We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Our experience started with the free pick-up at the airport; it was right on time although our flight had been delayed 6 hours. The check-in staff were friendly. The hotel has a certain "60s" feel to it which is kind of charming. The property is tidy throughout. Our room was clean with a nice view. The pool was adequate (enjoyed the jacuzzi). The restaurant, bar, and concierge staff were consistently friendly and helpful. Our room was cleaned everyday to a high standard, and we enjoyed the novelty of the Japanese style toilet. There was a storm one night and the sliding glass doors onto the balcony rattled a lot. The location was superb; it was just a short walk to the centre of Waikiki Beach and bus stops. The hotel seemed to attract laid-back, loyal return customers which we enjoyed. The free wireless internet worked perfectly. Finally the free shuttle back to the airport was again spot on time. It is far from the fanciest property in Waikiki but if you are looking for a comfortable stay that offers great value for money I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the top (12th) floor which had great views and was quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oskar_Baxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,128)
There are newer reviews for Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

you want convenience good price and friendly staff this is it, minutes from beach a decent walk to ala Moana, quiet and we have stayed here before will stay again, no frills the beds are clean maids are good ok one complaint lol,,,the weather was kinda blah,,first time in january 75 degrees just crazy windy and some rain oh and free wi fi is a bonus too

Room Tip: stayed on the12th floor looking at the canal mountains and the golf course it is on an emergency rou...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

They no longer have a free buffet breakfast of foot spa but it is nice. Good Bar and great food at a good price. I will be back. It is a few blocks from the beach but it is not a bad drive. Enjoyed the stay

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmsocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Waikiki Sand Villa offers good rates particularly if you book at their internet site. Based on the rate you can expect okay but not great and this is what you get. The hotel is a few blocks back from the beach but not so far that it is a chore to walk there and the main shopping area is equally close. I had anticipated that for the price the place would be a lot less accessible so the location was a pleasant surprise. There is a spacious open lobby and the reception staff were pleasant and helpful. My room was on the 6th floor and had 2 double beds which was overkill for 1 person. Fewer beds and more open space would have been welcome. With a very large unit that held the TV, fridge and storage space and a desk and chair, there was very little free floor space. The room had a fairly large balcony which helped a bit.

There was a coffee maker but only the first filter pack is free. Any additional packs cost $1 each at the front desk which seemed reasonable. The bathroom was small but clean and the towels were replaced each day. The toilet had one of those weird multi-function Japanese seats with a control panel and far too many options. A heated toilet seat seemed a little too much in tropical Hawaii and I opted to turn it off. There was free in-room wifi that worked well until a power cut one night which did enough damage to the system to have it down overnight and part of the next morning. These things happen and it was clearly not the hotel's fault. They had a service person there most of the night and again the next morning trying to sort it out - and eventually he did.

The lobby restaurant has a buffet breakfast which costs about $12. It is similar to the free breakfasts that you get in many US 2nd tier chain hotels and you are better off eating elsewhere. A couple of times I walked to Cheeseburger Waikiki which is a fair hike away (maybe 30 minutes) but worth it for the good breakfast food and the lovely, motherly waitresses. I had dinner at the bar in the lobby restaurant one night and it was significantly better than the breakfast.

Overall, the Waikiki Sand Villa provides a level of service and facilities that is probably a bit above what you should expect for the very reasonable tariff. If you go there with suitable expectations you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Not a bad place still having a number of apparent drawbacks:

1. Our room was very basic and pretty tired. In particular, one of the balcony doors didn't operate properly sticking all the time.

2. Due to the location, it's permanently windy on the balcony, and you feel very uncomfortable there.

3. Worst included breakfast I've ever seen. Bread, butter, jam - nothing more.

Long story short: it's OK for one-two-three night stay, but, should you decide to spend in Honolulu a significant period of time, I would definitely recommend to opt for something different.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Drunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

What a sad, soulless establishment this is. We stayed here in early August 2013, after staying at the White Sands Hotel in Waikiki and then going on a cruise around the islands, and we were very happy that we only booked it for one night before we flew back home. It was about $120 for the night; the White Sands was about $150 and I thought from the reviews that this would be a good option to save us a bit of money, but in the end I wish we would have just stuck with the White Sands.

I think we got the "Premium" room. Our view was a bit of the Ala Wai canal and mostly the run-down street that the hotel is on and the wall on each side of our balcony. I suppose if you get the rooms that face the canal it would be nicer. I did ask for a room with a view of the canal, but again, it was mostly a view of a wall. Bathroom was filthy. Slept on top of the sheets for fear of finding something worse in the bed.

The location is alright, close to Waikiki Beach. I suppose the pool area looks nice, and there is a jacuzzi as well, but we saw dead roaches on the ground when we were leaving the pool. Staff was neither friendly nor helpful. I noticed they were more friendly and helpful to the Japanese tourists staying there. Sorry that we weren't Japanese, and for having standards.

Much better for anyone who does have standards to stay at a place like the White Sands Hotel, very warm friendly atmosphere there, unlike the cold businesslike feel here. A disgrace to all of Hawaii.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shiftpuzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We checked into this hotel and hadn't been in our room for five minutes when we saw our first roach. We were fortunate enough that there was another room available that we were transferred to.
There was one pouch of coffee in our room the first night and the following day the housekeeper didn't leave any coffee. So I went down to to the front desk to ask for coffee and was told that they only supply one pack of coffee on your first night of stay. other than that we were supposed to buy packages of coffee from them for the rest of our stay if we wanted coffee.
We were given breakfast vouchers for a light breakfast that consisted of toast, coffee or tea, canned pineapple, and a glass of juice. anything more than this was expected to be paid for. Since then, they have stopped serving their "light breakfast" completely.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C_SueS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,874 reviews
Ilima Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
1,655 reviews
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#75 of 84 in Honolulu
633 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Address: 2375 Ala Wai Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3499
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £98 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Sand Hotel
Hotel Waikiki Sand
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing