We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Bunnell, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth the price”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My grandson & I stayed here for 9 nights. We were really happy with everything!
We were pleased with our entire stay.The staff is really nice & helpful.
We had a great view of the canal & we could walk almost anywhere in Waikiki.
Breakfast isn't much but holds you over & it's free . I walked to Starbucks for my coffee daily and enjoyed my morning stroll.
The pool area is gorgeous and very private. My grandson had wifi So he was happy. I will definitely stay here & highly recommend Waikiki Sand Villa to others

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamaloons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    536
    256
    60
    47
See reviews for
317
293
133
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I booked this hotel for 9 nights with my best friend ,on arrival we had a problem but ended up with a wonderful room and view of the Canal and partially of Diamond Head .The staff were just wonderful, thanks to Kila one of the staff.The pool and location were awesome .This hotel is very busy with alot of guest from China and Japan so the lobby is always crowded .Love the bathroom with the warm seat ,housekeeping could do a little better on cleaning but the room was decent ,the beds were a bit soft ,i like a firm bed .Breakfast was a joke toast sliced bread butter ,jams watered down juice and tea ,coffee every morning i had to eat out each morning after that.This hotel is in walking distance to the beach ,stores , shopping in the Waikiki area plus the Canal is great for walking .Despite the things i didn't like i would stay there again .We enjoyed our time at the Waikiki Sand Villa .

Room Tip: Then rooms on the higher floors had great view like room 1111
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PicODeCrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Quebec
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were looking for a hotel with a pool (I know, the beach is close but you can't always be at the beach!), balcony, wifi, and fridge. This hotel kept coming out on top of the list. The best prices were on their own website. They furnish towels for the pool and beach, so we didn't have to pack beach towels (I emailed to ask ahead of time). They have a 'hospitality' floor which, for us, meant a place to hang out when we had to check out hours before our flight (late evening flight). This room had sofas, massage chairs, books, computers, full bathrooms with shower (you could actually spend the day at the beach or pool, then shower before your flight.)
Sure, the breakfast was skimpy, but it was FREE - if you want more, just go to an ABC store and buy a few extras and bring them back to have with your toast and coffee.
Very helpful front desk staff. All in all, we were happy with the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with two patio doors, one side had a small ocean view, other had a view of cana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icaretravel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I've reviewed this hotel before, & although its a lot older than when we first stayed - so are we!
Its still the local waterhole to meet the natives & ex pats, but there are now a lot more Australian & Chinese guests. Rooms on the top 6 floors have great views, & the hotel has a fantastic pool.
Only 3 short blocks to Waikiki beach & 1 block to Kings Square, the position is hard to beat.
The bar has Happy Hour from 4-8pm & great bar snacks.
Breakfast is minimalist but hey! at these prices who'd complain.

Room Tip: North facing rooms have top views, mountains, Diamond Head to the Punch Bowl. Try floors 11 & 12...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanGelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my husband during 6 nights from Sep 29th through Oct 5th 2013. Although the bed was good , the hotel is very dirty. The breakfast is horrible! They control the number of toasts you eat ( maximum of 4 per person). There were birds and we found one cockroach at the breakfast area one day. The name of the juice at the machine was hand-written in a small piece of paper and there were towels behind the coffe machine to hold the spilled coffee! Disgusting! We asked for a car to place our lugagge and there was not available. There was only one for the entire hotel! The carpet on the corridors were ugly and dirty! They only treat well the japanese, chinese and koreans! We, as brazilians, felt that they did not really care about us. We will never stay there again. We do not recommend the hotel, specially if you are american!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

NZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel is great for the price - staff friendly, rooms clean and good situation. We have stayed several times and always come away happy with our experience. The pool area is superb for relaxing, the rooms are of reasonable size (we don't spend much time in there). Restaurant and bar - great staff and food. Overall we enjoy our time here and feel that it suits our needs

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

we had a clean room, staff was warm and friendly. Parking-service was excellent. Breakfast was limited to 2,3or 4 toast with one (1) small plastic cup of butter and one cup of marmelade.
Swimming pool was ok but very small and no privacy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,734 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
1,398 reviews
Ilima Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#38 of 84 in Honolulu
1,500 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Property: Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Address: 2375 Ala Wai Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3499
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Sand Hotel
Hotel Waikiki Sand
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing