We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my husband during 6 nights from Sep 29th through Oct 5th 2013. Although the bed was good , the hotel is very dirty. The breakfast is horrible! They control the number of toasts you eat ( maximum of 4 per person). There were birds and we found one cockroach at the breakfast area one day. The name of the juice at the machine was hand-written in a small piece of paper and there were towels behind the coffe machine to hold the spilled coffee! Disgusting! We asked for a car to place our lugagge and there was not available. There was only one for the entire hotel! The carpet on the corridors were ugly and dirty! They only treat well the japanese, chinese and koreans! We, as brazilians, felt that they did not really care about us. We will never stay there again. We do not recommend the hotel, specially if you are american!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Giovana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel is great for the price - staff friendly, rooms clean and good situation. We have stayed several times and always come away happy with our experience. The pool area is superb for relaxing, the rooms are of reasonable size (we don't spend much time in there). Restaurant and bar - great staff and food. Overall we enjoy our time here and feel that it suits our needs

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

we had a clean room, staff was warm and friendly. Parking-service was excellent. Breakfast was limited to 2,3or 4 toast with one (1) small plastic cup of butter and one cup of marmelade.
Swimming pool was ok but very small and no privacy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

For the money, this was one of the better deals we could find to get us out of the hostel.

I feel like we lucked out with a room on the top floor, but the beds are comfy, the service was great, and the room is in good condition. (the bathroom had a little bubbly paint but nothing nasty)

It's a perfect location.

The down sides, parking. It's expensive. We ended up getting a spot on Ala Wai next to the canal (which is free) and just hoofed it. I feel like the hotel could up its price and offer free parking rather than making it a separate charge, then people feel like they're getting a deal.
Also the "breakfast" is something we took advantage of only one day. You get a cup of pineapple and your choice of 1, 2, 3, or 4 slices of toast..

I do wish the ac would have worked better, they did maintainence during our stay and turned it off, so our room got HOT, interrupting our sleep.
The elevator also seemed to break a lot for a 4 night stay.

Room Tip: Top floor has a great view of the canal, mountains, and the rest of Waikiki.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klif01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Considering it's in Waikiki, this hotel is a good value for the price. Spacious rooms with a small balcony. Appreciated that there was a mini fridge in the room as well. Breakfast consisted of toast and canned pineapple so we ended up just skipping it most days. If you need a break from the beach crowds, the pool at the hotel is very nice and wasn't crowded any of the time we were there. Excellent location, easy walk to all the action. We had a rental car and were able to find free street parking within a couple blocks every night. Would (and probably will) stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skygirl213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

For travellers not wanting to spend a whole lot on hotel prices, this is a good choice for the Waikiki area. We stayed here for over a week.

While the room is not spectacular, it’s pretty amazing that the following was included in the price:

-Round-trip shuttle transportation to and from the airport.
-Light breakfast every morning, with coffee.
-Room with a balcony, and with a good view.
-Beach towel service.
-Location: while not on the beach, you only a couple of blocks away from one of the most famous beaches in the world. Also, it is right next to the canal, which is a nice view from the balcony.

I believe there are early-bird specials for booking early on-line.

For those looking to save on activities/sights, do check out Groupon Honolulu in the weeks leading to your vacation. I’ve never seen so many great Groupon options before on a vacation destination!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank product-of-canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Great location only a block or two away from all the stores and restaurants and a few minutes walk to Waikiki beach. The rooms and bathrooms are a little older but clean and functional. The views from the balconies are great. The hotel, valet and bar service was excellent. The only complaint is that it gets very crowded during free breakfast time, and I personally wouldn't recommend to eat breakfast there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
1,696 reviews
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,474 reviews
White Sands Hotel
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ilima Hotel
#31 of 84 in Honolulu
966 reviews
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
491 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#46 of 84 in Honolulu
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Address: 2375 Ala Wai Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3499
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £93 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Sand Hotel
Hotel Waikiki Sand
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing