We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$483
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$251
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Waikiki Beach(Honolulu)
US$244
US$213
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$422
US$355
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$374
US$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$517
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$271
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$513
US$414
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$213
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,176)
Filter reviews
1,176 results
Traveller rating
215
580
270
63
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
580
270
63
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshospitality roomfoot spapineapplethe ala wai canalfood pantryfree breakfastabc storeminute walk to the beachhot tubper nightaffordable hoteltour deskyogurtstaff was very friendly and helpfulthe main dragwithin easy walking distancerestaurants and shops
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 1,176 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I love this place! Its reasonable, the rooms are nice and up to date, the staff is super friendly, the restaurant / bar is yummy and most importantly...........its 2 blocks from the beach!. Love it! Love It! Love It!

Room Tip: I personally like the rooms with a view of the mountains and the Ala Wai Canal. It is beautiful!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJSPARKOOOLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I have been to Hawaii many times and the last two times I have spent 1 week each time at the Waikiki Sand Villa. The first time I stayed here I stayed one night in every class of room to get a feel for what I wanted. To me the best value is the corner room with a view of the Golf Course and Diamond Head. For the price you will not find anything better in Waikiki. Everywhere in Waikiki has crazy parking fees as of late and everyone has also jumped on the band wagon with huge amenity fees, which really don't add anything to your trip but an additional expense. WSV doesn't have amenity fees, which is great and a little trick about the parking....book your room directly with their website and parking is 1/2 off making it just10 bucks a night. Seriously it will be money well saved that you can spend at the bar! Location is very good for walking to the beach or to all of the shopping areas. Great noodle shop near by is Mira Ka Me Udon...Cheap and delicious and a must. Staff was always very friendly and valet is prompt. Rooms are not luxurious, but very clean and perfect since you will be at the beach most the time anyway. This hotel offers value to someone who wants to get out and do things but isn't so much interested in 500 Thread Count Egyptian Cotton pillow cases and sheets. If you want that type of service you will need the Hilton. I will always come back here ....they give you a bonus 10%off coupon for your next stay when you check in. Hang onto it and that is just one more reason to come back! Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fpc95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great location, walking distance to the beach, hotel is clean and the staff is very nice. The price is very good for the location and accomodation is quite perfect. Laundry room available for guest and other facilities which make this hotel a great bargain during the high season.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sostraone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The room had a good size, was clean and the staff was very (!) friendly and helpful. The bathroom is not fancy (exception: very high-tech toilets) but functional. The balcony gives enough space to sit a party of 2 and the fridge, A/C, WIFI etc. worked all the time. I booked a smoking room but due to a mix up got a smoke-free room the first night. The misunderstanding was handled very professionally.
The pool area is kept clean and offers a few spots to relax or sit but I would not spend the day there (and why should you with the beach so close).
The breakfast includes a few slices of toast and a Mini-Croissant with butter and jam, canned fruits and coffee/tea. Also, the breakfast area is quite crowded (and loud) but you are free to take your food up to the room. All in all not worth getting up.
I also used the laundry and the computer room. Both are ok if you need a quick solution.
Be aware, that you cannot use the stairs to reach or go from the lobby and the 2 elevators are sometimes quite busy (especially around breakfast time) so you'll have to wait a while.
The hotel is not directly at the beach, but you reach all important spots in a few minutes’ walk.

All in all: the Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel is not fancy / special but you get a good value for the price, very helpful staff members and you stay in a good location.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid lout noises from the streets (Ala Wai Blvd / Kanekapolei St), ask for a room facing the pool (not open before 9 am). At weekend nights there might be a few noises from the Sand Bar & Grill, but they did not bother me at all.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nisli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Good location, nice view, nice staff and decent facilities. Free airport transfers is a definite plus. Don't expect too much from the complimentary breakfast, just fill up on toast and pineapple. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews