We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This hotel is a great deal. It's clean and affordable, and in a great location. The rooms are a good size and have balconies with views. The bathrooms are tired but are being remodeled (up to floor six when we visited). The housekeeping was good and timely, and there are fine laundry facilities available. It's in a good location on the canal and only one block from the bus and trolley line, four blocks to the beach, and within walking distance to a myriad of restaurants. But the best thing about this hotel is definitely the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melmooreii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

This hotel was excellent value for money. Good size room with two double beds, a bath and shower and a balcony overlooking the Ala Wai canal and golf course, with views of Diamond Head.
Hotel had its own pool and restaurant. Short walk to shops and Waikiki beach. Staff were cheery and helpful at all times. Room servicing was carried out daily. Continental breakfast included in tariff. Close to public transport. Able to get good tariff rate and book on-line. Free return bus to airport if staying more than four days.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side have views of Diamond Head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jabema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Our stay here was a pleasure and so relaxing. The staff was amazing and were always ready willing and able to help with any concern or question. We also enjoyed the pool and the restaurant. The valet service was convenient and our entire group of 40 people were all very satisfied and we cant wait to go back again next summer. We were pleasantly surprised with the entire hotel and area the price was very reasonable and within walking distance to shopping,restaurants and the beach. Thank you Waikiki Sand Villa for making our vacation so lovely!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARKNDOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 16 days and it was great for a basic hotel. Room is very clean with a sparking clean shower curtain and bath tub. Don't expect a fancy hotel but this hotel is perfect for a basic stay. Breakfast is just bread and pineapples and some juice. Staff are extremely helpful and they have valet parking. 5 minutes walk to nearest ABC Store.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

A good 'value for money paid' hotel. Loved the canal and mountain views from my room. Pool area is very pleasant. Loved the location; being on the edge of the 'tourist concrete jungle' rather than in the thick of it! Easy walking to anywhere in Waikiki.Was thrilled to be given a room on arrival before 10am after an all night flight, as advertised check in is at 3pm! Would stay here again. Didn't try the free breakfast although by all reviews I didn't miss much!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors give best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stillbreathin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

polite staff, clean rooms, good pool, good location, bar and bar food good. breakfast (complimentary) toast and jam, croissant, juice, pineapple chunks, tea & coffee. what do you want from a reasonly priced hotel. great 5 day stay. road noise seems to echo off of tall buildings but another beer put pay to that :)

Room Tip: we had 10th floor room. air con a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doylie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

In general, it is a good hotel. A budget option for Waikiki, but the service is not so good. Expect a lot of oriental tourists that are frequently not polite. I`ll leave some specific comments in this review, but I would stay there again despite the not so good facts of the place.
Location: the best of the hotel, in 3 blocks you`ll be in Waikiki Beach. ABC store at the same block and fast food options are near. It is in front of Ala Wai Canal, a great place for walking or running.
Room: spacious, with 2 twin beds (comfortable!). we had a room at the 6th floor and had great views to the Ala Wai Canal from our balcony (and we got the cheapest room!). About the service room, sometimes it was done just in the afternoon… But the room was clean and the towels were changed every day. Wi-fi is average, you have to digit the password every time you want to use on iPhone. Bathroom is big, shower is nice. Sleep quality was ok, we could hear the traffic from the avenue, but it was not something that disturbed us. There is a coffee maker at the room, but coffee it is not replaced (you have to ask the reception for more coffee and they charge you for it).
Parking: there's no parking lot, but there's a valet. Forget about trying to park on the street: the spaces are always full, it's almost impossible to park in this area. We just rented a car because we prefer to make our own tours. Remember to book the valet at the check-in, they give you 50% discount. The problem is that the valet people are rude sometimes, and just give the keys to you get the car by yourself. The good part is that you save the tip when it happens. One time we had to get the car by ourselves and our car was blocked by an employee SUV. I just didn't complained with the staff about that because we didn't have any bookings for that day, but it was too bad.
Breakfast: definitely, not ok, I recommend you to buy your on things and avoid the mess. You`ll have 2, 3 or 4 slices of toast with butter and strawberry jam, coffee and canned pineapple, just that. Long lines of people that don't speak english form before the beginning of the distribution (it starts at 6:30am) and there's just a few tables. I thought it could start at least 30 min earlier, since some pick up tours are early in the morning (for Pearl Harbor, for example).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poly_Rafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
1,896 reviews
Ilima Hotel
#31 of 84 in Honolulu
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,661 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
614 reviews
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#75 of 84 in Honolulu
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Address: 2375 Ala Wai Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3499
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £96 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Sand Hotel
Hotel Waikiki Sand
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing