.Eric and joanna

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank bossarmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, BC, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2006

My wife & I stayed at the Waikiki Prince for 8 days (Nov. 27/06 to Dec.5/06). What we enjoyed was the personal service they had for us and the tremendous help they were e.g. : where the buses ran, special deals (Circle Island Tour~HALF price!), special events, typical "tourist" questions that they never seemed to tire from, etc. etc..

Our room was clean, and had a TV, air conditioning, a complete set of utensils/plates/bowls/glasses/pots, a comfy bed (we had 2 in our room, yours might different), a stove, a sink a fridge, the ability to open the windows in such a way that we had a cross breeze coming through. It wasn't huge but was certainly ample. We didn't hear anyone else (voices through the walls) and all this for a very reasonable price and 1 minute from a convenience store and 2 minutes from the beach.

We didn't have a phone in our room, but we knew that going in. In fact, I appreciated being away from a phone for my holiday. If I did need a phone, one was made available to us (all hotel guests) for free!

One more thing...my wife and I felt safe saying there.

I encourage anyone who is looking to stay in Honolulu and would like to save some money to stay at the Waikiki Prince. Would we stay there again? You bet your beach towel we would!

Aloha & Happy Holidays...

John & Lona

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank JohnnyBeeGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2006

The Waikiki Prince hotel is a nice basic hotel, efficiently run by a dedicated and friendly staff. It does not have a restaurant, but so what? You are surrounded by them. It does not have a swimming pool, but so what? The beach is five minutes away, and only if you walk reaaaaaaally slowly, otherwise less. It does not have a gift shop, but so what? You can find them every few steps.

I just stayed two weeks there, while I was looking for an apartment to rent permanently, and I enjoyed the cleanliness of the room and the help from the staff. I read other reviews where people complain about street noise and what not, and I was not bothered by any.

At half the price of any of the heavily promoted chain hotels, it is a very good deal if you care more about the room where you are staying than the stars of the resident chef and if you are not interested in feeling pampered only because you overpaid heavily.

And it is centrally located in Waikiki, so you don't feel like you are out in the boonies. In a nutshell, worth staying there.

  • Liked — Price, staff help
  • Tips/Secrets — Reserve early
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank NoEasyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2006

Stayed at Waikiki Prince 11/8-11/12 2006. It was a great place for our stay in Waikiki. Good location and clean. Nothing fancy but great for budget minded travelers. We would stay there again.

  • Liked — clean
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank flyfisher100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2006

As planned, we got to the Waikiki Prince close to midnight, and easily found the manager to let us into our room. It was spartan, but very clean, and the sparkling clean tiled bathroom provided plenty of hot water and places to dry swim suits and wet towels the next day. The window A/C was a little noisy, but one could opt to open the vented windows instead. The kitchenette provided a small refrigerator and a few appliances, but I’d find actual cooking there difficult without collecting a few more kitchen supplies. It’s fine for breakfast and snacks. Most impressive were the polite and helpful staff, and attention to cleanliness. I would stay here again for a couple of nights before flying to or from another island, or would recommend it for those on a budget who are not planning to vacation in their room. The excellent location close to the beach (just behind the Hyatt), bus stops, and shops make it a real find.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pacifico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2006

After reading all the positive reviews from tripadvisor, my husband and I decided to book our room at this hotel. The manager, Mozah was very helpful and attentive. The room was exactly what we had expected. No frills but clean and functional. Sure, this hotel is not for travellers who are looking for luxury, but it is the best for budget minded travellers who are simply looking for a place to sleep. The location was central to everything.

The only thing we would like to inform other travellers about is the noise level from the street. There is no acoustic system and we were surely glad to have our ear plugs with us! With the money we saved on accommodations, we were able to enjoy all the wonderful activities that are offered in Oahu. Thanks to Mozah for the fabulous hospitality!

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — outdated
  • Tips/Secrets — be sure to bring ear plugs!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank koki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#38 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Central Hotel

Property: Waikiki Central Hotel
Address: 2431 Prince Edward St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi, Free Coffee (brew your own) Area to print out boarding passes. All of our rooms have balconies, TV, Air Conditioning, a refrigerator,and microwave. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waikiki Prince Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Central Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing