We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sand Villa 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The winter in New Zealand seemed rather long so another visit to the Waikiki Sand Villa seemed like a good idea. I landed at Honolulu Airport at 10pm and the free prearranged (by the hotel) Minivan collected me and after a 30 minute trip was at the hotel.

Arrival:
The reception staff were friendly and helpful and updated me on the changes to the Air Conditioning System and Lighting since I last stayed one year previously. Breakfast vouchers were supplied and a code given for the free wireless internet. A key for the free room safe was also supplied along with two room swipe cards.

To receive these benefits it pays to book directly with the hotel through their website rather than a third party provider. If you have any issues with the online booking (in my instance booking for over two weeks at a special rate was not possible online) send reservations an email as they are very helpful and you will receive friendly personalised service.

The Room:
The room was a nice corner unit with two opening sliding doors onto a corner Lanai with a table and two chairs. The view was of the Golf Course, Ala Wai Canal and Diamond Head.

The room was clean and tidy and came with a double and single bed. The bathroom was supplied with a washlet on the toilet and the bath was supplied with overhead removable hand shower. Soap and shampoo were via dispensers adjacent to the hand basin and in the shower/bath area.

The rooms Central Air-Conditioning worked well and had a digital display showing desired temperature and current room temperature. The noise from this unit when running was not obtrusive. A coffee machine was supplied along with two porcelain cups and a starter pack or coffee with utensils. The fridge was of a good size and accommodated half gallon size milk container and had an icemaker. An Insulated ice bucket is provided and ice machines are available on alternate floors.

Breakfast:
The breakfast is basic but free with your vouchers. Expect Toast (1 to 4 slices as requested), Butter, Jam (Jelly) Pineapple pieces, Pineapple juice, Croissant and Coffee and Tea. Milk is of the powder variety so I suggest you purchase this and bring your own to breakfast. You can eat your breakfast poolside which is a great environment or in the bar area if this is your preference.

Pool and Spa:
The Pool and Spa area is large for a Waikiki Hotel and is one of the nicest ones I have seen in Waikiki in the under $300 a night hotel range. The pool is 70ft long with a good shallow end suitable for children with wide steps. An island on one side provides a jet stream to swim against for some variety. Loungers are provided and tables with shade umbrellas surround the pool. The Spa is very hot and appears well maintained. The pool is open late which is great for a refreshing swim post tour or shopping. Toilets and showers are adjacent to the pool and a gymnasium is also present. (see reception for access key).

Bar service is available poolside if requested and prices are very reasonable.
You are welcome to consume your own drinks poolside but sensibly no glass is allowed. The pool area is checked by security every 30 minutes or so though things tend to be calm and safe at The Sand Villa.

Security:
In regard to security it seems well monitored as I left my door propped open on its lock for 10 minutes one evening and a security person was soon on hand advising me to secure my door. Safes are provided in the rooms and the locks and doors are well constructed. There are security cameras poolside, in elevators (lifts) and other key areas around the hotel.
Waikiki is generally a safe destination and the area accessing the hotel and nearby streets are well lit and seem safe. Of course don’t go wandering down backstreets at night or into parks. Stick to the main streets and the beach area and shops.

Shopping:
There are numerous food outlets nearby including a small supermarket called Food Pantry with 150ft (50 Metres). Here you will pay tourist prices. A much more economical choice(with great variety) for the reasonably fit is the Safeway Supermarket on Kapahula Ave . Just walk along the canal toward Diamond Head till it ends at Kapahula Ave and turn left walking along past the Golf Course till you reach the Supermarket on you left (you can’t miss it, just stay on Kapahula) 1.3miles (26 minutes’ walk).

Ask for a Safeway card and they will sign you up straight away for discounted products.
Macys Department Stores also offer a discount of 15% off most items. Show them your hotel room key/card and they will give you a 2 week discount card.
Checkout Ross Dress for Less stores for general clothing, Forever 21 for the younger set is very reasonable. Sports Authority near Ward Warehouse (Ward Avenue) is the place for Sports Shoes and clothing. Famous Footwear (on the Cnr of Kamakee adjacent to Ward Warehouse) has a good range of shoes at discounted prices including Timberland and Nike.

Dining out:
So many places, checkout “The Shorebird” for its great all you can eat salad bar and beachside location (use the voucher in “This Week Mag” available on any street). Cha Cha Cha Mexican on Seaside Ave for outdoor seating and good food at cheap prices.

Conclusion:
The Waikiki Sand Villa keeps getting better and for an economical stay in a great location is unbeatable in my opinion. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Beachbuoynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

the sand villa has clean comfortable rooms with balcony overlooking the canal and golf course.the bar serves fantastic food and is open from 9am till 4am....the swimming pool area is great to relax. the bar staff and local customers make you feel very welcome and is a definate plus if you have travelled alone. the fantastic atmosphere of waikiki beach is a stroll of 5mins. from the hotel. the whole resort is like paradise,go and you will have memories forever.

Room Tip: higher floor 6 or above avoids bar noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank_harr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I just returned from a stay at this hotel in disgust. Not only did the room curtains have visible dirt and the bathroom floor and shower contain daily hair from the service staff and the a/c not work well but we awoke to our wakeup call to roaches on the phone and in the shower. The staff was nice but way too accepting of these conditions. Therefore I would not recommend anyone stay there until there is either a complete change in staff or new ownership as problems of this type start from the top.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I'm giving this place 2 out of 5 because this hotel was annoying.
Location of this place was great. We ran along the canal a couple of the mornings. Its a short walk to the beach, to the Food Pantry, International Market, other shopping...
They offer free wi-fi - we did not use it but realize its a bonus for some travellers. The restaurant/bar in the hotel is good service and food.
The hotel is dated, the bathroom was a bit dirty with leftover hair...
How the hotel annoyed me was by placing our two room bookings into the hotel across the street "Aloha Surf Hotel" although the paperwork calls it Aloha Surf Building. The amenities are slightly different. I needed to have a bathtub in my mothers room - she got only a shower... They could not change us the first night but did change us the next day and allowed us to move into the main hotel. The manager, Nancy, was nice but her and the rep the night before repeated that I did not read the fine print. Very annoying. My questions - why put it in fine print and what does the fine print say?
If you do book this hotel, buy bug spray. In the evenings there are insects. We stamped out about 5 per night.

Room Tip: phone the hotel and speak to someone directly to be clear where your room is to be. Traffic noise s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avg_40ish_woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

A very nice start to our trip. We were being budget conscious and were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. On our first night we ate downstairs and the food was good. The service is slow but the server was friendly.
We ended up with a corner room and a view of Ala Wai Canal. The beds were ok - mine was too hard, the other one too soft. The toilet “sang” everytime you sat on it and had all sorts of heating and cleaning features; but no lid so be careful of leaving stuff on the counter. Overall the room was clean and the view was awesome.
The breakfast was very basic – but a trip to the Food Pantry for some cream cheese made it more complete. There is a room coffee maker but after the first package of coffee you have to pay $1 for each additional. I just stuck with the Wiki Wiki breakfast coffee since they start serving at 6:30am.
There is a Hospitality room with showers and computers. Just be sure to check with housekeeping for clean towels. We used the ones there and did not see it replenished before we left.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njTravelJunkie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

we were only in Waikiki for one night as a stop over on the way home so for the price you cant go wrong! Good-ish location... rooms were clean and quiet... shower was good... bed was small but somewhat comfy... and hey the staff were friendly and accommodating!
keep in mind if breakfast is included and you leave the hotel at 6am to go to the airport.... sorry no breakfast for you (and no refund)

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank NPCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Great price for Honalulu. Rooms were small but clean and had a balcony. Employees were friendly and very helpful. There is no hair conditioner or body lotion provided so you need to bring your own. Valet parking is available for a small fee.I did really enjoy my stay here and will be back again on my next visit to Honalulu.If you want a nice Hotel in a good location and for a reasonable price, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 35805Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,892 reviews
Ilima Hotel
#31 of 84 in Honolulu
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
1,661 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
611 reviews
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#75 of 84 in Honolulu
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Address: 2375 Ala Wai Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3499
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £96 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Sand Hotel
Hotel Waikiki Sand
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing